We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable hostel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Roque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Roque to your Saves list
Hotel San Roque
Calle de la Media Luna No. 10C - 48 | Centro Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 127 Cartagena B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable hostel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed here for two nights. Our room was clean and quiet (helped by the lack of any windows) with good air con and a decent shower. Definitely felt more like a hostel than a hotel as it claims. There were plenty good, cheap restaurants nearby and a lively nightlife as it seemed to be the backpackers' area of town.
Good for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    15
    3
    9
See reviews for
5
43
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South America
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Friendly, good value place with lots of character - it's converted from an old colonial style house with a higgledy piggledy layout - although not unpleasant, it means few rooms get natural light, but this is common in old colonial houses. There is wifi, but you sometimes have to leave your room and go into one of the common areas (which are very nice) to get a good reception. It is on an up and coming, slightly Bohemian street with lots of other hostels and bars and cafes - the steet has lots of character, but it is a little rougher than the historic walled centre, which is 5-10 minutes walk away. I paid about £28 or $43 for an air-conditioned double room, with a very basic breakfast. The only negatives were the breakfast was a little too basic and I got bitten by insects during the night - mosquitoes I presume - and water kept building up on the air conditioning unit and blowing a fine spray on my face. If you've got a big budget, stay in a luxury place in the old historic centre, but otherwise you can't go far wrong with San Roque.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning. Cartagena gets very humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was such a gem. Not only was it lovely but it was also quite cheap as well. The staff were lovely and although they didn’t speak English they were most helpful when we tried to ask for information or additional blankets with our Spanglish. They also booked our transport to take us to Santa Marta. The room was a good size with lovely furnishings and was very clean. It was a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of Cartagena. Breakfast was simple but adequate. My only negative comment was there was building work going on in the room next to us and it was sometimes quite loud. This wasn’t a problem for us though as we had ear plugs.

Room Tip: There isn't any hot water however I was so hot that I found it refreshing. Also our room was los...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Small rooms but clean and comfortable if you have one with aircon, no windows so no natural ligth.
Walking distance to the Walled city, there are cheaper options close there but in the hot Cartagena the aircon is the difference.
Breakfast was very basic but you can go to many places near the hotel for cheap eats.

Room Tip: Choose ine with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights, the Staff was always super friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was always fresh and with tons of coffee to spare.

The hotel is in a great location, and not as loud as others. This is not a party hostal / hotel so if you are looking for a good nights sleep, Hotel San Roque is the palce for you.

Room Tip: A very short walk from the closest Supermarket. There is a communal kitchen in the hotel. No parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a double room which was rather spacious, though not all of them were.
We also haggled to get the price down a little.
Breakfast was good.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Laundry service was excellent!
Located at the end of Gatsemini, a little far from the center.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have been staying at San Roque now for 5 days after moving from Hostal Real. We popped into every hostel on Calle Media Luna (there are many!) to check prices and rooms and San Roque and Mamallena were the stand outs for the price.

As we are trying to keep to a budget we went for the cheapest, smallest private room $44,000 per night with fan and thought we would upgrade to aircon if need be, but we haven't needed to.

Breakfast is included each day including cornflakes, yoghurt, juice, bread and arepa con huevos (deep fried pastries with an egg in the middle) and there are some nice airy living spaces on each level with good Wifi access.

The rooms and bathrooms are clean and have nice touches and better linen than many places we have stayed.

The kitchen is small but usable, and the family and staff are seriously friendly and helpful.

If I came back I would definitely stay here or at Mamallena's.

Room Tip: For our little room (Las Puntales) my tip is to use a mosquito plug at night. If you have an air-con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Roque

Address: Calle de la Media Luna No. 10C - 48 | Centro Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Roque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.