We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in the middle of nowhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karmairi Hotel Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Karmairi Hotel Spa to your Saves list
Karmairi Hotel Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Via Manzanillo Del Mar, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in the middle of nowhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel was average. The facility is nice, the decor is hip, and the staff was great, but there were just too many other things that I felt were lacking.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so much so that the only restaurant that you will be eating at is the one in the hotel, and it's overpriced relative to other great restaurants in and around Cartagena. There are also a lot of bugs... not in the room or anything, but if you try to walk the beach out front or sit out on the patio and take in the view, you will be eaten alive without bug spray (thankfully the staff has this on hand). Also, don't stay in the far rooms on the back side. The walls in the rooms don't extend all the way to the ceiling, so you can hear everything going on outside your room (neighbors in the bathroom), and everyone can hear everything going on inside your room (sorry, no romance here).

But this hotel did have some things going for it: cool decor, really nice pool (hard to find in CTG), fantastic staff (they anticipate your needs), and a laid back atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Online Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi,

We are glad you liked our decor and our service. We already are making changes in our back rooms in order to improve our rooms.

We hope you can visit us again.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    43
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
143
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Uncertain as to what to expect upon driving down a dirt road leading the a narrow alley, we were stunned. The hotel is beautiful, peaceful, and perfect.

When we first checked in, we were greated with an amazing Piña drink and cold towels (very refreshing), the lady at the front desk "upgraded" us. We went from a Standard Junior to THE suite; 301. The room is picturesque for a honeymoon. King bed over looking the water, double rain shower head, and a balcony large enough for entertainment.

The restaurant has plenty to offer, from vegetarian, to pescatarian, to steak and chicken. All of the menu options are innovative and utilize fresh fruit and vegetables from the area.

The bar has amazing drinks and everything is made to order. Be sure to order early and often because it takes time for each drink to be made. The Piña Colada is the best we've ever had.

The hotel has beach access with extremely soft sand and little dunes making it beautiful. Don't expect crystal blue waters though, the ocean has mud causing a brown color.

The pool is a sort-of infinity pool, with a graduating entrance.

The hotel is only 14 rooms, so don't expect a full resort setting. Its a small place but full of character and customer service. Wilmer was our waiter for our meals, and he was the best when it came to anything we asked for. The staff of ~10 was super friendly and wanted to make sure that we had the most relaxing experience possible.

When my fiancée asked for buenuleos and pondebonos for breakfast, the restaurant was not prepared to make these items, one of the staff members went to the bakery to pick them up.

The is a van that will take you to down-town Cartagena, if you can plan your flights around those transfer times, there wouldn't even be a charge for taxi or transfer fee.

We will be returning, this place is among the best we've ever been.

Room Tip: 201, 202, and 301 beach facing. Avoid 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Online Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi,

We are glad you got an upgrade to the suite, we do that sometimes in order to give our guests the best experiences in their lifes.

Our staff is commited to give the best customer service in Cartagena as we trained every week to make this possible.

We are glad you like all our hotel and we already are looking forward to have you here soon.

Have a nice day

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at this wonderful hotel. Our room was lovely with a great view of the ocean. The design of our room and the hotel in general was tasteful with lots of attention to detail. The staff was very friendly and attentive, greeting us warmly and quickly learning our preferences at meals, etc. We were very happy to be outside of the city and enjoyed a relaxing, luxurious few days there. The shuttle service to town worked well and we were able to go back and forth quite easily. In short, we loved this hotel and were truly delighted to have stayed there!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Online Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a great time at Karmairi Hotel Spa and our staff were very helpful in your stay.

We are commited to improve all the time and make better every stay here.

He hope you can recommend us with your friends so they can have the same experience that you lived.

Have a nice day

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel. Much better to be honest than website suggests. The place is very modern and has a great vibe. Rooms were really nice with a strong shower & small balcony. The food was really tasty. When we were there at the weekend they had a DJ playing as the sun went down. Great mix with the cocktails they serve. Very cool place. Big comfortable beds on the beach, very helpful staff. Good wifi. We did 4 nights here after 4 nights in the Old Town which was good combination. Wouldn't try do this hotel as base for the Old Town. They have a free shuttle but its half hour journey so better to do few nights in old town then come here for few nights to relax & means you can always go back to old town for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms at front better than rooms at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Online Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi,

He are happy you enjoyed your stay at Karmairi Hotel Spa. We are trying to offer more services and more activities so you can relax in front of the beach. That is why we have a beach club and where we have a DJ on weekends so you can sit and enjoy the sunset with relaxing music.

Our staff really appreciate your review and we will keep doing our best so you can feel like home.

