We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't regret staying here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allure Chocolat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Allure Chocolat to your Saves list
Allure Chocolat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Arsenal Nro. 8b-58, Cartagena 130001, Colombia (Formerly Arsenal Hotel Boutique)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You won't regret staying here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is amazing!

On arrival we were given, in my opinion, the most amazing welcome drink in the whole world, (it tasted amazing). Cristina on reception is probably one of the most welcoming people I have ever met. In all fairness the staff at Arsenal Boutique are all extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming.

We had a twin room which looked onto the green plantation wall running up from the lobby - second floor. It was ideal. Enough room for what we needed. The beds were sooooooooooo comfortable. The bathroom is top notch - really clean and the shower is super powerful.

We made the most of the roof top terrace and hung out there when it got a bit too hot to be walking around Cartagena. The location of the hotel is ideal, just outside the walls - less than a five minute walk to the entrance in to the walled city. There are loads of cash machines handy around the hotel.

The roof top terrace is lovely - whilst we were there it never seemed to be too full which was nice. The views of the port are lovely.

The restaurant is really nice, we had breakfast there most mornings. The staff are really friendly and are on hand to get you anything - I felt like royalty. We also took advantage of the laundry service - quick and reasonably priced.

We had some issues with our cards. We went to reception to speak with Cristina who helped us find solutions. She is amazing!

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay - if you decide to stay here you won't regret it. The staff really do make the place. They go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need - I still can't get over how amazing they were to us. I'm so glad I stayed at this hotel - I would receommend it to anyone and if I ever go back to Cartagena I would definately go back.

Gracias Arsenal Boutique...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    67
    15
    3
    8
See reviews for
30
201
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great location, good value for money.
Arsenal was a lovely place to stay. It is not in the middle of the walled city, but it's a 5-minute walk from it. First I wanted to stay in the old city, but Arsenal turned to be even better as it is not so busy quarter and less touristic. When we arrived the pool was out of service, the idea to move to another place crossed out minds. But the staff was super friendly, we got a compensation and never regretted that we stayed. The hotel has a very nicely set up roof deck with a pool where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful views of the bay and the city. The hotel itself is very modern and clean the staff in hotel and restaurant is extremely helpful and friendly. They even fixed the jacket of my husband. Breakfast was included: not so many choices but tasteful. Reasonable prices for this level of accommodations.

Room Tip: The most of the rooms do not have view at all, there is a wall that you are looking from your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had never been to Cartagena, and didn't know what to expect. We went for a friend's wedding and his family recommended this boutique hotel. It is not in the middle of the walled city, but it's a 5 minute walk (at most) to the main area. It has a very nicely set up roof deck with a pool where you can relax and enjoy the views of the bay. Additionally the staff is super friendly and always willing to help out. The hotel itself is very modern, with smallish rooms, but with everything you really need. Wifi is free, but somewhat spotty in the rooms, but quite good in the common areas. Breakfast was included and definitely was worth it. Arsenal was the perfect match to our Cartagena experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Immaculately clean rooms, very comfortable bed, nice bathrooms. Good service and very well located.
My ONLY quam with the place was that the pool wasn't very inviting, ie it was a bit cloudy upon my arrival. Other than that, Arsenal was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a quite remarkable hotel. When I arrived there was a problem with the booking but the way they handled it and compensated with an upgrade and other benefits was way beyond my expectation. All the staff from manager, reception,restaurant and chambermaids were friendly and efficient. After my ten days I felt part of the family. Perhaps it's a wee bit unfair to mention one individual, because they were all excellent but Cristina in Reception was an absolute gem. Nothing was too much bother and she helped me in countless ways. She is sweet, charming and may even be Miss Columbia next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington D.C.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I am writing this review from the hotel; The hotel itself is located in the best part of Cartagena-very close to the old city and very convenient to the rest of the town. Security is also perfect. Amongst the best service and nicest people that I have come across in the industry. The hotel is extremely clean at all levels. Just read the last review regarding the pool--the pool is very very clean and they clean it once per weak; There is simply some silicon calking that is coming up from the bottom and the manager explained that it would be fixed immediately.

The entire staff is constantly seeking to please you per any request and they were extremely kind. An example, my wife slipped and fell the first evening. The hotel arranged, without my request, an ambulance and actually sent a staff member to the hospital for translation assistance. Never have I witnessed such wonderful and caring service. The manager, Mr. Francisco Lozano was an extremely professional and attentive manager of this hotel, constantly seeking to find out if the guests were happy and/or required any service(s).

I would under any circumstances love to return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights in this hotel in October.

The rooms are nice modern and very clean. They are not very big, especially for two people but since I was travelling alone it was completely fine. The first night I stayed in a room next to the elevator, which was really noisy because you hear everybody walking by (marble floors) so the next day I changed to a room further down the hallway, perfect. Minor detail is that the shower doesn't get really hot, anf the rainshower looks great, but was fairly clogged so didnt work that well.

Rooftop terrace is great for some drinks or a relaxing lunch. The pool however was absolutely disgusting! I can't believe a hotel of this class having a pool that dirty. Water looked brownish and vague, and while in the pool you kept on stepping stuff which lay on the bottom of the pool..

Restaurant has a nice look and breakfast is ok. You can pick between some eggs, granolas, yoghurts and fruits which was just fine for me. I had dinner there once, and the food was okay. Not the best, but also not the worst. During dinner, they only serve typical colombian platters, which was nice to try.

Great thing about the hotel is the location, within 3 min walk you are inside the walled city of Cartagena. No dodgy streets whatsoever on the way there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arsenalhotel, Gerente at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sir:

We appreciate your visit and comment about our pool as having the best view of the city, and upon doing our best effort to provide an excellent service for all our visitors, we have presented some inconvenience on the ground on which we are currently working hard to solve it promptly.

Again, many thanks for your comment and hope you will come back and visit us.

Best Regards

Arsenal Hotel Boutique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allure Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allure Chocolat

Address: Avenida del Arsenal Nro. 8b-58, Cartagena 130001, Colombia (Formerly Arsenal Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allure Chocolat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Allure Chocolat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allure Chocolat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.