We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akel House Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Akel House Hostel to your Saves list
Akel House Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   San Andres 30-28 | Getsemani Cll San Andres #30-28, Cartagena 130001, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not what I expected...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

After a few hotel searches and reviews I decided for Akel Hotel. I dint have the greatest experience due to some unfortunate situations but I'll start with the positives.

Pros:

Great Location / Inside Walled City
Staff is helpful / friendly / informative
New rooms / Modern Look

Cons:

Very very weak wiFi. That's where I draw the line when I stay at a hotel. Nothing will annoy me more than a place that claims to have wiFi and doesn't.

Air conditioner was weak and Cartagena is hell on earth when it comes to weather.

No emergency water supply. Water service was out for a full day and they dint have a back up. I'm unsure how often this happens in Cartagena but having no water mixed with the Cartagena weather is definitely a BAD situation.

Pricey compared to the hotels all around them.

I don't like to give negative reviews specially when the staff is friendly and helpful. I hope they read this review and fix those things that although they seem minor to some people like myself could define how my trip goes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Found this hostel by chance and what a great find. Brand new hostel in a great location, just off the main road, so much quieter. The hostel is very clean and has a lovely communal balcony. The helpful and friendly manager speaks English. This is not a 'party' hostel however restaurants, bars, clubs and the old town are very close. The hostel has 6 rooms, no dorms, with air-conditioning, fan and flat screen TV. Really can't recommend enough...this hostel was a gem!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

stayed here for four nights while in cartagena, brand new hostel altho no dorms just doubles and singles, its in a great location, have wifi, cable and air con, also has a kitchen, manager speaks excellant english and is very helpful. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hostel we stubbled upon, and were really glad that we did. It is a brand new hostel is a good location, clean and has an awesome balcony. The manager speaks English and is really helpful. This is a quiet hostel but a good price and close to discos. This hostel only have 6 rooms in total and all have airconditioning, and I think most have one double bed and one single. No dorms, sorry solo backpackers. Beautiful place

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akel House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akel House Hostel

Address: San Andres 30-28 | Getsemani Cll San Andres #30-28, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Akel House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akel House, is a small hostel located near to old town of Cartagena, this place is clean, quiet and secure. we are array of restaurants and coffe shops, and walking on the nearest streets you will feel the historical enviroment that Cartagena trasmit. the Akel House team is very nice and helpfully, so we will be looking forward your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Akel House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akel House Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.