We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cartagena

Save Saved
You added Hilton Cartagena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cartagena
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Almirante Brion | El Laguito, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$139 (USD)
Ranked #39 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and overall it was a good experience. The rooms are fine, not modern, but with nice ocean/pool views. The bathrooms are along the same lines and could use some updating.

The pool was very nice and we spent a lot of time lounging, swimming and drinking at the swim up bar. Beware the beach! Although direct beach access is available from the hotel, the minute you enter the beach you are inundated with people peddling goods.

The executive lounge was nice and had lots of fresh fruits for breakfast. Pretty standard executive lounge experience.

Getting a taxi into the historic center of Cartagena was never an issue, and the staff was very diligent and safe when it came to sending you on your way in a taxi. Likewise, taxis back to the hotel were never an issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. It is good to know that you enjoyed our guest rooms view and pool complex as well as our executive lounge service. We would be pleased to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    219
    85
    25
    15
See reviews for
139
151
37
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Having read about the Cartagena Hilton in The Private Banker by Frederick Parsonage, I decided to stay there on my recent visit to Colombia. I found the hotel as described in the book. The rooms have recently been renovated and were clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. In the evenings,I sat on the same terrace where Iain price dined,a very pleasant experience. This is the only hotel in Cartagena with its own beach and the only hotel that I would consider staying in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton for your recent stay in Cartagena de Indias. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the warmth and helpfulness of our team members, as well as our renovated guest rooms and facilities. We would be delighted to welcoming you back on your future visits to our lovely city. We will get a copy of the book “The Private Banker”

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Has the best outdoor area. Can not beat there pool area. The location is the best you are in the middle of everything. And security is on top of things. This is my first choice for my trips to Cartagena

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

It is a real pleasure to read your kind comments. We are very proud to be your first choice in Cartagena de Indias! Thank you for highlighting our location, security service and outdoor areas. Please let us know when you are planning to come back; we will be delighted to welcome you once again.

Sincerely,
Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north america
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed on a business trip for three days, and notice that the hotel management is trying much harder. The hotel is now very nice.

I've had some horrific stays in the past two years, but now that competition is appearing in Cartagena, the Hilton is improving.

The room was nice, housekeeping was great, food was good. Overall, much better than previous years.

I'll return

Room Tip: Go for a corner room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

Your feedback is very valuable for us, We really appreciate it! We are delighted to know that our room renovation and team members service met your expectations. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Cartagena one more time. Please, let us know about your future business/leisure trip to Cartagena de Indias, we would be very glad to welcoming you back.


Cordially,
Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

After some days of staying in the old city with its energizing hustle-and-bustle and heat, I decided on some quiet time at the very nicely-located Hilton. I was greeted with the sound of the surf, birds chirping and a very comfortable room overlooking it all. Welcoming restaurant staff, a great shower (with terrific amenities) and a plush bed added to what turned out to be a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sandra

Thank you so much for choosing the Hilton Cartagena for your stay out the old city. It is very pleasant to know that our strategic location, facilities and service, allowed you to have the quiet time you were looking for. We hope to welcoming you soon!


Cordially,
Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We are a family of six, two adults an four children. We got just what we asked for, two connecting rooms which are getting harder to find. The hotel has a beautiful pool area! Breakfast buffet (included) was good with great variety of food. Nice gym! The beach was disappointing (not hotel's fault, though). Nice but could use some better maintenance (bathroom door didn't close right, faucet loose!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Mrs. Dannie

Your comments are very valuable for us, thank you! We have already taken corrective actions. It is a pleasure to know that our connecting rooms, variety of food from our breakfast buffet and hotel facilities allowed you to enjoy a nice stay with your family. We would be very happy to welcoming you back again.


Cordially,
Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Spotlessly clean. Excellent service and an overall lovely hotel. The men and women of the Hilton Cartagena care about you and the time you spend in their hotel. Please note that the pool area, while great for most, is not ideal for lap swimmers - for that - take your game up the street to the beautiful Hotel Caribe - great lap pool there.

As others mention - you're a good stretch from the old city - but relatively cheap cab ride. Hotel is in Boacagrande or so - very cool neighborhood - safe as the whole city felt. Walk around alot - nothing should stop you.

Hotel has a good spa and also a spot for manicures and pedicures - i did all this - very enjoyable.

Hotel main lobby bar makes some great drinks - but was just about empty the several nites i stayed at the hotel.

If you don't mind being out of the walled city (and i didn't) - there is much to be said for bocagrande and for this hotel - i absolutely recommend it w no hesitation. I'd offer up 4.5 stars - but alas, TripAddvisor does not offer that option.

Cartagena is awesome - this hotel is really high quality.

-T'Man 2013

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod A, General Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your valuable comments! It is very pleasant to know that you enjoyed the service of all our team members as well as our hotel facilities. Thanks for your recommendation. We will be pleased to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cartagena

Address: Avenida Almirante Brion | El Laguito, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#11 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Cartagena 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hilton Hotel Cartagena
Cartagena Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cartagena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.