We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not close to city center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Americas Torre del Mar

Save Saved
You added Las Americas Torre del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Americas Torre del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anillo Vial Cielo Mar Sector, Cartagena 1082, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not close to city center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is nice but it is a little removed from the action. I thought it was going o be closer to the city center. There isn't anything to walk to from this hotel. Being this was my first time to Cartagena I would have preferred to stay in a hotel that was in the city center.

This hotel does have great pools and access to the beach. The staff are extremely helpful.

This is a great place for a family. But if you are single or traveling alone and looking to hang out, this isn't the hotel for you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    110
    53
    15
    3
See reviews for
82
73
9
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Torre de las Americas resort consists of 2 hotels, which of the Torre de las Americas is very new and modern.
It has multiple pools (one adult only) so there is something for everybody, slides for the kids and great view for adults.
Breakfast buffet is nice and the gym is nice, big and well equipped with modern maschines and weights.
Some of us had a room towards the street which was loud but they could change their room.
A very good option if you travel with kids and also want to use pools, as for example the Santa Clara, which is the top hotel in Cartagena just has one pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaLasAmericas, Community Manager at Las Americas Torre del Mar, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Las Américas Torre del Mar as your vacation destination. Your comments regarding your stay contribute to our continuous improvement.

We are very glad that you loved our facilities, the beaches, spacious rooms and, of course, the pools for both adults and children. They were all specially designed for all personalities and atmospheres. We are also pleased that you liked the breakfast buffet and the great variety of local and international flavors it offers, as well as the gym with its cardiovascular and strength training machines.

Once more, please accept our sincere gratitude. We hope to see you again to welcome you at our hotel. If you wish, you may share your photos with us via e-mail or on our social media.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from a visit to Cartagena. We stayed at Las Americas and it was very nice. A note of caution, this hotel is not in Boca Grande or Old Town, but both are accessible in about ten minutes by taxi and you are on the best beach in Cartagena while there. If you are into water sports or Kite Boarding it is a world class place to be. The pool on the tenth floor is awesome and a great place to hang out. There are fantastic hangout spots on many floors where they have assembled cool furniture and artwork and you can just go online or talk or drink. The gym looks like a 24 hour fitness and I played on the tennis courts most mornings. This place seriously rocks.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the ocean and some face to the side. I had a room that faced toward Boca Grande and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaLasAmericas, Community Manager at Las Americas Torre del Mar, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest Paul,

We thank you for choosing Las Américas Torre del Mar as your vacation destination. Your comments regarding your stay contribute to our continuous improvement.

We are glad that you loved our facilities, especially our adult infinity edge pool on the 10th floor. We are also pleased that you liked our resort’s sports, including tennis, the gym and our water sports (jet ski, kayak, windsurfing, hydro sleigh, speedboat, water skiing, towable donut, towable long tube, sunfish and kite boarding).

Once more, please accept our sincere gratitude. We hope to see you again to welcome you at our hotel. If you wish, you may share your photos with us via e-mail or on our social media.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here over new year, and overall we were happy with the hotel. The room was large (spacious for a family of 4), clean and modern. The bathroom was good and the beds comfortable. We had a big balcony, but the room was not facing the road so we did not use it much. This place feels like a beach resort and there is a number of pools (including an adult only on the roof). The beach is nice, but the sand is not your usual white coral sand but quite dark volcanic sand. The food is very average (but the breakfast is good) and service is not quick or very alert (we had to wait for over an hour for a couple of soups). The shuttle to the old town has been discontinued, but a taxi is just 12 000 peso so that is not a big deal. The hotel also have a pick-up service at the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaLasAmericas, Community Manager at Las Americas Torre del Mar, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Las Américas Torre del Mar as your vacation destination. Your feedback and comments regarding your stay will contribute to our continuous improvement.

We are glad that you are delighted with our facilities, especially our spacious and comfortable rooms, as well as our pools and the beach. Regarding the color of the sand on our beaches, it is due to the flow of the Magdalena River into the adjacent city. Nonetheless, it is a beautiful, warm and clean beach.

We regret that while you relished our Caribbean breakfasts, you did not enjoy the rest of our exquisite cuisine. On the other hand, please accept our apologies if food service delays were an inconvenience. Unfortunately, the high season led to a great demand for our services. However, we have already taken steps to ensure this does not occur in the future. We currently have a Production Center which helps to make dish preparation faster and more delicious.

We hope to see you again so you may enjoy more of our resort. Please feel free to share with us your photographs and additional experiences at Las Américas Torre del Mar.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Checkin terrible: disorganized and lengthly. The receptionists are sort of confused and swing up and down rather sleepy, mixing the guests checking in and out. Porters are even more messy. Great service at the restaurant (evening or breakfast time), but rather limited choice of food.
The beach nearby dirty and unpleasant.

Room Tip: elegant and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A very nice recent building , an especially attractive swimming pool on the roof (10th floor) , an excellent formal restaurant at night ( Erre ) also on the roof . People generally nice and helpful . Suites are large , comfortable and clean .
The beach is penalized by the grey color of the volcanic sand and the lack of coral reef .
If you survived 9/11 maybe you will not appreciate the planes taking off or landing right in front of the hotel .
Details to be improved :
the breakfast restaurant is planned for handling a lot of people in a short time , that doesn't help the food quality .
It is not the best idea to have carpets in the lobbies upstairs , they already look so so.
The choice of drinks in the bar was disappointing , no Piña Colada , no Caipirinha ...

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I would only recommend staying here if you are going to Cartagena on business. And if you are going to Cartagena on business I would recommend the Hilton over Las Americas.
It is a nice big hotel on the beach. I did not use the pools but they looked great. That's about it.
It's not worth the price.
The service is so so.
The wifi is intermittent.
If you really want to experience Cartagena stay in the center. I recommend El Marques.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Americas Torre del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Americas Torre del Mar

Address: Anillo Vial Cielo Mar Sector, Cartagena 1082, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#15 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#23 Family Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Americas Torre del Mar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Paradise. Rediscover your life in Cartagena de Indias, the city of unforgettable sunsets, endless nights and the astonishing Caribbean Sea while exploring the charms of Las Américas Resort y Centro de Convenciones. The renovated Las Américas Casa de Playa hotel, the new Las Américas Torre del Mar hotel and the 2,000-person capacity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Las Americas Torre del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Americas Torre Del Mar Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Americas Torre del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.