We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Caribe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 1330, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was my second time in this hotel. I was there in 1988, then my husband and I decided to stay there in our trip to Colombia in 2011. The room was nice the manager gave us a choice to stay in the new side of the hotel or the colonial? We choose the colonial it was so nice to see a flavor of old and not the same look of a room that is the same like the others. The breakfast was good a lot of food, but definite or favorite dish was at the pool, the " ensalada mixta" a mixed of fish, chicken and stake cook to perfection. I could eat that all day!!! everything was so convenient, far away from all the madness but taxis come there all the time to get you an drop you door to door. one tip don't go to the beach there, just get go to a travel agent and get a boat ride to " Baru" white beach. so nice. there. if you go to the beach in front of the hotel so many people will be coming to you to sell you stuff that you will want to punch them in the face. very pushy people so be on the look out. I lve the pool better of the hotel and the white beach with trips on boats and def go to the old city. Great trip

Room Tip: Stay int he Colonia rooms they have that coziness of old spanish colonial days. love it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are so glad that your expectations of our hotel rooms satisfied in a way that you really enjoyed the history involved and even that was your 2nd time here, also we really appreciated that you really enjoy our breakfast ,the specialties of our cuisine and pool areas.

On the other hand, we really sorry for the inconveniences you may had while you were in the public beaches, this is something out of our league the street vendors but we are working with the community in order to solve this inconveniences but good decision to escape to a private beach specially the Barù island and at the same time had the chance to visit other venues of our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    277
    103
    39
    16
See reviews for
189
214
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Beyond breathtaking! This was a last minute trip and I couldn't have been happier with our hotel. Check in was very easy and they were very busy that weekend but extremely helpful and efficient. Hotel was very clean. Our room was large with beautiful windows looking onto the water. They had free drinks and a great pool with many areas to just lounge around and enjoy the scenery. Great stay and hopefully we will be back one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are so glad that you had chosen us as you new house even for your vacation, and also even that we were kind of busy and our staff was always there to help you in your needs.
Also, we are glad to hear that our cleanness in venues and room sizes and breathtaking views filled your expectations. We hope to see you in your near future plans and do not forget this now it is your house forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Hotel Caribe. We stayed at the Lagomar building on the 4th floor facing the ocean. It was a nice, cool, clean room with 2 king beds and large flat screen TV. The breakfast is included and I looked forward it to it every morning. It is enough to get you through most of the day. The pool area is very nice and was not crowded until the days before new years. The grounds are very nice and there is a forest court yard that sounds like a jungle with the local birds “Maria mulattas”. They have some sloths (osos perizosos) that live up in the large banyan trees. They kept the room cleaned and helped me get some clothes washed and pressed. The staff there was very friendly and helpful in providing info about the hotel, directions, the city, and the tours. The entertainment on Friday night was excellent local traditional Cumbia music and dancing.

It is just a few minute taxi drive to the old city and that cost about $3 each way. The hotel is located out near the end of the point but there are plenty of stores, restaurants, pharmacies etc., within a very short walk. if you are going to buy any souvenirs, hats, shirts, mochillas, you are better buying them around the hotel than the old city.

I would not take the Chiva bus tour. It is hot and crowded and the guides are more interested in bringing you to their friends store than explaining the sights. I would recommend having a taxi driver take you on the same tour in a cab with AC. A cab tour is $20/hour so it is cheaper and more comfortable than the Chiva at $40 each.

We had a positive and memorable experience at the Hotel Caribe. The Lagomar was a nice building and we were able to see some of the minimalistic rooms on the first floor of the old building but obviously did not see the entire hotel. I would definitely like to return and see some of the people we met.

Room Tip: We are only familiar with the Lagomar building but the minimalist rooms on first floor of the coloni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are so glad to hear such great comments regarding services, venues of the hotel and the most important, our staff. It`s true, we are unique to have such big areas surrounding with live animals mentioned and even though that the chiva bus was a bit disappointed but at least you enjoyed our culture and it is part of our history and believes, and it is an honor to hear that everything went smooth for your holidays enjoying our gardens ,shows and city and of course our hotel and we really hope to have you back not even once but more than that and as well with family members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Let's start with the positives- decent room, clean enough, good-looking pool area and semi-maintained grounds. They had deer on the property, as well.