Have a nice day.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I haven't even stayed at this hotel yet and I'm already turned off. If they're not a scam or a hostel, I don't know what to think based on their incredibly poor customer service and faulty website. I booked two rooms through their website and also through hotels.com but when I tried to confirm the rooms with the hotel directly, it took them a week to respond to my email (and NEVER answered their phone - tried calling from NYC for 5 days straight), and when they did respond, they told me that they didn't have any rooms available despite my email confirmations from both sources. I tried following back with calls and emails but they have all gone ignored. I am about to call Conde Nast Traveler and tell them to repute their good review of this hotel because I think they're terrible and don't deserve any accolades or business by that matter. They tout excellent customer service on their website which I find a big fat joke and big fat lie. I WOULD WARN YOU TO STAY AWAY AND BOOK ELSEWHERE!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Online Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi,

We are going to give you answers to each point you mentioned in your review. If you have any questions do not hesitate in contact us as you did before and we answer all your questions like we did.

Your friends booked two rooms and when you were going to book your room through our website, the system did not showed you rooms available as your friends already booked the rooms. Despite you knew about this you booked via hotels.com. For us it takes a couple of hours in order to update our availability in all our bookings systems so for that reason you could book via hotels.com

One of our managers contacted you via phone and after some minutes, Maria Alejandra could not talked with you because it was communications problems. Omar from reservations department contact you on January 18th and the conversation we had with you it was that we can offer you the sntadard premium room or the Suite Deluxe room with a 10% off, also we sent you an email so you can confirm via email. We do not understand your commentary about you could not reach us for 5 days if you booked on January 12th 2013 and the system sent you a confirmation number for your booking. Also Maria Alejandra contacted you on January 15th but we did not heard from you until January 18th.

We also sent you an email teling you we will give you the Suite Deluxe for the same price of the room you booked in order to apologize for not having the room you wanted, so believe we did all the best for you in order to book and stay at our hotel.

We hope to have you here and have a pleasant stay.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The good: Friendly, helpful staff that do their best to meet requests and offer assistance. Omar is especially good. Nice on-premises restaurant. Great shower in the room. Located right on the beach. Pool, spa, and bar. Free shuttle into town and back 3 times a day.

The bad: 20 KM North of the old city. Many taxi drivers are not familiar with where the property is, so you are somewhat reliant on the shuttle. We were upgraded to a larger room, which was nice but the room had many idiosyncracies that were bothersome. Too dark due to poorly chosen location for lights, noisy air con, a tiny refrigerator.

Bottom line: If you are in Cartagena to see the old city, I would not stay here. If you are there for a spa, ocean, hang out by the pool experience, Katmairi is a good choice.

Room Tip: 301 is huge and looks directly over the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Online Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi,

We really appreciate your review. We already took all your recommendations and we are going to make some changes in order to give a better service to our guests so they can feel like home.

Relating our location, our concept is a hotel spa so we are away from Cartagena so you can feel in peace and enjoy the nature, Although we are quite far from Cartagena and we offer free shuttle, the taxi drivers are familiar with the area, but we are going to have a meeting with reception so we can give better instructions to our guests so you can go and come back to the old city at any time.

We hope you can come over again and see for your self our improvements.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in December after 2 nights in the city. The place is just stunning, with tons of different types of seating to try out! It is super clean, and there are always staff around plumping pillows, sweeping, etc. It is a lazy kind of place with nothing "to do" which was fine with me. Reading, lazing in the pool, walking on the beach and eating took up all of our time. Although I read the reviews on Trip Advisor, I was not expecting this resort to be as nice as it was - it is truly an oasis! My massage was really good too.
The food was good - not fantastic, but as New Yorkers we can be pretty critical. I did wish they had a happy hour so hotel guests could come together, but no big deal.
The staff is amazing - I cannot say that enough. Everyone is there to serve you (as it should be, but never is) and it is all with a smile. Oh, yeah, our room was lovely too!

Room Tip: Get a room in the front building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Online Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi,

We are extremely happy as you spent a quality time here. Karmairi Hotel Spa is a place to relax all the time and enjoy the view and every single corner of our hotel.

We are going to improve even more in our spa area so we can have happy people like you at our hotel.

We hope you recommend our hotel to other people in your city and spend the best time in their lifes.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karmairi Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karmairi Hotel Spa

Address: Km 3 Via Manzanillo Del Mar, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#6 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#24 Business Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Karmairi Hotel Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Using our main resource, water, Karmairi Spa show a comfortable space full of relaxation and healthiness, where our guests can find themselves and enjoy Cartagena. Come and enjoy our private beach and all the spaces that Karmairi Hotel Spa has for you. Enjoy the Caribbean in Colombia with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Karmairi Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karmairi Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karmairi Hotel Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.