We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Cartagena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Cartagena to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Cartagena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 9 # 35-104 Barrio la Boquilla, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It was okay....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My lasting impressions.....
Cartagena is trying very hard to compete with the other 'sunny destinations' like Mexico, Cuba, or the Dominican, but they are not there yet.
Our trip including flight from Cali Colombia to Cartagena Colombia and our hotel for 4 nights was about $600 CDN each. This also included our breakfast, but not lunch or dinner. The beach here was nice but we heard that the beach near the old city is packed with people endlessly trying to sell you stuff. When I arrived in Cali is was amazed how clean it was....however Cartagena is not as clean and the city reminded me a lot of India with garbage everywhere. The hotel was pleasant...nice service, good food, nice beach especially if you rent a tent and chairs, and well kept pools. The only negative was that I felt we were always looking for towels in our room and at the pool and there are no drinks allowed at the pools. Other than that I have nothing negative to say, however nothing really blew me away....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Respetado Huespéd, reciba un cordial saludo de parte de Sonesta Hotel Cartagena. Para nosotros fue un gran placer haber tenido la oportunidad de servirle; apreciamos sus comentarios y sugerencias. Para nosotros es muy importante conocer su percepción acerca de la hospitalidad que ofrecemos en nuestro Hotel pues de esta manera lograremos optimizar nuestras fortalezas así como detectar y corregir nuestras debilidades. Quedamos muy pendientes de su próxima visita a nuestra Ciudad y gracias por ayudarnos a perseguir nuestro principal ideal que es su absoluta aprobación y satisfacción.


Cordialmente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    64
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
54
45
2
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice hotel, clean and friendly. I was in business so I could not try it as I would like it, but what I love is that you have large pools and you dont need to fight for a place!. In fact they were allways with very few people if any. Rooms are spacious and modern.

The hotel is in front (50 metres walk) of a nice, warm and calm public beach. Just enough activity for not feeling alone, but not as other crowded hotels in its vicinity. And just besides there is a school for kitesurfing. Spectacular! (be prepared to spend 300 USD for an eight hours class and you are in no time kite surfing in the sea).

Be prepared to take a lot of taxis, because north cartagena is a new place with just some hotels and residences. If you want to go to downtown, is 15000 pesos or around USD 10. Take the taxis from the hotel; prices just the same. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Respetado Huespéd, reciba un cordial saludo de parte de Sonesta Hotel Cartagena. Para nosotros fue un gran placer haber tenido la oportunidad de servirle; apreciamos sus comentarios y sugerencias. Para nosotros es muy importante conocer su percepción acerca de la hospitalidad que ofrecemos en nuestro Hotel pues de esta manera lograremos optimizar nuestras fortalezas así como detectar y corregir nuestras debilidades. Quedamos muy pendientes de su próxima visita a nuestra Ciudad y gracias por ayudarnos a perseguir nuestro principal ideal que es su absoluta aprobación y satisfacción.


Cordialmente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Pros:
Two well maintained beautiful pools
The staff is very service oriented and goes out of their way to be accommodating
The rooms are nicely appointed
The free breakfast is delicious

The cons:
The beach access is dilapidated. You almost feel like you are walking through a junkyard to get there.
The beach itself is dirty, as is the water
We had some bad experiences with tour operator based in the hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear host, Thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for answering our service survey and for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question or comment. We are at your service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

We visited this hotel expecting the level of service and amenities of a global hotel brand such as Sonesta and the experience they promised in their website. Our visit was pleasant, the staff was very nice and helpful but the spa was not functioning because they had no staff, the hotel personnel was not really informed of the services the hotel offer or not. The breakfast buffer was good but not great and we often had the feeling we were eating the night before leftovers. The quality of the food was not what one would expect in a city known for its gray food. They really need to improve on this point.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear host, Thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for answering our service survey and for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question or comment. We are at your service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The hotel is located 5 km from the historic city. The beach in front of hotel is not safe after 6 PM.
The hotel has 2 swimming pools. Both very clean. But just one has bar service.
The rooms are wide and modern. Contras: it is possible to hear any movement pf the aisle and the clock alarms from the other rooms. The air conditioner turn on and turn off every 5 min. So, at night the room becomes warms and some times very cold. In the bathroom the shower had a low water pressure and several times there were no hot water.
The breakfast is poor and the quality of the food just ok. The lunch at the hotel restaurant is very expensive considering the quality of the food. But the service is great.
I had a problem during check-out when the I tried to use my credit card several times but we got the message of problems in the communication. Luckly I had money to pay in cash.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear host, Thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for answering our service survey and for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question or comment. We are at your service.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed here on business and was situated in a room on the 1st floor facing the highway. The rooms have floor to ceiling windows with Hunter shades. This still does not block out the sounds of truck and bus traffic that passes within 50 feet of the hotel front day and night.

As other raters have said, there is only one hotel tower, and the remainder are condo. The grounds are all concrete/graite/marble and the pools look nice but I did not get a chance to use them. The beach looked kind of desolate.

I used room service on arrival at 130am and it was prompt, good food and price. The free breakfast was more than adequate, and the restaurant and bar had friendly service and great prices.

This is a great hotel if you have business at the airport, have a layover, or are attending a conference at the conference centre nearby. No shopping around.

The room was modern with large screen TV, good a/c system, comfortable bed and nice washroom facility. On my second day the towels from day one, and bath mat were not replaced so I had to use day 1 hand towel and the extra bath towel (didn't notice until 5am). Te wifi works in the room but is better in the lobby bar, and it is FREE!

To sum up, for business, it is great...get a high levele room facing the beach and take some ear plugs.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear host, Thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for answering our service survey and for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question or comment. We are at your service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

One of the newest hotels in Cartagena but you actually don't feel in Cartagena. Three huge white towers, two apartment buildings and the hotel, in a new neighborhood. The old town is 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi and there is no place to walk to in the neighborhood. So, if you're looking for the feeling of old town Cartagena, with its little streets and colorfull houses, this is not the place to go. But if you want a modern, huge hotel, with three swimming pools, and a little less expensive than the old town maybe you might consider it. Maybe for families with little children it is a nice option. The beach is not very nice but then again you don't really go to Cartagena for the beach. It just opened so there's lots of things that don't work as expected yet. Rooms are spacy, in very modern, clean, simple lines. Nice bed, mini bar and a desk. But no light on the desk, so not good for working. Each room has a balcony and huge windows. But you look at the other towers, not really the sea. The huge windows is nice but, maybe I'm not that modern, having them in the shower looking at the street or looking into the other towers' toilets was weird. And don't take a room towards the street, it is really noisy. The rooms at the back are less noisy but isolation is not very good so you will hear everything your neighbor does. And the air conditioning sounds like a truck, which coupled with very warm blankets does not really help sleeping. The conference room was nice, but had no bathroom so you had to walk to the reception which is not in the same tower. Air conditioning system in the room just stopped working one afternoon and, in spite of all the technicians that came, finally they had to bring in fans. Wifi is free but doesn't work most of the time. Not to mention they kept on their construction work during part of the time we were there, making discussion really hard. Breakfast was just ok, not many fruits, and long time to make a couple of eggs. But keep in mind it's brand new, so, hopefully they'll improve these details.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear host, Thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for answering our service survey and for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question or comment. We are at your service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cartagena

Address: Carrera 9 # 35-104 Barrio la Boquilla, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cartagena 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GHL HOTELES ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.