We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all inclusive resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Decameron Cartagena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Decameron Cartagena to your Saves list
Decameron Cartagena
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cra. 1 No. 10-10, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Oakland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good all inclusive resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I enjoyed the all inclusive idea. You get 5 meals a day! The food was ok. All meals except dinner are buffet style. You have to reserve your dinner every day. We never had a chance to get the seafood dinning, it was always booked up! The staff were partly friendly. As of the resort, the room was clean and had a very nice view to the beach! A very nice experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    325
    361
    108
    65
See reviews for
245
460
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Rooms lower than the average, but the worst this is the food. You can dine just once in one decent restaurant called San Pedro, but for that, you have wake up 6 am. or so, go to the lobby and do a long line to get booking. (see picture, it reminds me free food places for homeless in Toronto). They don't accept the booking process online, nor by telephone, no. You have to line in person 6 am. and you can not to book for all in your room, it is a limited amount of bookings for person.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

GREAT VALUE AS THE US DOLLAR CONTINUES TO Slowing but surely rise at the exchange bank. My wife and I and our 11 month old son just arrived from another great stay at the decameron cartagena Colombia.

nothing has changed only that their are many more tourists in cartagena and more people hustling their china goods to you. I personally love to support artists who build or draw their own art/items. Many of these people are selling their items/talent to the tourists in cartagena. its up to you to consider where you buy.

the beach across the hotel is indeed a pain when you are just wanting to lay on the sand. people would come from east and west south and north offering me and the family sunglasses. I stated no gracias amigo we have them on already. then came the water shoes,towels,fake Rolex,fake gshock,etc etc....you get the point. people are just trying to make a living.

the only service I love to accept on the beach is the massages from the older ladies. they tend to be thick and strong and so I prefer the massages. also their was one gentlemen who was from choco. he was a fortune teller/ evil eye bracelet amulet seller. before he even tried to sell you something,he would tell you to blow into his sun hat. I did and then so did my wife. after you blew in it he was able to see your future.im not a believer in this but this guy,told me things from the past first to get my attention then he told me about some projects I was working on, then he told me the final result on what would happen. same with my wife and we were thrilled. he then offered no obligation to buy a nice selection of homemade amulets for protection.

we opted for the bracelets ,and he stated to give him what I think was fair. being that we just got an awakening thru his vision I decided $10 bucks for 2 bracelets was cool, he was extremely humbled and happy.

he explained their are many talented people like him, but many will take advantage of people.

long story short.the predictions he made are coming reality as I sit down to write this article.

cartagena is great and full of culture. I just hope that next time I get to go cartagena ,it isn't spoiled by rowdy tourists ,looking for cheap thrills,drunk and high on all kind of substances.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Its a 3 star experience: hotel, room, food, drinks, atmosphere, amenities, staff, location, entertainment are all either old, dated or average or all three. Nothing was terrible or shocking or unpalatable. But equally nothing was great or amazing or memorable.

The hotel would do one thing badly and then one thing well and it was frustrating. For example the room furniture was very old and of poor quality....but the bed was comfortable and the cleanness was excellent; The (unlimited) food was only OK but the fruit was fresh and delicious; The hotel is a city hotel (just on a main street), not a destination or resort, so you can hear traffic passing constantly, the pool is small, there is no greenery and its just not very relaxing...but its close to the old city. You get the idea..

Ultimately Cartagena is just not (for us) worth spending a week in. The Old City is super-touristy but pretty and makes a nice romantic long weekend (no more than 3 days). But stay and eat in the old city itself and do a decent city tour. The rest of Cartagena, including where this hotel is located (Bocogrande), really has nothing to offer. The beaches are poor and the new city is 'ugly'. The trips and tours are really overrated and expensive. You have been to nicer beaches and nicer islands elsewhere. Don't bother going here. But you feel forced to do so as they is so little else on offer in Cartagena. The fact that the 'volcano' excursion was actually the most fun and value for money (its just a 20m tall man-made mud hill) says everything about this place. A week is too long period.

We had an OK vacation but we would not go to this hotel or this location again and would not recommend it to others. We would suggest the following instead: 3 days in Cartagena Old City. followed by moving to either one of national parks on this coast for trekking (or history or culture or beaches) or to Bogota and the south for the real Columbia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Crowded, noisy, no private beach. The beach acoss the street is not atractive and the peddlers and feet masseurs can became annoying. The food is good. the bar pianist is excellent.The shows are nothing special. To have a reservation for an a special reataurant you have to queue very early in the morning and even so sometimes there is no room. There are taxis to go to downtown.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Food was very second rate, service almost nonexistent, and drinks were on the skimpy side. Staff very disorganized on check in, taking a long time to get to our room. Pool was freezing! Any additional service incurred a charge, including the room safe. Wifi was accessible only in the lobby, and only then at cost (apart from the one hour free trial). Rooms were very tired and outdated. Walls were paper thin - could clearly hear people walking past room and talking in morning and late at night. Despite having 4working lifts, waits for lifts were lengthy. After positive experiences in other hotels in Colombia, this stay was disappointing. Cartagena, on the other hand, is definitely worth the visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Avoid this place at all costs. Also avoid their booking agent - FM Travel. They will both rip you off.

We stayed at this 'resort' for a few nights in Feb 2013 with a group of friends.

My comments are:

1. Hotel transfer wasn't big enough to fit everyone in
2. Check in took forever and was very unorganized.
3. Our room was different to what we ordered (As was others in our group - Honeymooners received 2 single beds)
4. Wifi requires a passcode from reception everytime you connect and only available in the lobby
5. Rooms are very dated
6. Food is horrible. Truly horrible.
7. Drink service is very slow and since drinks are inclusive, the glasses are probably only 100ml. So you are constantly at the bar asking for more drinks.
8. Staff are generally very unhelpful.
9. They lost our bookings for the Decameron Baru resort and claimed we did not have bookings. (Despite having evidence showing booking and payment being made.
10. Booking agent (owned by Decameron) has charged my credit card twice.
11. Management are useless and refuse to do anything.

I cannot stress enough, do not stay at this hotel.

Do however go to Cartagena, beautiful place. Go explore the old town and fort.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, avoid hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Decameron Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Cartagena

Address: Cra. 1 No. 10-10, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Cartagena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Decameron Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Decameron Cartagena
Cartagena Decameron Hotel
Decameron Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decameron Cartagena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.