We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what on want” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Anillo Vial Cra. 9 no. 34-166 La Boquilla, Cartagena 130002, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Depends on what on want”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel itself is nice and the staff is really helpful. It's a little off to the touristic area but cabs aren't so expansive. Was fun to walk on the beach in the morning, go in the water and then head back to the hotel pool. For lunch we would take a cab to downtown and spend the afternoon visiting the sights around there. We had dinner before going back to the hotel. I guess it's good to know that this is a great hotel for families, so... Too many kids around there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Lilacrp,

Thank you very much for your very positive comments about our Hotel. Really on that season the Hotel was chose by a lot of families, many people enjoying the beach in this area. On behalf of our team thanks

Please call us if need something for your return to Cartagena, we hope to be your host again

Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    90
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
75
63
10
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a poor hotel, service is non existent, no one speaks English, the tub wouldn't work, shower was poor and today there was a baby cockroach in my cereal at the breakfast buffet! Definitely not a place for foreign tourists, stay away from this place, thank god I am leaving here tomorrow

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Shoeby1,

We are completelly surprised and worried by the experience you had during your stay. Holiday Inn Cartagena is a full service Hotel with high service standards. We are checking carefully each points that you mentioned, since this is considered as a very important piece of information, and we are working everyday to improve our procedures and customer service. Please accept our excuses and commitments that to those embarrassing situations will not happen again.

Respectfully yours,

John Mario Villarraga.
Revenue Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 6 days 5 nights last august at this hotel. I choose it because I wanted a private time not caring about the noisy vendors around, thinking since it is away from the historical places I could find that peace. Well, Surprisingly this is a nice expensive hotel with a common public beach in front, full of noisy guys selling you stuff all the time.
I mean good facilities but if it is just to be inside a hotel I’d prefer to be in a cheaper place.
PS- holiday inn is one of the few places that charge for Seguro hotelero? Hotel insurance, and no clue what for. I have stayed at other places in Colombia and IVA was enough.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr Javicoev,

We appreciate a lot your comments, thank you for this oportunity to know your experience.

The Hotel is located on beach front, unfortunately the local trade affect the tourism in all beaches in Cartagena, we are working for developing strategies and improve this type of situations. In Addition the Hotel has organized an special area in the garden, near beach like solarium, away to the commercial activities,

Please accept our apologize for this inconvenients, contact us to reservations.ctghi@ihg.com. we like to know more details about your stay.

Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have just spent ten wonderful nights at this great hotel. I had reviewed all the reviews on this site and was a little worried by some mixed ones. But I am glad to say that the hotel was much better than I had expected. It is very modern and clean. The air conditioning in the rooms was great, allowing us to adjust it easily and the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. I really did not feel this was a Holiday Inn, and really thought I could be at an Intercontinental. Breakfast was great, and the pool was wonderful. It was never too crowded, despite us being there at a busy time. The staff went out of our way to make us feel at home. The beach was not the best I have ever been on, but I did not see any great beaches close to Cartagena. I enjoyed the hawkers on the beach, as it allowed us to buy cheap drinks and food.

Room Tip: Inter-connecting rooms were great and gave us a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear akf100,

I appreciate your kindness to have made these comments in which you highlight the service obtained.

It gives us a major factor in our quality of service managers, knowing such comments, in order to make the necessary corrections and maintain high standards of quality that characterizes us.

We hope to have him back soon!!!

Best regards

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a pretty good beach hotel in Cartagena. The beach itself isn't particularly crowded, though it's not a particularly gorgeous beach. The water was warm though, even if not a clear blue, and the sand soft enough.

As for the hotel, it's very modern and bright, with friendly and helpful staff. The room service menu is uninspiring, even if there are a decent number of options.

The biggest downside is the pool. It's tiny, and quickly overrun with small children if there are some families around. It's really a tease, as the L-shaped hotel wraps around another property that overlooks a couple of enormous, beautiful pools, so it's odd that so many of the rooms have views of pools that the guests don't have access to.

Also expect to bargain on the beach for everything. The good news is that there are people who will sell you anything you could possibly think of. Always ask first how much everything is, from beach chairs to food and drinks, and if it's more than a few thousand pesos (a couple bucks), get the price down to what feels fair.

Lastly, think hard about the location. This area isn't walking distance to much of anything, though there are a couple fun-looking local restaurants not far away. Most of the city's charm, great streets, and best restaurants are either in the walled city or adjacent neighborhoods like Getsemani, and the nicest beaches are generally a couple hours away via bus and ferry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest we appreciate your comments regarding to your last stay in our hotel.
We want to thank for your comments because all experiences of our guests are very important and help us to make the corrections in order to guarantee our hospitality promise.

Do not hesitate in contact us if you had another comment or suggestion.

Thank you in advance!!!

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

New, modern hotel right on the beach, 15 minutes by taxi (12.000 pesos - $7) from the old city of Cartagena.
Very tastefully decorated, great eye for detail; professional service throughout; excellent restaurant.
As of the time of this writing (December 2012), the beach is clean for at least a mile in either direction from the hotel. the sand itsnt white but kind of grey. The sunsets are just as nice though. There are some vendors on the beach, but vendors are a fact of life in Colombia, not just on the beach.
Btw, there is no beach near the old center...
An unexpected plus is the view from the rooms on the higher floors that don't face the ocean; they look out over an expansive swamp area with trees and mountains in the distance. Very pretty!
The only minor drawback: the hotel has no bar, except for the pool bar, which closes at sunset.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Brulsvend,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our new Hotel in Cartagena. The privilege location between Cienaga de la Virgen and the beach give us an special enviroment for relax in this Magical City, we are really happy you enjoyed it.

We hope you return soon, and let us the opportunity to be your host again

Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I just stayed at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros with 2 friends for 4 nights. We loved it. The hotel is absolutely stunning. The service is friendly and we had no problems. The pool was wonderful, very relaxing (the pool doesn't get deeper then around 4 feet so you can swim or wade). The gym was pretty good. The hotel is right on the beach and the beach is a lot less busy then Bocagrande. There isn't really anything around there except a restaurant a few doors away. It cost us 12,000 pesos to get to the airport and 12,000 to get to the old city. So even though it isn't close to anything it isn't far either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear WuSister,

Thank you very much for your reviews, we glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We are preparing new activities for close this year and summer season, we hope you come back soon


Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros

Address: Anillo Vial Cra. 9 no. 34-166 La Boquilla, Cartagena 130002, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our new Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros Hotel. It is our pleasure to offer you the most modern hotel for business and leisure, surrounded by a natural environment located in the north of the city at the exclusive area of Los Morros. It is a just few minutes from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport. We are specialists in providing security, quality, technology and excellent service.Just 5 minutes from the Rafael Nuñez Airport, with a spectacular view to the cienaga de la Virgen and direct access to the beach. You will enjoy our modern and comfortable rooms, restaurant, bar, pool, gym, parking, meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.