We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, reasonably priced, new building, nice rooms and facilities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Anillo Vial Cra. 9 no. 34-166 La Boquilla, Cartagena 130002, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Modern, reasonably priced, new building, nice rooms and facilities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Holiday Inn in Cartagena is about 5 minutes from the airport and maybe 10 minutes from the Old city; in an area with new and modern buildings without the bustle of Boca Grande or the Old City, where lot of commercial shopping and hotels are located.

The rooms are comfortable, very clean and up to date.

There are taxis conveniently at the entrance. We have nothing but good experiences with the taxi drivers who proved to be friendly and extremely helpful.

The hotel has a very nice pool and direct access to the beach, although Cartagena's beach, isn't much of a tourist attraction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    96
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
80
67
10
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel was very nice and the staff was very friendly. I enjoyed my stay there. It is a bit far from the old walled city but it´s worth it. Se los recomiendo!

Room Tip: Request a room with an ocean view. There are rooms with the Cienaga view and it is not as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and kids stayed for 6 days and we thought the hotel was very clean, excellent food, and the people couldn't be nicer. Totally go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear guest,

We are really happy to know the good experience that you had in our Hotel. Thanks on behalf our team, we hope a new opportunity to be your host in Cartagena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I was there for a weekend and enjoyed the beach and very new rooms. The gym has amazing view where you can do some work out looking the sunset. Food at the restaurant has good quality and decent price. If you want to go to the old city there are private taxis at the hotel charging the same 7 dollars so its safe and convenient. However it will take you some 20 minutes to get there....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Your opinion about the services is really important for us. On behalf of our team our thanks for sharing with us your comments and suggestions. We hope a new oportunity to attend you in Cartagena de Indias

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinseville, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

I reserved 3 rooms for my brother his family and my own. This particular Holiday Inn is less than a year old and located in an exclusive area of Cartagena, Colombia. The rooms, restaurant, pool and bars are top notch and only surpassed in excellence by the service and attention to detail of the staff. I recommend this hotel to anyone and back it with the fact my entire family to include 8 children, spent a life memorable experience here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

As I said in the title it's just another Holiday Inn, It is located putside de old city so be prepared to spend a lot in taxi transportation. The hotel itself is nice and clean rooms are confortable, but nothing special to coment. And the worst part of it is the wet zone since when you arrive to your room a get on the balcony you get the view of a cordeus swimingpool and wet zones, to get really disappointed once you go downstairs and see that area is from a private condo. And the Hotel's pool is just a little one in one side of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Gfranco14,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

It all began when I checked into my room, which had human (I think) vomit, all over the bed and nightstand area. Whoever stayed in the room before me had a rough time, as they apparently puked all over themselves and the bed. The room had otherwise been "made up", but the odor and chunks of partially digested food remained in plain sight and all over the area where one presumably sleeps, much of it plastered around the headboard and behind the mattress. I immediately contacted the front desk and asked for another room. They said that they'd get me in another room and in the meantime have the room re-cleaned.

Looking out the window I saw two stunningly beautiful pools and decided I'd see how well they could clean it while I soaked up some sun. Apparently, those are the pools for the adjacent condominums and they aren't open to hotel guests. Instead the hotel has a crappy small pool off to the side. Okay, I can live with a little false advertising.

What I didn't like living with was the fact that housekeeping didn't do anything to alleviate the vomit situation, and it took Holiday Inn Cartagena over 24 hours for them to get me a new room. So yes, I spent the night in a room that had human vomit and other unidentifiable bits of semi-digested nastiness! I slept at the foot of the bed, sideways, as far away as I could from the vomit remains, which by then were starting to turn darker in color.

Aside from the vomit room (the new room was fine), I also had numerous problems with the staff around the hotel. A waiter asked for a bribe, saying he would only charge one of us for the breakfast buffet if we paid him. At the (small, crappy) pool, we were charged one price for "house cocktails" one day, and three times the amount for the identical drinks the following day.

But the real adventure was at checkout, where I found over $360USD of extra charges on my bill, for a 4 night stay! There was everything from the "health insurance" to extra charges for a second person in the room. Yes, a King bed room is supposedly only for one person, and they told me that they charge more for two people. Well, not according to their web site, where if you select one or two persons it's the same cost. Also, there were tons of charges on my bill for food & beverage that I did not order or consume. When I asked them to produce the signed receipts for F&B bills they could only find three.

The front desk staff argued and argued over the bill, and I eventually almost missed my flight when I told them that they could either A) remove all the invalid charges and I'd pay on the spot, or B) take an imprint of my card, but I wouldn't sign the slip and we could figure it out later over the phone or email. They said, "okay we'll do the imprint" and then when I gave them the card they demanded that I sign or they wouldn't give it back to me! What a professional way to treat a platinum member.

So, I was forced to sign off on all those illegitimate charges, including the one night stay in the Vomit Honeymoon Suite. Thank gosh I paid with Amex, which is investigating the whole debacle.

I have contacted Holiday Inn corporate and they sent back some canned response and essentially do not care what goes on at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, which I find disappointing and a terrible reflection of the company.

If you value your money and expect sanitary habitation out of a hotel, *do not* stay at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, or don't say I didn't warn you!

[as an aside, this hotel is about 20-30 minutes from the interesting parts of Cartagena, which costs about $7 in a taxi each way, if I could do it all over again, I'd have stayed somewhere within walking distance]

Room Tip: Choose one without vomit (perhaps by staying at another hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
It is very important to us as members of a chain with high international standards, improve our services every day and the experiences we provide to our guests. We reviewed in detail each of the situations presented during your stay to make the necessary corrections to ensure the improvement and optimization of our processes. It was very important for us to receive your comments and the opportunity for improvement that has given us.

Best regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros

Address: Anillo Vial Cra. 9 no. 34-166 La Boquilla, Cartagena 130002, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our new Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros Hotel. It is our pleasure to offer you the most modern hotel for business and leisure, surrounded by a natural environment located in the north of the city at the exclusive area of Los Morros. It is a just few minutes from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport. We are specialists in providing security, quality, technology and excellent service.Just 5 minutes from the Rafael Nuñez Airport, with a spectacular view to the cienaga de la Virgen and direct access to the beach. You will enjoy our modern and comfortable rooms, restaurant, bar, pool, gym, parking, meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.