Negatives, on the other hand, are ABUNDANT. Terrible service, especially by the pool where we waited 2 hours for sandwiches. Inattentive, overwhelmed, under-managed. Tours are all terribly touristic and miserable, and the beaches are appalling. In general, DON'T STAY IN BOCAGRANDE. It's gross.

Upon check-in, we were greeted by a woman who gave no instruction whatsoever and answered a personal cell phone call instead of finishing our introduction to Bocagrande. Awful wi-fi in the rooms. Just don't.

Room Tip: To get the best room, book at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are really sorry for all the inconveniences you may had, regarding spicily our pool service and also our wifi connection network. We had taken note of all this, in order to improve them both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a fantastic, beautiful hotel. Our room (sea view) was very nice with all amenities that you expect from a 5 star hotel. Breakfast is good, The Olympic-size pool is nice if you like to swim for exercises.
One of us had a little accident and needed medical attention which the hotel provided efficiently and at no additional cost to us (apparently they have an insurance for these things). A doctor and a nurse showed up soon after the accident happened.The location of the hotel is good - a quick and cheap taxi ride will get you into the old town and there are sufficient eating and drinking establishments in the area around the hotel. During our next visit to Cartagena we will definitely stay at the Hotel Caribe again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are really glad to hear all your good comments specially our services and that encourage us even more to continue in given such a service, and we are looking towards to see you and your family in a future visit in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A surprise stay here and it's got everything. Good food pleasant room with 2 double beds. Great pool. Childrens services and access to the beach. old town by taxi cheap and 5 mins away. Beach grey and dirty looking grey sand. Slight hassle from vendors but safe as patrolled by security. Spent New Year here and lavish dinner at £100 a go with fireworks. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The new block is quieter and have lagoon views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are glad to hear such great comments, specially our location allow our guests to back and forth without any problems and visit such a great breathtaking venues of our city, we are looking towards to see you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

O went to the hotel for new year with two friends. Let me tell all that happened with us. First they have charged us for the hole stay in the check in. We did not have time to exchange money, so we had to pay in credit card. During our stay we here out of internet for 02 days and out of Hot Water in the shower for 02 days as well. If you dont speak spanish, dont stay in the hotel, because no one does. Only the clerks in front desk, very bad English. The swimming pool has not enough space for all guests and if you want to have a drink be prepared to wait a long time for a waiter. Breakfast is poor and all the restaurant smell like onions, because they prepare food in eating area. You will need to shower after! It was a horrible experience. Please take a look in The picture attached. Its The roof of my bathroom. All dirty and old. Too expensive hotel to let The rooms like that! Stay in another one!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are really sorry for all these inconveniences mentioned you had while you were in the hotel, we had taken note of all, in order to correct them and we are making sure would not happen for a future guest`s visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Address: Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 1330, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#13 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside the old city on the beaches of Bocagrande, Hotel Caribe, a certified ¨National Monument¨, was built in 1941 and still maintains its original five-story, 99-room Colonial structure. The resort has since added two modern buildings making it the largest hotel in Cartagena.It has 363 rooms with ocean or hotel garden-views (16 of which are wheel-chair-friendly), 4 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, a mini-zoo, tennis courts, a semi-Olympic – sized pool as well as one for the kids. The Caribe Hotel offers a first class service with lot facilities. The Caribe Hotel with three buildings and 363 rooms is considered one of the most traditional Hotel in the city, with an area of 35,000 m2 of exotic tropical trees and gardens, 5,000 being devoted to ample beaches and 30,000 to Hotel facilities. The majestic structure of the Hotel Caribe, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens, rises from the heart of Bocagrande. The Hotel has 363 rooms with different lodging options to make your stay an unforgettable experience, additional offers the finest recreational and sports facilities. We provide our guest an incredible variety of gastronomical possibilities, from the most sophisticated international cuisine to exquisite typical dishes and snacks. Our Guest may select the Catalina Restaurant, Oh Caribe bungalow, Punta Icacos garden and the pool area with a scenario for folklore reviews and theme parties. In regard to congresses, seminars, and conventions the Caribe possesses a magnificent infrastructure that includes ten meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.