We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordered risotto and got rice!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Bruschetta

La Bruschetta
Centro Historico, calle del Curato No. 38-135, Cartagena, Colombia
095-6645591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 348 Restaurants in Cartagena
Cuisines: Colombian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ordered risotto and got rice!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The place looks great from the outside, so I thought I would give it a go.

I was the only person there for lunch, which should have set off some alarm bells. It did mean, however, that I received undivided attention. The waiter was friendly and was the only saving grace for an otherwise miserable meal.

Since this restaurant claimed to offer Italian food, I was looking forward to the Risotto Fungi. But it turned out to be rice with a few chopped up mushrooms. Completely tasteless and very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    14
    13
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner at this restaurant with a group of friends. Service was awesome, and food the food was just perfect, as well as, the wine.

If you have cartagena on your plans, make sure to visit this amazing restaurant, with not only great food, but lovely accomodations

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
“Pick a different place for Italian in Cartagena ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My niece and I had lunch here this afternoon. We were the only guests in the the restaurant. Caprese salad was a joke. Sliced tomato with triangular cut cheese on top, a sprinkling of seasoning and doused in what looked like basalmic oil and vinegar salad dressing, no drizzle . Not the usual nice and tasty treat I expected. My niece had the onion soup for starters. She said it was bland a tasted more like chicken broth w/ onions. My main dish was the lasagna with chicken in napolitana sauce. The nicest thing I can say is that it was steaming hot. Although it was a nice sized portion, it wasn't particularly good. In fact, it was over salted and overpriced. My niece had penne noodles with mushrooms and bacon in a butter sauce. It was bland and not warmed enough. We did not complain but we should have. Total cost for lunch with 1 glass of house wine and three small bottles of water was 140,000
COP. We paid cash with exact change. The waiter tried to tell us tip was not included but the receipt said it was. It was nicely air conditioned and made for a nice escape from the humidity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pesimo Restaurante, Terrible Service & Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Fimos a almorzar y desde que llegamos a las 12:30 PM hasta que nos fuimos a la 2:00 PM no entro nadie mas. Pensamos que era un dia flojo, pero luego supimos que simplemente es un restaurante con una mala comida. A mi amigo que es conocedor de vinos quisieron oasarle un Malbec aguado por un Cabernet-Sauvignon, cuando pedimos que nos trajeram la botella abierta, se disculparon diciendo que el barman habia cometido un error. Mi sopa de pescado parecia un consome hecho con pescado que tenian congelado hace mucho tiempo por que no tenia sabor. Y el spagetti con pollo que pedi como plato fuerte no pude ni darle el 2do bocado por que simplemente estaba pesimo. Aun asi me lo cobraron y el mesero no hacia sino exigir su propina sin dar excusas por la mala experiencia.
We were at the restaurant from 12:30 PN till 2:00 PM and no one else "dared" to walk in. First they tried to fool my friend who is a wine connoisseur giving him a watery Malbec instead of a Cabernet-Sauvignon, when asked to bring the bottle, they apologized saying that the bartender had make a mistake when serving it. Then my fish soup tasted like made with fish that had been frozen for the longest time as it lacked any flavor. Then I could only had a single mouthful of the Spaghetti and Chicken I ordered as the main dish, as it was plain awful. They charged me for the dish anyway, and the waiter was only concerned about his tip and not the terrible experience we had had at that place.
PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AND YOUR TIME AT THIS SUBSTANDARD HOLE

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruschetta R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Bruschetta, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Google Translation
Sr Buenas tardes: Hemos recibido su comentario con humildad, de su caso completamente aislado y extraño, ya que este suceso Jamas nos habia sucedido, Mas sin embargo estamos evaluando con todos los actores que intervinieron en lo sucedido para establecer realmente lo ocurrido y tomar las medidas correctivas del caso que sean necesarias para nuestro mejoramiento continuo. Hemos revisado todo el video de nuestras camaras de seguridad y nos hemos entrevistado con toda la cadena de personas que intervinieron en su caso aislado para determinar donde ocurrio la falla.
Mas sin embargo ofrecemos disculpas por los posibles inconvenientes causado, pero revisaremos el caso con detenimiento porque no es normal que este tipo de situaciones se presenten.
De igual manera lo invitamos para que en una futura ocasion nos visite y muy seguramente se llevara una mejor impresion de nosotros.
Muchas Gracias!!
Mr Good afternoon: We have received your comment with humility, if completely isolated and strange since we had this event happened Never, But nevertheless we are evaluating with all actors involved in what happened to actually establish what happened and take the corrective measures necessary for our continuous improvement. We have reviewed the entire video of our security cameras and we've interviewed the whole chain of people involved in its case isolated to determine where the failure occurred.
But nevertheless we apologize for any inconvenience caused, but carefully review the case because it is not normal for such situations arise.
Similarly we invite you to a future occasion we visit and most likely will take a better impression of us.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
1 review
“AWESOME!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

It's the best restaurant in Cartagena!!!! The food it's awesome, the service it's really good! Everyone it so kind and polite! I really recommend that restaurant!!! If you go to Cartagena and you don't go to eat at that restaurant it's like you never been in Cartagena!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bruschetta also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to La Bruschetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bruschetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.