We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning heritage hotel in brilliant location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Caribe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 1330, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning heritage hotel in brilliant location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Caribe during a recent visit to Cartagena. The hotel itself is absolutely stunning and is now heritage listed due to its significance. The swimming pool and surrounding areas are stunning and the hotel rooms are comfortable and accommodating. One of a few issues we did have at the hotel was with the service at the hotels restaurants. We found the staff there not very unattentive, difficult to get service from and then included in the bill at the end of the service was a tip included in the bill. Another issue was with the "private beach". One of the major problems that we feel Cartagena is facing is with its vendadoras and during a visit to the hotels private beach we found ourselves immediately swamped by vendadoras trying to sell us anything from "Rolex" watches, sunglasses, to paintings. The water was very unattractive and after a short stay we decided to return to the hotels swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    275
    103
    39
    16
See reviews for
189
214
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

we spent a few days in hotel caribe. when we arrived I thought "hey nice hotel resort" and I walked around. I came to the zoo where I found 4 little monkeys laying on the ground in a very small cage with no green or anything. the water was dirty and everything smelled very bad. the parrots were in a small cage and had lost their plumage. I could clearly see that these animals were not happy at all.
The staff working at the reception was very friendly. Aircon was not working. Don't go to the hotel beach, you will be bothered by the beach vendors.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

After being stranded at Bogota airport for 7 hours then arriving in post-downpour Cartagena late on a Saturday night, Hotel Caribe was a veritable oasis! My room was large, well air conditioned and clean. The bed was big with high quality mattress, sheets and pillows—so important and a relief when you're traveling. The hotel is a lovely old landmark building (I was in a newish wing) with extensive gardens and a great pool area. Staff were friendly, but being so large I found it a tad impersonal. My only complaint is I thought the food in the restaurant was just OK, although it's open 24 hours a day, so what do you expect?! Others may not find the constant and inescapable music they played in the pool area annoying, but personally give me silence, or at least salsa if you must! I live in New York, so when I go to the beach I want to hear the birds, the waves, at most kids splashing in the pool. Enough with the midday club beats! I'm sure I was the only one with a problem as most people pay little attention to noise. The bar drinks were only so-so.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Unfortunately we arrived in Cartagena at the same time as a large event so there were very few rooms in the city left. We were charged $630USD in what we were told was a 5 star hotel. At best this is a 3 Star hotel. The rooms are very spartan and the the restaurants are buffet style and basic. The pool looked nice but rooms are too basic to be called 5 star. Thin towels and worn sheets with a definite motel feel. At $150 this hotel is a good deal but I personally would feel cheated paying any more.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

This hotel is very old and has not been kept up to date. The staff was not as professional as a Marriot or other chain hotel. The food was okay, but nothing special. One antique elevator servers the main building, so plan on waiting for it at times. Pool was very nice, and location is nice next to the beach, but other hotels are likely cheaper, newer and nicer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herradura, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed here for two nights during a trip recently to Colombia. We arrived at the airport and took a taxi to the hotel, which took about 15 minutes, I would guess. This hotel is in the Boca Grande beach area vs in the walled in city fortress area. I picked it since it is only a 10 minute taxi ride to the walled in city, and I like staying on the beach. Plus, the hotels in the walled city were more expensive, and i prefer a view of the water over a view of a wall, and I made the right choice for sure. Got to check in early to our room, we were on the 4th floor. Room was pretty standard, but nice. Big room with a view of the water and the hotel grounds. Bathroom was nice as well, great shower water pressure. We used the pool and it was very nice, and quiet. They had a separate area for kids, which kept the other side of the pool quieter. There was a gym area as well, with massage rooms, a sauna, a turkish bath, and a jacuzzi. We had massages in there, which were below average, at best, but the sauna and jacuzzi were nice. Had lunch and the buffet breakfast (which was free each morning) and both were good. Highly recommend the shrimp pizza. Hotel is steps from the beach, so we walked the beach some as well. Lots of cute restaurants and shopping near the hotel in the downtown of Boca Grande. Also, free internet at the hotel as well, which rocks. Quick checkout as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Here are the facts of my stay: 1. the clerk at check in wanted to charge me $68.00 US for insurance per day. Not after speaking to a supervisor did I find out it was optional. 2. They wanted to charge me $10.00 a day for my 3 year old to eat at the breakfast buffet. 3. my room had a water leak in the bathroom and the floor was constantly wet. My 11, 8, and 3 year old loved the pool, the wild (but tamed) animals scrolling around the hotel grounds.
Here is my opinion: It's decent, worth the price, good place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Address: Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 1330, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside the old city on the beaches of Bocagrande, Hotel Caribe, a certified ¨National Monument¨, was built in 1941 and still maintains its original five-story, 99-room Colonial structure. The resort has since added two modern buildings making it the largest hotel in Cartagena.It has 363 rooms with ocean or hotel garden-views (16 of which are wheel-chair-friendly), 4 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, a mini-zoo, tennis courts, a semi-Olympic – sized pool as well as one for the kids. The Caribe Hotel offers a first class service with lot facilities. The Caribe Hotel with three buildings and 363 rooms is considered one of the most traditional Hotel in the city, with an area of 35,000 m2 of exotic tropical trees and gardens, 5,000 being devoted to ample beaches and 30,000 to Hotel facilities. The majestic structure of the Hotel Caribe, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens, rises from the heart of Bocagrande. The Hotel has 363 rooms with different lodging options to make your stay an unforgettable experience, additional offers the finest recreational and sports facilities. We provide our guest an incredible variety of gastronomical possibilities, from the most sophisticated international cuisine to exquisite typical dishes and snacks. Our Guest may select the Catalina Restaurant, Oh Caribe bungalow, Punta Icacos garden and the pool area with a scenario for folklore reviews and theme parties. In regard to congresses, seminars, and conventions the Caribe possesses a magnificent infrastructure that includes ten meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.