We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay option at Cartagena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Lux Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Lux Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantic Lux Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av San Martin # 8 - 20 | Av San Martín # 8 - 20, Cartagena 130001, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Lima, Peru
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good stay option at Cartagena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've stayed in Atlantic Lux Hotel at Cartagena and enjoyed it all: From the kindness of the attendants (they really try to help you in whatever you need) to the next door Casino (which is not like the US ones of course but is really enjoyable). Despite room's simplicity, it was comfortable enough for relaxing in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
22
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asuncion, Paraguay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location is great. Walking distance to the beach, to nice shops and restaurants. Clean and modern rooms. Breakfast is great, with variety of fruits, yogurths, bread, cheese.
The only problem we had, was that the first two days, we did not have hot water in the bathroom. This was not a big problem cause it was hot, but the following days we had hot water, which was nicer.
The street is a little bit noisy, but it stops at night so it does not bother a lot.

Room Tip: The standard room it great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Atlantic lux

Pros
-great location. Walking distance to the beach and surrounded by shops and restaurants.
-clean and modern rooms and decor
-great bathrooms with simple soaps, hair dryer, tooth kit
-free wifi throughout entire hotel

Cons
-front desk staff was not very helpful and had limited English. 
-upon check in they ask you to sign a long contract that is in Spanish only and they are not able to translate what it says.
- they give you one room key only and if you lose it you pay 20k pesos (approx $10usd)
-the doors are so thin you can hear everything in the hallways including who leaves their room, what ppl are saying and even every time the elevator opened and closed. 
-we asked for info on a tour and they didn't have any information that was helpful and left us completely on our own to book
-this was the hardest bed we have ever slept in. We woke up with knots in our backs everyday.  
-no ice buckets or ice anywhere in the hotel 
-breakfast was decent but the same thing everyday... A wide selection of breads, cheese and ham, omelet and fruit. 
-from airport a taxi costs 17000 pesos. 

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This modern hotel is located a block from the beach near Hollywood beach, Has a tiny gym and steam, sauna,massage rooms and a casino attached, nice pool that only has sun before 11 am.
Their is lots of places to eat nearby, and 2 grocery stores to buy food, u can also pay 25000 pesos to access the fitness plus gym a few blacks away. The service here was excellent they even came to get me at the pool to tell me the room was ready after i checked in early. The have free internet and parking is 20 000 pesos a day, The Bocagrande part of the city is very noisy and dusty, but quite safe at any time to. The beach is ok at best. What really turned me off was that u cannot have anyone come up to your room for any reason whatsoever at any time unless they pay half the cost of the room. This is not a hotel rule, its a city rule that applies to ALL hotels in the city. i will never come back for that and many other reasons. I had high hopes and i found the city has little to offer to visitors so i would not even recomend to anyone to visit. I would however recommend the hotel if you where to come here and look for a good value for your dinero.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We started in a standard room, but upgraded to an apartment.
We have no point of comparison in Colombia, but on our global scale this hotel offers value for money, .. just.
There are lots and lots of details to be fixed, not the least the taps of kitchen and bathrooms that spray everything except what you want.
However, the friendly staff made up for everything that could possibly be not yet perfect.
We felt welcome, comfortable and safe, also outside the hotel at night.

Just, don't try to contact the reservations department; they simply ignore their email as the stack of our unanswered mails in their inbox showed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here December 2012. The hotel is a little older but all rooms are fully renovated and are in excellent shape. Bathroom has no tub. Hot water was excellent all throughout the day. Staff was very attentive. Free breakfast daily was decent, if limited. Pool is fairly small. Gym area is also limited but adequate. There is a free steam room in the gym. Wifi is excellent. I streamed youtube and had no buffering issues. It works all throughout the rooms, lobby and pool area. Beds are fairly hard. AC works very well. There is a free safe in each room. The hotel is located on Carrera 2 (2nd avenue). It is a block away from the water. The avenue has all the shops you need. Money exchange directly across from the entrance offers the best rate I saw while in Cartagena. There is a full service US quality supermarket on Carrera 3, a couple of blocks away. The location is extremely safe. You can grab a taxi out front pretty much 24 hours a day. All things considered, this is a good quality hotel at a good price.

Room Tip: Be sure to opt for the balcony. It is worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticLuxHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Atlantic Lux Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:

Es un honor para nosotros saber que su experiencia en el Hotel fue placentera y agradable.
Nuestro Hotel está completamente nuevo. Hasta el día de hoy tenemos solo 3 años de haber abierto nuestras puertas para el servicio del Turismo.

Gracias por tomar gran parte de su tiempo para expresarnos sus comentarios. Esperamos que regrese pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubuque, iowa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spent one week at this hotel. It's located 1 block from the beach. The entire place including the rooms were very clean. Our room had a balcony, which we enjoyed sitting on and watching the busy street below - wish there would have been a small table on the balcony to put your drink on and more comfortable chairs. Breakfast was included in our package, but they serve breakfast fron 6 am to 10am, which is quite early, especially on the weekends and for south americans who generally don't get going very early. The breakfast could use some improvement, we enjoyed the fresh juice, fruit and pastries - other dishes served were mostly scrambled eggs and another day it was sausage and boiled potatoes and dinner rolls.
Room was on the smaller side, but bathroom was nice sized. There is a casino off the hotel as well as a bar but it was not very busy any time that we looked at either. The pool is small and is shaded for alot of the day. Bed was very rigid. Wifi was included and worked good. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 505 which has a nice view of street below us and slight ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Lux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Lux Hotel

Address: Av San Martin # 8 - 20 | Av San Martín # 8 - 20, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Lux Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with all comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Lux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Lux Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.