We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo del Oro Zenu

Museo del Oro Zenu
Centro, Calle 33 # 3 - 123 | Plaza de Bolivar, Cartagena, Colombia
6600778
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Museo del Oro Zenu like an insider
Top Rated
$74*
and up
Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO...
Ranked #19 of 98 things to do in Cartagena
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had a chance to take a quick look at this museum during my stay in Cartagena. My guide suggested a visit and I became interested and decided to visit. It was certainly interesting. It shows lots of gold pieces from ancient times manufectaured by the indians in South America.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    310
    137
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SARASOTA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“check out the history of the Zenu as well.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

the museum is free and the history of the Zenu and their farming, fishing, irrigation systems are all very informative.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This lovely small museum has some pieces that are just as good as in its sibling in Bogota. The museum is small, the gold and other exhibits are carefull exposed (same architect as in Bogota) and the explanations. Do visit and again be thrilled by the workmanship and good taste of the goldsmiths!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“it is free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

i like everything is clean ...free to enter , closet to everything almost all the museum and place to ride bike, take picture,hotel, beach

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martin
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Small but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I would recommend this museum only if you are interested in history..if not forget it. Our family found it most enjoyable..it is free and we were offered a guide who failed to show. Didn't matter as the exhibits have explanation sheets...the movie presentation was excellent. Educational and interesting museum albeit on the small side. As a side note the 'tour guide' may try to take you off to buy replica jewelry, but this is common in Cartagena and a polite 'no thanks' will suffice.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Oro Zenu also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Museo del Oro Zenu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo del Oro Zenu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.