We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa San Agustin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa San Agustin to your Saves list
Hotel Casa San Agustin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro Calle de la Universidad No.36 - 44, Cartagena 1300, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Cartagena
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent five nights at this hotel. We both agree it was one of the most relaxing vacations we've ever taken because of our experiences here. When you walk in through the gates, you are greeted by wonderful staff. There is this beautiful smell throughout the hotel. We spent many hours lounging in the library or in one of the common lounge areas. There was always fresh water with fruit and it was delightful.

We stayed in a deluxe room with a terrace. The room was quiet, luxurious and I have yet to see a better bathroom and shower than in our room!!!! Our bed and linens were extraordinarily comfortable and service was top notch. We ate several times at Alma, which we felt was better than some of the better ranked, established restaurants in Cartagena (try the sliced beef carpaccio with lobster empanadas - addictive and delicious)!

There were only small glitches that we easily overlooked. Items sometimes were not replaced when our rooms were cleaned such as glasses or robes, but a call to the front desk would quickly fix that. The satellite television stopped working for 4 of the 5 nights we were there. Honestly, I would be very embarrassed to admit the we came all this way to watch television. The General Manager informed us of and apologized for this mishap. When you don't have a television, it makes your romantic getaway even better because you actually have to spend time with the person you love! There was one morning when work was being done in an adjacent room and it woke us up. Did we care? Not really. I'm sure if we'd said something, it would have been addressed immediately. Wifi was always working throughout the hotel.

The Bottom line is Casa San Agustin is a truly luxurious experience and we very much enjoyed our time there. We have absolutely no regrets about our stay. The staff eagerly made reservations for us at restaurants and a day spa. The hotel is perfectly and centrally located in the old walled city. In true American tourist form, we went knowing little of the language and customs and the staff always made sure to accommodate us. Thank you for a wonderful experience and it is worth every penny.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Big_Red1976

We appreciate every comment. It is a pleasure to know that your stay was so perfect. it's very important for us to offer the best stay to our guests.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
156
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the front desk staff to the servers in the dining room to the housekeeping staff, everyone was friendly, helpful and fantastic in every way possible. Of equal delight was the luxurious feeling the hotel gives by its design, furnishings and spaciousness. Breakfast was included in our room fee and it was a delight every morning. A great buffet that includes an order from the menu of hot entrees. Of course the coffee was delicious and I often had to ask for refills, well aware I was drinking 3 times more than any other customer. We also had a couple dinners there during our week long stay. Food was always wonderful, prices good for the meal but on the high side (in my opinion) for non alcoholic beverages, especially water. The staff even fully accommodated us when we needed a meal outside of their standard dining times. Our room was large, gave a feeling of elegance. Appreciated the robes, and slippers. Turn down service with bedtime treats always fun. The library is a great room that sadly did not see any use whenever we walked through. The sitting area beside the lobby was also a great place to enjoy a beverage while waiting or just for people watching. The pool not only adds beauty to the courtyard, but also is a great retreat from the hot day. A couple decks and bars upstairs provide a place to catch some sun or just some outside air, with a bit of privacy since few customers hang out in that area. Stay at Hotel Casa San Agustin- you'll be so glad you did!

Room Tip: Our room had not windows to the street, just to the inside. was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Blake99999

Thank you so much for your excellent comments.

It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. All of our staff is committed in giving an excellent customer service.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

While I enjoyed my first visit to Cartegena, the Hotel Casa San Agustin was the best part of my trip. It's sophisticated, elegant, sexy and exotic. The hotel was my favorite part of the experience. I would return to Cartegena to relax and enjoy the company of a loved one. Staff was attentive and friendly. Food was great. As a well-travelled hotel snob, I highly recommend this hotel whether it is truly to explore Cartegena or lounge by its seductive pool.

Room Tip: I noted my junior suite on the 3 rd floor with an adjacent sun terrace for the 3 rooms in my section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear BlondieMIA D

We really appreciate your kind comments and we are so glad to know that your stay was amazing in our hotel.

We work everyday to exceed our customers expectations. We hope you can visit us soon and give you a warm welcome.

Cordially,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I travel a lot around the world and have even stayed in hotels in the Middle East with a bulter, but this might be my favourite hotel ever. It combines luxury and elegance with local charm and a lot of character (amazing old tiles and such). Room was luxurious but also comfy and homey, and the staff was perfect and attentive.

