We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cartagena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cartagena to your Saves list
Hilton Cartagena
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Almirante Brion | El Laguito, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$139 (USD)
Ranked #46 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Hayden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Sure the Hilton is great because it's a Hilton. Not exactly, we booked for two adjoining rooms nearly four months before the trip, however once we got there it turns out they gave the rooms to another family who came in early than we did. When we asked what could we do to be compensated for their mistake they promised us free breakfast, however this was never verified and we were pretty much told to go jump off a cliff. In addition, little things about the room were non functional. Several lamps did not work, the toilet was plugged, the balcony was lose. Not to mention the service was bad, more than once during our stay they gave us the wrong order.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mr. James.

We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Your comments are very important to us and we will take the appropriate actions to better serve our guests.

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    289
    109
    31
    19
See reviews for
179
192
44
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a great property; excellent location in the Bocagrande district of Cartagena and about a 10-minute taxi ride to the walled old city. On the beach with the best amenities... pools, spa, family-friendly--all you'd want. Food is pretty good onsite. Because its a bit dated (though they are completely refurbishing the reception area and lobby right now (July 2014), you are likely to find this good value for money if you're ok to put up with a few rough edges and very slight tattiness. Furnishings are quite new--this has been refurbished probably not too long ago. Ask for a corner room and you'll get a great huge balcony. Avoid the "lake view" rooms if you can. The multi-coloured very bright spotlights they use to illuminate the building at night can be annoying because no matter how you adjust the window blinds, some green or blue light peeks in. But otherwise its a Hilton so things are predictable. Comfortable rooms, beds, pillows, good amenities and decent service. At USD 220 a night with breakfast (and its a great spread), it is decent value for what is a generally pricey city.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with the big balcony and avoid the "lake view" rooms unless it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

As long as you don't mind paying cheap cab fares, this is a nice place to stay outside the Old City.

The breakfast buffet is great, the business center is convenient, and the rooms are comfortable.

The only thing to note is that the pool is popular, especially with families. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic hotel with a peaceful poolside experience, this might not be the place for you. If you have kids, it probably is.

My only disclaimer is that I'm usually a budget traveler, so my standards might be off. It seemed nice and clean to me!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A typical Hilton resort with not many other hotel choices in the surrounding area. The staff was very courteous and helpful, especially the executive lounge personnel and the majority of the front desk staff. The food was good in the restaurant but a bit pricey, as well as the laundry services. The pool was great and the security was top notch. I would like to say that Elvis in the executive lounge is the finest bartender around! And Lea at the front desk is the nicest Hilton employee I have ever met! Stay off the beach if you don't want to be hassled by the locals, and the spa caught fire during my stay. Other than that I would definitely go back for a vacation instead of the business trip I am reviewing now.

Room Tip: You will have to request ocean view or they will automatically put you on the city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Harrison

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Cartagena and highlighting the kindness of our team members as well as our pool complex. I will personally share your comments with Elvis and Lia, they will be glad to know you enjoyed their hospitality. Your feedback is important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back during your vacations trip to our lovely city.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

At the end of the road stands hilton Cartagena. Signs of decay are everywhere. In need of a major makeover. Executive rooms on 3 located above the party areas where noisy fetes continue past five am. Avoid that floor at all costs as the staff area little about you. In a town with so many great hotels why stay here? Read my other hotel reviews. I am an easy grader so my 3 is pretty bad for a hotel

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is really important to us and we thank you for sharing your experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you return to the area.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This Hilton could probably be helped by a facelift. Everything is functional, practical, and the layout of the multiple pools is great with kids. It's private beach is small and has very dark sand... It is far from the old city, but taxis are very cheap in Cartagena. The staff is incredibly friendly. We felt very safe as the hotel records the taxi information and room number of all guests as you leave. Just a little extra safe feeling in what is a very safe part of Colombia.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, Director General at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Cartagena. We are happy to know you enjoyed the warmth of our team members as well as our pool complex. Your feedback is very important to us, thank you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Cordially,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Beautiful sunsets on the beach. Never felt unsafe in the hotel area. Great walks around the hotel. Easy to get a taxi - don't rent a car because they drive crazy. English speaking staff was helpful. I have read some of the reviews about the pool area not being clean. When I was there the pool was clean and i am very fussy about a pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, Director General at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Mrs. Mary,

Thanks for choosing the Hilton Cartagena for your recent stay in our beautiful city! We are glad to know you enjoyed the helpfulness of our team members, strategic location and pool complex. Thanks for visiting Cartagena de Indias, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cartagena

Address: Avenida Almirante Brion | El Laguito, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#11 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#14 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Cartagena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hilton Hotel Cartagena
Cartagena Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cartagena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.