We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Carribean hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Decameron Cartagena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Decameron Cartagena to your Saves list
Decameron Cartagena
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cra. 1 No. 10-10, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Carribean hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Food was very second rate, service almost nonexistent, and drinks were on the skimpy side. Staff very disorganized on check in, taking a long time to get to our room. Pool was freezing! Any additional service incurred a charge, including the room safe. Wifi was accessible only in the lobby, and only then at cost (apart from the one hour free trial). Rooms were very tired and outdated. Walls were paper thin - could clearly hear people walking past room and talking in morning and late at night. Despite having 4working lifts, waits for lifts were lengthy. After positive experiences in other hotels in Colombia, this stay was disappointing. Cartagena, on the other hand, is definitely worth the visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    340
    379
    109
    65
See reviews for
250
481
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Avoid this place at all costs. Also avoid their booking agent - FM Travel. They will both rip you off.

We stayed at this 'resort' for a few nights in Feb 2013 with a group of friends.

My comments are:

1. Hotel transfer wasn't big enough to fit everyone in
2. Check in took forever and was very unorganized.
3. Our room was different to what we ordered (As was others in our group - Honeymooners received 2 single beds)
4. Wifi requires a passcode from reception everytime you connect and only available in the lobby
5. Rooms are very dated
6. Food is horrible. Truly horrible.
7. Drink service is very slow and since drinks are inclusive, the glasses are probably only 100ml. So you are constantly at the bar asking for more drinks.
8. Staff are generally very unhelpful.
9. They lost our bookings for the Decameron Baru resort and claimed we did not have bookings. (Despite having evidence showing booking and payment being made.
10. Booking agent (owned by Decameron) has charged my credit card twice.
11. Management are useless and refuse to do anything.

I cannot stress enough, do not stay at this hotel.

Do however go to Cartagena, beautiful place. Go explore the old town and fort.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, avoid hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnyg3
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Despite having to pay upfront and in full, this hotel is so bad that it begs belief. The terrible service began at the airport when they only had half of our group booked in for a transfer. We all had diff rooms (not the ones we booked) and ours stank of damp. When we got to our transfer to the much hyped Baru island resort they again only had half the names and refused to resolve the issue. I cant review Baru yet because i am sitting in the valet parking area watching our bags while my group argues with the management ..... getting absolutely nowhere. We feel like we have been robbed. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you going to Cartagena de India, Colombia Decameron Hotel is a great choice. Everything in this hotel is very organized .You don't speak Spanish?NO PROBLEM always is someone with whom you can communicate in English. Employees are very nice and willing to help..If you would like to have a room with sea view just ​​send an e-mail before leaving. Ginette, manager at the front desk speaks English and she is very helpful in every situation. Meals are tasty, the rooms are basic but clean.Employees at this hotel are always smiling and professional approach to their work so why it is worth appreciate their good work and give them tips..Hotel is located about 20 minutes walk to the city center and is a safe area for tourists Colombians are very warm people.I really enjoyed my 1 week staying in Decameron Cartagena.

Room Tip: Get the room from 12 floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I recently returned from a weeks stay at the Decameron Cartegen and had a fantastic time. The staff the hotel and the food exceeded my expectations everything from the check in to the check out was great. WHile the staff have limited English I never experienced any difficulty they work hard at understanding what you are asking for or need.
The food at the breakfast bars, lunch bars and Ala cartes were great not a single complaint. The staff work hard at keeping everything clean, waiting on the guests and trying to engage the guests in activities at the pool and the beach.
The sun shades and loungers located at the beach are included in your stay as well as the hotel has a bar on the beach. The rooms are standard for two people however, the room for three and four are fabulous.

Excellent services, very attentive and just a great place to spend a week. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony, and if possible floors 3, 4, 5 ( this way you can use the stairs inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were inmediately greeted by one of the guest service agents. Hotel is only a 15 minute ride from the airport and shuttle service was included with our reservation. Upon arrival, the guest service agent took us into a meeting room and provided us with an overview of the hotel facilities and the area. She was very pleasant and welcoming. Check in was quick and efficient. Although the room wasn't ready (because we arrived at 11:00am), we were provided with our bracelets and were able to have a nice lunch. I most say that the hotel is a bit tired and in desperate need of a renovation, however, every single staff member was superb. The good thing about the rooms is that all have ocean view. One night I needed a ironer and when the housekeeper brought it up, she offered to iron for me -- of course, I declined the offer but thougth it was a nice touch. Every single staff member goes out of their way to make you feel at home. I thought the food was excellent and the staff in every single restaurant was just awesome. They really know what service is all about -- I hardly saw anyone tipping them which was too bad. If you are a seafood lover, you must go to the Seafood Restaurant. It was my favorite out of the 4 offered by the hotel. The restaurant option in the old city was not a big deal. The area where the hotel is located is extremely safe - there are no issues walking around, even wearing jewelry. The old city is spectacular. Went there every night to have cocktails and walk around. There are nice boutiques and great restaurants. Old City is very safe and it is a cheap cab ride from the hotel. My least favorite part was the beach because the hotel does not have a private one. You have to deal with the vendors trying to sell you stuff all day long. The massage ladies were extremely annoying. If you want an entire day of relaxation and beatiful beach, buy a day tour to the Decameron Baru - it is worth it. I would definitely go back to Cartagena.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocen view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

There are no English speaking staff at all, so brush up on your Spanish. Food is good, all ala carte. The beach charges for lounge chairs. No mini fridge or coffee machines in rooms...no door peep hole either. Other than that, Colombian people are awesome and staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Decameron Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Cartagena

Address: Cra. 1 No. 10-10, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Cartagena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Decameron Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Decameron Cartagena
Cartagena Decameron Hotel
Decameron Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decameron Cartagena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.