You are right in the middle of the old city in Cartagena but it's a peaceful oasis. Breakfast and food also delicious too. Amazing little touches like Frette linens, Ortigia shampoo and soap, ceiling fans, etc made it feel very special.

If I'm ever back in Cartagena I would never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear indiewendy

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Casa San Agustin is committed to providing its customers an unforgettable stay and offer the best services ever.

We hope you can visit us very soon and give you a warm welcome.

Cordially,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel manages to be at the same time beautifully designed and perfectly functional. The space itself is beautiful, set around the pool and the interior courtyard, so that it feels like a retreat in the middle of the hot city. The decor in the common spaces and the rooms is modern without being too slick, and suitable to the hot climate without being beachy. They get all the things right that a top hotel should -- large comfortable bed with nice linens, quality toiletries, friendly service -- but they've shown an attention to detail that means all the little things are also right -- the seating areas are actually comfortable, not just cool looking, the hair dryer has real power, the design-y open shower doesn't spray water into the bathroom, the toiletries include loofahs to scrub off the sweat from touring a hot city, the bedroom slippers are actual slippers. The service was excellent, from reception to the restaurant to the bar to our room. There was literally nothing we lacked and felt that, even among top hotels, this one stood out as exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Lizcharisma

Thank you so much for your outstanding comments. It's good to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. All of our staff is committed in giving an excellent customer service and you can feel so confortable.

Looking forward to have you here soon.

Kind regards,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is a perfectly realized sanctuary in the center of Cartagena and all its bustle, sweat, color and charm. We spent most of our mornings and afternoons in the hotel -- in part because of the heat but also because it is such a relaxing, even entrancing, place to be. For such a small hotel (only 30 rooms) there is an abundance of courtyards and roof terraces (many of them private to the rooms themselves). This means that you can always find a place that feels private and intimate. The rooms are unnecessarily large, and the beds are of a quality that you usually only find at bed-obsessed hotels like the Four Seasons.

"Teething problems" are common at hotels within their first year. But only four months after opening everything is running with Swiss efficiency at Casa San Agustin. It is the small touches of luxury that are most remarkable. Like, you sit down at any number of places that might be empty at 3 o clock in the afternoon (the main courtyard, the side courtyard, the pool bar, solarium deck, etc) and a bartender materializes in a few seconds. How did he know I was there?

The restaurant is so good that we felt lame going back to it again and again, knowing that there were other top rated places in Cartagena. But we ended up going to all of those places too, and with the exception of La Vitrola, none of them matched the trio of ceviche and lobster empanadas, plus a dark and stormy, at Casa Agustin's restaurant.

Anyway, I have never written a Tripadvisor review before, but felt compelled to because this place is simply amazing. My idea of relaxation would be to go back for a week.

PS There is a hidden library on the second floor that's a really nice place to hang out when it gets 90 degrees outside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear WillMac81

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very pleased to read about your great experience in our hotel. it's very important for us to offer the best stay ever to our guests and know that we are doing well it's so motivating.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel Casa San Agustin was absolutely fantastic. The manager and staff are impeccable - courteous, thoughtful, accommodating, helpful. The hotel itself and the grounds were similarly impeccable - stylish, clean, luxurious, peaceful, full of amenities, right in the heart of the walled city. I felt safe and very well cared for. I would love to stay here again! My highest recommendation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo_santoscoy01, General Manager at Hotel Casa San Agustin, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Aimee G

It is a pleasure to read your good review about your experience in our Hotel. Your comments are very important for us and it is our mission to exceed our customers expectations.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Gustavo Santoscoy
General Manager
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Agustin

Address: Centro Calle de la Universidad No.36 - 44, Cartagena 1300, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa San Agustin 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Agustín is a luxury boutique hotel of 24 refined guestrooms and 6 spacious suites in the city of Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. Three colonial homes have been totally renovated and lovingly restored to create the sense of staying in a well-curated and appointed home of a sophisticated best friend. Situated within the historic walled city, and dating from the 17th Century, the charm of the buildings has been enhanced with a respect for maintaining original frescoes in the library and wooden beamed ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa San Agustin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.