We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Caribe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 1330, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is awesome! I took my two little annoying children with me and nobody in the hotel lost their patience. This hotel has pets for the children when they visit. My kids pulled sloths out of the trees, played with deer, fed monkeys and macaws, and never once did anybody tell them no. My kids were so happy. They screamed when we had to leave. They were crying when we left. Their favorite part was all the animals. The animals to all of us was the best part because the children stayed completely entertained the entire time. This hotel is complete with salon, sauna, gym, massage service, several stores for jewelry and arts and crafts, pool and separate children's pool, park for the children with swings, and a game room for the children. I just called and somebody picked up my dirty laundry in the room, washed it, ironed it, and placed it all back neatly in my room. I didn't lift a finger there and that's what a vacation means to me. The service is outstanding. Everybody is so patient and nice. The food in the breakfast buffet was typical Colombian food and delicious. Also, people on these reviews complain that the food takes forever. This is Colombia and everything is homemade. They don't have the accessories in the kitchens that we do here in the states to make everything quick and easy. They literally hand make the pasta and roll their own bread and they make it to order, one at a time if somebody requests. The food comes out hot and fresh. If you want fast food, there is a McDonald's down the street from the hotel. The rooms are similar to that of any Holiday Inn here in the states. The overall stay was just really pleasant. We are very happy.

Room Tip: We were right by the elevator and never heard any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are really glad to hear such stunning comments for each of them in particular the staff whose always there in order for you to have a place like you were at your own home, we are looking towards to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    217
    91
    34
    16
See reviews for
152
169
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Overall a great hotel with excellent service, friendly people, nice rooms, and great facilities. The breakfast is OK, not great, but is pretty much the only game in town unless you were to trek up to Crepes and Waffles. As for facilities and the general 'feel' of the hotel, this is definitely a high point. The pool is outstanding, activities are great, and you can comfortably spend time at the hotel without feeling the need to go elsewhere. Though nicely located right on the beach, you can skip this. The water is great, but there is a lot of jet ski activity, the sand is nothing to write home about, and the vendors are mostly annoying.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor facing the bay, and it was great. Would advise a bay side room, rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are more than happy to hear such great comments even that our breakfast did not filled your expectations we are working each day to improve it and what makes us more proud is to hear that hotel in general filled your expectation and more even you did not want to go out it is an honored to hear that.

We are looking towards to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We loved the location of this place, across from the beach and walking distance to most places.
The room was large and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good as expected.Make sure you take some of the tours in the area and beyond.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are really appreciated all your comments ,and we hope to see you in a near future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Caribe for three nights, loved the property with it's vintage history. The grounds were well kept, enjoyed walking around looking at the perfect manicured plants and flowers. The pool area was great, didn't have a chance to use since I was there for a conference and didn't find enough time to enjoy. The breakfast was great each morning, something different each time, plenty of choices. The room was large, overlooking the bay, great view from the 5th, room 551. I am looking forward to returning just for a vacation and to be able to take advantage of everything this wonderful hotel has to offer. The beach is a very short walk across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Certainly our gardens and surroundings locations will make a difference during your staying, we hope your future plans in returning will come true, have you and your family as a guests once more and really enjoying things that you could not enjoy while you were here before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was hesitating between average and very good rates but decided for the later because there is some special charming on this hotel that make go back time on time. This hotel has a long history and has been preserved mostly in good shape. There is a wing that suffered a makeover so rooms there are comfortable and baths are spacious, there is other wing where baths are smaller so you don't feel the same comfort. Breakfast buffet is nice with juicy season fruits. Building is just some steps from the beach and walled city us just about a short cab ride. If you like the pool think to get a lounge early in the morning otherwise all will be find busy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Our charming it is really an honored to be the 1st one in history and the wings in our hotel will be under renovation specially the colonial part rooms will be stunning and breathtaking when all of them are finished so not even can enjoy the spacious room now the smaller ones will be a part of a new Caribe hotel, and trying to work more how to use the spacious of the hotel to allow more lounge available when the hotel is packed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We left the Holiday Inn to come stay here because we wanted more character and a bit more charm than the plain old Holiday Inn. I would have to second what everyone else said except that the breakfast was always crowded because of the conferences going on at the hotel. Lunch took a long time to get to your table so order before you are already starving. Our boys loved the pool because it's pretty big and they did not use the baby pool except just for dipping in. The game room is open all day with a pool table, ping pong and they have a miniture golf course on the side of the hotel. The resort itself is not huge so the kids could roam around without us worrying that they would disappear... There are plenty to eat outside of the hotel just a short walk away. Cartagena is not like Miami despite what people say. It's got more charm much much more dirtier. Trash flying all over the street. But for a real Cartagena experience, stay near or in the Walled City for at least a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We really appreciated your good comments and at the same time we apologize for not to find enough room during your meal time due to a convention, but we are working in order to use other venues of the hotels and not to have this inconveniences happened again. We are inviting you to visit us again and see for your self our changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you are a beach person then you may want to check in at this hotel. It is steps away from the beach and the staff is friendly

But everything else about this hotel is average. The facade is beautiful and the green spaces inside are very nice. The rooms need a major makeover- the bathrooms are small and dingy and ours had a cracked tub. Taking a shower was touch and go because you were never sure if the water would run hot or cold. The air conditioning was very spotty too. At times it did not get cold enough (this was a problem because it was blazing hot outside) and at other times it was extremely noisy. A call to the front desk did not help.

Breakfast was average, there was nothing worth mentioning on the buffet. We wanted a drink at the bar next to the lobby on the day we arrived but it was closed.

If you stay at this hotel try to get sea facing rooms so you can at least enjoy the view. If we were to go back to Cartagena, we would stay close to the walled city where there was much more action. Friends of ours stayed at a beautiful boutique hotel (Arsenal) next to the Convention Center.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrpp_asistente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We really appreciated your comments and we are relly sorry for all these inconveneinces you may had, we are working in all of them to correct them and make sure not to happen again, for any upcoming guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Address: Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 1330, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#16 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#20 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside the old city on the beaches of Bocagrande, Hotel Caribe, a certified ¨National Monument¨, was built in 1941 and still maintains its original five-story, 99-room Colonial structure. The resort has since added two modern buildings making it the largest hotel in Cartagena.It has 363 rooms with ocean or hotel garden-views (16 of which are wheel-chair-friendly), 4 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, a mini-zoo, tennis courts, a semi-Olympic – sized pool as well as one for the kids. The Caribe Hotel offers a first class service with lot facilities. The Caribe Hotel with three buildings and 363 rooms is considered one of the most traditional Hotel in the city, with an area of 35,000 m2 of exotic tropical trees and gardens, 5,000 being devoted to ample beaches and 30,000 to Hotel facilities. The majestic structure of the Hotel Caribe, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens, rises from the heart of Bocagrande. The Hotel has 363 rooms with different lodging options to make your stay an unforgettable experience, additional offers the finest recreational and sports facilities. We provide our guest an incredible variety of gastronomical possibilities, from the most sophisticated international cuisine to exquisite typical dishes and snacks. Our Guest may select the Catalina Restaurant, Oh Caribe bungalow, Punta Icacos garden and the pool area with a scenario for folklore reviews and theme parties. In regard to congresses, seminars, and conventions the Caribe possesses a magnificent infrastructure that includes ten meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.