We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor management/great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 23 Carrera 3 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 127 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Poor management/great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

similar to other reviewers, we found that what we had reserved through American Express was not what was offered to us when we arrived. After we had a discussion, they did 'upgrade' (tho this was NOT an upgrade as we had it confirmed to us as a deluxe room by AMEX) to a deluxe room tho it was the least of the deluxe. A nice room but there were no apologies and no manager to discuss this with. We had a reservation for 5 nights and finally got to who we thought was the manager on the 4th day - Others we saw were offered juice on arrival and other amenities but perhaps as we arrived on a Sunday, we were offered nothing. The man who showed us our room went off to check how to open the window only to never return and when we asked what happened when we went back to the lobby, we were informed that the windows did not open! English is obviously not spoken regularly as we were often avoided. We choose this hotel as it was a medium sized hotel which we thought would therefore provide us with a concierge service in English - but this was not the case. There was no concierge but only an outside travel agent who had a window to book tours. When we asked about any concerts or art events, we weren't given any information but found out later on that there was a large concert as a book fair commenced the day before we left but by then it was too late. It was inconceivable that they were not familiar with what turned out to be a huge concert in a main square and obviously a main happening that week. We also never received a wake up call which could have been disastrous had we not set another alarm on our phone.....just in case. The desk was also pretty useless with shopping recommendations - There was NO list of restaurants tho we got one from the concierge at a competing hotel across town!
The good news is the location and the upstairs pool - tho small for swimming - is delightful -
the food for breakfast and lunch was served beautifully. Very disappointed in the service at the hotel - but loved being in Cartagena nevertheless.

Room Tip: Try to get the deluxe rooms and GET IT CONFIRMED by the hotel as they do not accept the confirm from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    75
    29
    17
    11
See reviews for
49
137
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Beautiful choice for a luxury hotel inside the walled city. Perfect location (Sofitel is similar but on opposite side), great service, beautiful rooms. The rooftop terrace is amazing, and we could always find a spot. Were not that impressed with the food (then again, you should probably never order pizza in south america). The bed was super comfy, much better than anything else we'd experienced in Cartagena. Also really enjoyed having a balcony off our room (even with the standard room).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Let me first start by saying that the hotel is absolutely beautiful. The ambiance, decor, and location are perfect for a memorable journey to Cartagena.

We went to Cartagena on our honeymoon and decided to splurge a little and booked a junior suite. Our package also included "luxury" transport to and from the airport, breakfast, spa treatments and wifi internet.

Our hotel pick up was perfect and we were brought back to the hotel in a large van. The staff were ready for us with drinks and our room was already assigned and ready.
We were escorted to our room and immediately my wife and I looked at each other and both thought "this is not a suite". We called the reception to inquire and instead of being told we were right, we were instead offered not one but two other rooms - both smaller in size and both not suites. So we went down to the reception to discuss and suddenly the girls at the desk forgot how to speak english.
A supervisor came out 10 minutes later. (note he was NOT the hotel manager). He confirmed what we suspected, the room we were brought to was in fact not a junior suite. He said they were not available - even though we booked for 6 nights and booked 3 months earlier.
At first we were offered the Presidential Suite.............at an additional cost of over one hundred dollars per night. We refused and in the end settled on the original room, which was more than adequate, at a small discount.

The truth is, had we had other options I would have checked into another hotel (Sofitel) but we were kind of out of options. Foreigners from Canada that don't speak spanish.

While certain other concessions were made to us during our stay, we cannot ignore the fact that we paid a premium for a junior suite and were placed in a superior room, and they had hoped that we wouldn't notice the difference and pay as per our reservation.

During our stay we asked to speak to the manager - 6 days in a row. Not once did he ever attempt to contact us. Very disappointing. The only helpful person was Alvaro and he should be commended.

Worth noting is that the hotel is really beautiful. The rooftop pool is priceless and a great place to relax in the sun. The food was good too.

A final hoorah for us was our luxury transport back to the airport. We were wedged into a tiny little yellow taxi. So, a wonderful reception capped off with a wonderful departure.

I am not a negative person. I am always looking for ways to complement service, especially when I travel. But what the hotel tried to pull on us was unacceptable.

So my message is beware of what you pay for at this hotel. You probably will not get what you think you have reserved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice - lots of character, but with all the modern amenities you'd expect. Service was good (friendly and efficient) and the food was good. But the main draw here is the location, which is hard to beat. The hotel is right in the old walled city, within a few minutes walk of virtually everything there is to see and do in the best part of town for tourists.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

First class! I booked this hotel after it was recommended to me from a friend and his Colombian wife. What a great call. I opted to stay in the old city so I could experience more of the Colombian culture (magic!) & history while avoiding the touristy congestion of Bocagrande. Gorgeous hotel,well maintained and decorated very elegantly. I experienced consistently great service from the time I checked in to the time I left a week later. The food at the hotel was superb. The concierge was extremely helpful. Front desk staff were exceptional. My room was spotless the cleaning staff kept it that way every single day. A nice touch was that each room was provided an ipad for complimentary guest use. Breakfast was very good both downstairs and roof top. Location was great, with a view of the ocean from my room. Surprisingly, not a single negative comment to pass on. Highly recommend!! A little bit pricy, but worth every penny. My reservation included complimentary breakfast for two every day, one complimentary dinner for two and a certificate for $60.00 for use at the spa. If you’re considering traveling to Cartagena and want a nice play to stay in the old city, go ahead… pamper yourself a little. This hotel is worth it. Be sure to take a boat ride to the Rosario Islands for turqoise green water, gorgeous beaches and fresh crabs & lobster.

Room Tip: If your room faces the front of the hotel, you may hear music from the bar outside if a band is play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

very nice classy and colonial hotel (former convent), the breakfasts are really amazing, the patio stunning, flowers everywhere, excellent service, the rooms are nice unpretentious and very functional. The pool is very decent (even if it's just a roof deck pool, you can really swim) with nice views. A nice place to relax and have lunch. I am usually really picky but I have to admit that this was a very nice stay at a decent price for this type of luxury hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This beautiful colonial hotel (former prison and convent) is located at one of the main entrances to the old city of Cartagena - Colombia. This is a 5 star hotel, always aiming to please you. I've travelled the Caribbean (Puerto Rico, Cuba and Dominican Republic) and have not seen such a majestic and intact piece of history going live before your eyes! The entire "old" or "walled city" evokes a magical and vibrant history that you will live and experience with every step you walk. Fine restaurants, friendly people and the Caribbean weather await you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#7 of 127 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 127 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#28 of 127 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 127 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 127 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Address: 31 - 23 Carrera 3 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#25 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa is located whithin Cartagena's walled city, a UNESCO World Heritage site. With a privileged location that is blocks away from the Cartagena Convention Center and just minutes away from the contemporary city, the history, flavor and mystique of Cartagena are all found here, at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Jetsetter so you can book your Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Santa Teresa Cartagena
Santa Teresa Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.