We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel in the Old City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Save Saved
You added Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 23 Carrera 3 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Cartagena
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Hotel in the Old City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Looking for a destination to plan your next trip? Looking for a hotel? I've got the perfect destination and hotel! Not only is this a beautiful property, offering its guest top of the line service, it is located in the heart of the old city, allowing tourists and locals to explore the beauty that Cartagena has to offer. Hotel Santa Teresa offers its guests multiple food and beverage options to choose from, ranging from the patio by the lobby for breakfast to the restaurant by the pool to the restaurant in the plaza. The rooms are very good in size some bigger than others but they all have nice decor. I have been staying at this hotel for the past 7 years and every time I am more pleasantly surprised with the excellent service provided.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    55
    21
    13
    8
See reviews for
37
108
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

similar to other reviewers, we found that what we had reserved through American Express was not what was offered to us when we arrived. After we had a discussion, they did 'upgrade' (tho this was NOT an upgrade as we had it confirmed to us as a deluxe room by AMEX) to a deluxe room tho it was the least of the deluxe. A nice room but there were no apologies and no manager to discuss this with. We had a reservation for 5 nights and finally got to who we thought was the manager on the 4th day - Others we saw were offered juice on arrival and other amenities but perhaps as we arrived on a Sunday, we were offered nothing. The man who showed us our room went off to check how to open the window only to never return and when we asked what happened when we went back to the lobby, we were informed that the windows did not open! English is obviously not spoken regularly as we were often avoided. We choose this hotel as it was a medium sized hotel which we thought would therefore provide us with a concierge service in English - but this was not the case. There was no concierge but only an outside travel agent who had a window to book tours. When we asked about any concerts or art events, we weren't given any information but found out later on that there was a large concert as a book fair commenced the day before we left but by then it was too late. It was inconceivable that they were not familiar with what turned out to be a huge concert in a main square and obviously a main happening that week. We also never received a wake up call which could have been disastrous had we not set another alarm on our phone.....just in case. The desk was also pretty useless with shopping recommendations - There was NO list of restaurants tho we got one from the concierge at a competing hotel across town!
The good news is the location and the upstairs pool - tho small for swimming - is delightful -
the food for breakfast and lunch was served beautifully. Very disappointed in the service at the hotel - but loved being in Cartagena nevertheless.

Room Tip: Try to get the deluxe rooms and GET IT CONFIRMED by the hotel as they do not accept the confirm from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Beautiful choice for a luxury hotel inside the walled city. Perfect location (Sofitel is similar but on opposite side), great service, beautiful rooms. The rooftop terrace is amazing, and we could always find a spot. Were not that impressed with the food (then again, you should probably never order pizza in south america). The bed was super comfy, much better than anything else we'd experienced in Cartagena. Also really enjoyed having a balcony off our room (even with the standard room).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Let me first start by saying that the hotel is absolutely beautiful. The ambiance, decor, and location are perfect for a memorable journey to Cartagena.

We went to Cartagena on our honeymoon and decided to splurge a little and booked a junior suite. Our package also included "luxury" transport to and from the airport, breakfast, spa treatments and wifi internet.

Our hotel pick up was perfect and we were brought back to the hotel in a large van. The staff were ready for us with drinks and our room was already assigned and ready.
We were escorted to our room and immediately my wife and I looked at each other and both thought "this is not a suite". We called the reception to inquire and instead of being told we were right, we were instead offered not one but two other rooms - both smaller in size and both not suites. So we went down to the reception to discuss and suddenly the girls at the desk forgot how to speak english.
A supervisor came out 10 minutes later. (note he was NOT the hotel manager). He confirmed what we suspected, the room we were brought to was in fact not a junior suite. He said they were not available - even though we booked for 6 nights and booked 3 months earlier.
At first we were offered the Presidential Suite.............at an additional cost of over one hundred dollars per night. We refused and in the end settled on the original room, which was more than adequate, at a small discount.

The truth is, had we had other options I would have checked into another hotel (Sofitel) but we were kind of out of options. Foreigners from Canada that don't speak spanish.

While certain other concessions were made to us during our stay, we cannot ignore the fact that we paid a premium for a junior suite and were placed in a superior room, and they had hoped that we wouldn't notice the difference and pay as per our reservation.

During our stay we asked to speak to the manager - 6 days in a row. Not once did he ever attempt to contact us. Very disappointing. The only helpful person was Alvaro and he should be commended.

Worth noting is that the hotel is really beautiful. The rooftop pool is priceless and a great place to relax in the sun. The food was good too.

A final hoorah for us was our luxury transport back to the airport. We were wedged into a tiny little yellow taxi. So, a wonderful reception capped off with a wonderful departure.

I am not a negative person. I am always looking for ways to complement service, especially when I travel. But what the hotel tried to pull on us was unacceptable.

So my message is beware of what you pay for at this hotel. You probably will not get what you think you have reserved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice - lots of character, but with all the modern amenities you'd expect. Service was good (friendly and efficient) and the food was good. But the main draw here is the location, which is hard to beat. The hotel is right in the old walled city, within a few minutes walk of virtually everything there is to see and do in the best part of town for tourists.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

First class! I booked this hotel after it was recommended to me from a friend and his Colombian wife. What a great call. I opted to stay in the old city so I could experience more of the Colombian culture (magic!) & history while avoiding the touristy congestion of Bocagrande. Gorgeous hotel,well maintained and decorated very elegantly. I experienced consistently great service from the time I checked in to the time I left a week later. The food at the hotel was superb. The concierge was extremely helpful. Front desk staff were exceptional. My room was spotless the cleaning staff kept it that way every single day. A nice touch was that each room was provided an ipad for complimentary guest use. Breakfast was very good both downstairs and roof top. Location was great, with a view of the ocean from my room. Surprisingly, not a single negative comment to pass on. Highly recommend!! A little bit pricy, but worth every penny. My reservation included complimentary breakfast for two every day, one complimentary dinner for two and a certificate for $60.00 for use at the spa. If you’re considering traveling to Cartagena and want a nice play to stay in the old city, go ahead… pamper yourself a little. This hotel is worth it. Be sure to take a boat ride to the Rosario Islands for turqoise green water, gorgeous beaches and fresh crabs & lobster.

Room Tip: If your room faces the front of the hotel, you may hear music from the bar outside if a band is play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

very nice classy and colonial hotel (former convent), the breakfasts are really amazing, the patio stunning, flowers everywhere, excellent service, the rooms are nice unpretentious and very functional. The pool is very decent (even if it's just a roof deck pool, you can really swim) with nice views. A nice place to relax and have lunch. I am usually really picky but I have to admit that this was a very nice stay at a decent price for this type of luxury hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Address: 31 - 23 Carrera 3 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#9 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Santa Teresa Cartagena
Santa Teresa Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.