We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP NOTCH!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Americas Torre del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Las Americas Torre del Mar to your Saves list
Las Americas Torre del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anillo Vial Cielo Mar Sector, Cartagena 1082, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“TOP NOTCH!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I'm from Cartagena and most of the times I go back home, I stay with family. This time was an exception as I was attending one of my dear friends' wedding which was help at the convention center at this hotel and thought it would be a nice experience to stay at the hotel.
I can honestly say that it was a phenomenal experience. Room service, Spa, restaurants were all fantastic!! The hospitality was TOP Notch!!
When traveling to Cartagena, put this hotel on your LIST!!!

Room Tip: Try to get Ocean View to enjoy the beauties of Cartagena
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    131
    57
    17
    3
See reviews for
90
83
10
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

Few times do I take the time to write a review, this time not only does the hotel deserve an amazing review a 100%, but I want to let travelers know what a magical place this hotel is! Hope you get to live this experience soon!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Needed accommodation whilst caddying for my son in a three day golf event found on line as perfectly positioned between the two courses for event

However arrived late - directions through booking left a little to be desired - found place after a few 'non entiendo's'

Also no specific directions to Hotel Torremar from where we picked up the keys - also if you arrive out of hours do not try and put the key from outside in the obvious door to reception area- 5 yards to left very heavy wrought iron door wish glass and stairs visible through door - just little things that could have been better advised. Place looked closed up when we arrived 6pm local time no signage that entrance at the rear!

However once in accommodation very clean albeit sparse - fridge was useful but no tea coffee making facilities. Bed comfortable and clean fresh linens - sufficient toiletries complimentary for stay as well

Room service during two day stay was unexpected but much welcomed

Parking nearby

Restaurants very local and varied

Excellent value for money

Room Tip: Sea view definitely Current road works - diggers etc meant this stay noisy but obviously not alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

A beautiful hotel and friendly people are the first things you notice. There are nice shops that you notice on the way to your room which will have a window that opens to the beach and the ocean. There are multiple swimming pools and a weight and exercise room that is more than you expect - even from a hotel of this stature. I was here on a business trip but I will be introducing my wife to this hotel on our next vacation.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good and the views are fine in both directions. Pick city or ocean, you will li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The resort (I stayed in the new Torre del Mar) is very pretty, comfortable, and modern. The room itself was well-appointed and well-stocked. I especially liked the bathroom - the shower was great with the two shower head options, and everything is very modern and clean.

I had an ocean-front room that allowed me to have a great view of the sunsets in the evenings as well.

I did not visit the beach after reading others reviews, but as others have said, you are not dealing with the turquoise waters you might find in the DR, Jamaica, or even Miami. That said, the pools are beautiful and warm - especially the 10th floor infinity pool. My only complaint would be that they don't open till 8am, which makes an early morning pre-breakfast swim a bit hard to get in (the sun was rising at 6am when I was there).

The food was okay, never perfect. The hotel is also a fair distance away (15 minute drive) from the walled city, and a bit of a walk to the closest store to buy water. However, the hotel is a very short drive from the airport. So, if you're looking for a relaxing trip away from it all, or for a nice place to stay during a business trip to Cartagena, I can suggest this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-front room if you can - the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This was a very nice hotel, not unlike the many hotels in Cancun, as an example. The beach is super wide and the ocean was super warm. The beaches in Cartagena are of dark sand, but it was very clean. Not much entertainment provided by the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms faced the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The beach is the best in all Cartegena, you can walk for almost a mile in front the hotel and never feel unsecure because of the hotel guardians, even in early night. The hotel design is also a thing to be admired, they have exhibit local artist paints in the common areas as in the bedrooms, the king size bed is comfortable, the food is a mix of international and local recipies, I love it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Americas Torre del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Americas Torre del Mar

Address: Anillo Vial Cielo Mar Sector, Cartagena 1082, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#16 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#24 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Americas Torre del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Paradise. Rediscover your life in Cartagena de Indias, the city of unforgettable sunsets, endless nights and the astonishing Caribbean Sea while exploring the charms of Las Américas Resort y Centro de Convenciones. The renovated Las Américas Casa de Playa hotel, the new Las Américas Torre del Mar hotel and the 2,000-person capacity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Americas Torre del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Americas Torre Del Mar Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Americas Torre del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.