We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old hotel, a little rough around the edges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Caribe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 1330, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice old hotel, a little rough around the edges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I think the most important aspect of any hotel in Cartagena is the air conditioning, and Hotel Caribe's system was a blast of refreshment when I first entered my ocean-facing room. There is easy access to the pool and to the beach across the street, and the pool area appears well furnished. The restaurant provides a buffet breakfast including omelet bar that is well worth getting up for. If I had to identify a weakness, it would be the bathrooms. They were a bit dingy and the plumbing was suspect. My shower was a gusher, but the sink was a trickle. The availability of hot water was lacking during one morning shower and the towels were rough. On the other hand, the hotel staff is very helpful. They sold me postage stamps, gave me change for a 50,000 peso bill, hailed taxis (plenty of those in Cartagena), and even recommended restaurants. (I think every hotel in the area must recommend La Olla Cartagena). It was enough to make me overlook the peeling paint on the lobby ceiling and other signs of wear.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are glad to hear all your comments and we are taking note to correct them of all these inconveniences, you experience during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    216
    91
    34
    16
See reviews for
152
169
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was 4 days in Cartagena for business and stayed at Hotel Caribe. The staff was friendly and helpful and spoke good enough English.

The room was good albeit a bit noisy (my room gave on the street side). On the last day of my stay, there was a long power failure so the generator kicked in and unfortunately it was almost right under my window, and extremely loud.

The hotel offered good choice of food but you better go there early (before 7:30am) if you want to easily find a table.

The pool is quite big and well maintained offering a nice and relaxing area on the hotel property.

Taxis to the old historic city centre are cheap (about 5 to 6000 pesos, less than 3 USD) but it takes time as there is often traffic to/from Bocagrande (where the hotel is located).

Should I go back to Cartagena, maybe I would pick a hotel in the old centre...

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room on the garden side, as street side can be quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are more than happy that our friendly staff were very helpful during your stay. We are really sorry for the inconvenience you had due to the power supply, hopefully this matter was solved in a matter of time and we are working in order to have more tables to be placed while we have so many guests and not to have enough room to assign them properly.

As part of it our location it is a privilege since we are so close to the old town and you can enjoy our wall city where shopping it is always a pleasure or you are more than welcome to stay in, enjoying our Olympic sized pool, hoping to see you once again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed only for one night, beginning of October. The night Receptionist did not find my reservation and I had to "book" on the spot...but in the morning my original reservation was found? Room is 3 star at best. Location is convenient and close by the beach. Breakfast served by the pool, in relaxed atmosphere but selection was limited and refill was slow. Did not stay in other hotels in Cartagena, but I hope this is not the best in town...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We really sorry for all the inconveniences you may had during your checked –in, we apologized not to filled your expectation of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebrija, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The breakfast buffet was just awesome. What really made the stay great was the staff. So very helpful and friendly. The hotel is just beautiful at night and rooms were very comfortable. To get to the old city was a breeze. Did some extra excursions and the staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about what was good and what we could just skip. I really enjoyed the old city and the buggy ride through. The city is friendly and this does not stop at the door of the hotel. A waiter even went and got me additional minutes for my phone and loaded them as I had never done that before. We stayed for Five nights and were sorry to have to go. You can not go wrong staying at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are really glad to hear all these comments, and that give us a good reward and make us think we are doing such amazing performance, and we are looking towards to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel Caribe. It is placed in the chic neighborhood of Bocagrande, next to the beach (the beach is not impressive there). To go to the old town, a taxi can be called from the hotel station within 30 seconds and costs 6000 pesos (2.5 euros) t get there.
The rooms are okay, the bathroom could need some renovation, the wifi access is very poor. The swimming pool is super (temperature warm and relaxing). The breakfast is diverse and the juices change every day. We really enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We really thank for your grades and comments and we are working to correct things such bathrooms and wi fi network connection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is awesome! I took my two little annoying children with me and nobody in the hotel lost their patience. This hotel has pets for the children when they visit. My kids pulled sloths out of the trees, played with deer, fed monkeys and macaws, and never once did anybody tell them no. My kids were so happy. They screamed when we had to leave. They were crying when we left. Their favorite part was all the animals. The animals to all of us was the best part because the children stayed completely entertained the entire time. This hotel is complete with salon, sauna, gym, massage service, several stores for jewelry and arts and crafts, pool and separate children's pool, park for the children with swings, and a game room for the children. I just called and somebody picked up my dirty laundry in the room, washed it, ironed it, and placed it all back neatly in my room. I didn't lift a finger there and that's what a vacation means to me. The service is outstanding. Everybody is so patient and nice. The food in the breakfast buffet was typical Colombian food and delicious. Also, people on these reviews complain that the food takes forever. This is Colombia and everything is homemade. They don't have the accessories in the kitchens that we do here in the states to make everything quick and easy. They literally hand make the pasta and roll their own bread and they make it to order, one at a time if somebody requests. The food comes out hot and fresh. If you want fast food, there is a McDonald's down the street from the hotel. The rooms are similar to that of any Holiday Inn here in the states. The overall stay was just really pleasant. We are very happy.

Room Tip: We were right by the elevator and never heard any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are really glad to hear such stunning comments for each of them in particular the staff whose always there in order for you to have a place like you were at your own home, we are looking towards to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Overall a great hotel with excellent service, friendly people, nice rooms, and great facilities. The breakfast is OK, not great, but is pretty much the only game in town unless you were to trek up to Crepes and Waffles. As for facilities and the general 'feel' of the hotel, this is definitely a high point. The pool is outstanding, activities are great, and you can comfortably spend time at the hotel without feeling the need to go elsewhere. Though nicely located right on the beach, you can skip this. The water is great, but there is a lot of jet ski activity, the sand is nothing to write home about, and the vendors are mostly annoying.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor facing the bay, and it was great. Would advise a bay side room, rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are more than happy to hear such great comments even that our breakfast did not filled your expectations we are working each day to improve it and what makes us more proud is to hear that hotel in general filled your expectation and more even you did not want to go out it is an honored to hear that.

We are looking towards to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Address: Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 1330, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#16 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#20 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside the old city on the beaches of Bocagrande, Hotel Caribe, a certified ¨National Monument¨, was built in 1941 and still maintains its original five-story, 99-room Colonial structure. The resort has since added two modern buildings making it the largest hotel in Cartagena.It has 363 rooms with ocean or hotel garden-views (16 of which are wheel-chair-friendly), 4 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, a mini-zoo, tennis courts, a semi-Olympic – sized pool as well as one for the kids. The Caribe Hotel offers a first class service with lot facilities. The Caribe Hotel with three buildings and 363 rooms is considered one of the most traditional Hotel in the city, with an area of 35,000 m2 of exotic tropical trees and gardens, 5,000 being devoted to ample beaches and 30,000 to Hotel facilities. The majestic structure of the Hotel Caribe, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens, rises from the heart of Bocagrande. The Hotel has 363 rooms with different lodging options to make your stay an unforgettable experience, additional offers the finest recreational and sports facilities. We provide our guest an incredible variety of gastronomical possibilities, from the most sophisticated international cuisine to exquisite typical dishes and snacks. Our Guest may select the Catalina Restaurant, Oh Caribe bungalow, Punta Icacos garden and the pool area with a scenario for folklore reviews and theme parties. In regard to congresses, seminars, and conventions the Caribe possesses a magnificent infrastructure that includes ten meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.