We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 23 Carrera 3 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The check in was really great. They sent as a beverage of our choice to our room.
The room was beautiful with a huge bathroom and nicely appointed.
Their service very attentive and breakfast very nice.
My only complaint is that the wireless Internet was very slow, but they have a business room with an adequate connection.
I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, including the check-in process, complimentary beverage, room, service and breakfast. As for the wireless Internet, it can get a little slow at times due to the thickness of the hotel's historic stone walls, but we are happy you were able to take advantage of the business center. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    70
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
44
130
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern US
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What an exceptionally beautiful property. Wonderfully modern, but with careful preservation and ingenious integration of it's many historic elements. Be certain to dine at the roof top restaurant, again so many elements combined beautifully -- the expansive pool, other roof tops, church towers, and the ocean. Everything on the menu is superb (our party did a pretty good job in checking it out). The service was very attentive but never intrusive, and what can be better than watching a fish being de-boned, knowing it was just caught from the beautiful waters you are overlooking! Bravo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director of Sales at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa. It is a pleasure to hear that the decoration, amenities, food and service of the hotel were of your liking, and above all, that you were able to experience the magic of Cartagena as we feel it should be experienced- with great food, company and views! We hope you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife & I just returned from a truly wonderful 4 night stay at the Charleston Hotel Santa Teresa. The hotel is in the best location in Cartagena as it's close to high end shopping, great restaurants, and is a short walk to major churches & museums. I found the service to be exceptional. The staff was extremely helpful with booking dinner reservations, arranging taxi transportation, providing general directions and even providing me with a Blackberry charger as I forgot mine. The service at the restaurants was also fantastic - very attentive and friendly - we especially thought that the waiter named Gustavo was super friendly. We also really enjoyed our room - it was extremely clean, nicely decorated, well air conditioned, and quiet even though we faced the front of the hotel. We had a nice view of the front of the hotel and the new city in the distance. Lastly, the pool on the rooftop was very relaxing and the view of both the Old City and New City was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Cartagena. We also felt very safe here too.

Room Tip: We actually paid for a Junior Suite but upon arrival we switched to a Superior room as the view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear about your experience at Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena. We pride ourselves in working hard in order to make each guest's stay an enjoyable and memorable one and it is great to learn that this was your case and that you were able to enjoy the hotel's facilities as well as the advantages of its location. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel with tons of character. The rooftop pool has an amazing view and its antics place to pass a few hours with drink in hand. The rooms and bathrooms are quite nice and the breakfast is excellent. My only criticism is that it can be rather noisy if there is a wedding or other event.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa and we thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you found the hotel to be noisy at times, we take every precaution to ensure the events carried out at the hotel do not disturb our guests, and in case they do, the front desk should make arrangements in order to accommodate them. We hope you can visit us again soon and you can spend some more hours enjoying the pool with a drink in hand.

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

this is the most stunning hotel. built in an old convent, the courtyard and bar open up to the sky the rooms are a nice size, great bed, and amazing amenities. you will feel luxe from the moment you walk in tip you wake up. the pool, however, is the best. an amazing, perfect size, stepped out from the patio with a perfect, unobstructed view of the old and new city, this is the place you were meant to be - with a mojito in hand of course. watching the sunset where the old walls meet the new city, you will wish you were nowhere else in the world. the amazing central location and warm, helpful staff top everything else! having been to cartagena a few times now, there really is nowhere else to stay. Worth every single penny!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, all types of rooms and all beautifully furnished. Can be small compared to other high end hotels, but with everything needed. Conveniently located within the old city and walking distance to all restaurants and nice places. Pool is beautiful. Food is excellent, speically breakfast. Can be warm as tables are all located outside. Srvice may be slow, but people aree extremely kind.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena. We are glad to hear you found the hotel to be beautiful and conveniently located, and that you enjoyed the food. We are sorry to hear you found the service to be somewhat slow, we hope to see you again at our hotel in order to make that up to you.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

For a high end hotel, I found the service to be lacking. The employees did not have the usual hospitality type of attitude you find in nice hotels. They were unsmiling most of the time and you had to ask for basic things that should have been offered. Also, the hotel did not provide drinkable water bottles in the room. We stayed in a junior suite and still had to pay for water bottles. To be balanced in my comments, the hotel is beautiful, clean and well located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry the level of our service did not meet your expectations. As a five star luxury hotel, we pride ourselves in offering first-class service and we sincerely regret that that was not your experience. As far as the bottled water, as with most hotels of our level, we do offer it in every room for a charge. We are glad that you did find the hotel to be beautiful and we hope to get a chance to serve you again in the future and hopefully better your impressions on our service.


Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Address: 31 - 23 Carrera 3 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#11 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#23 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Santa Teresa Cartagena
Santa Teresa Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.