We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Perla

La Perla
4 - 42 Calle de Ayos, Centro Historico, Cartagena, Colombia
6642157
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 356 Restaurants in Cartagena
Cuisines: South American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Very good. We shared several entrées, all delicious. Main courses also very good. No special suggestions because everything was great.
Cartagena is beautiful but it is suffering from its success, everything is absolutely flashy and overpriced. But this restaurant is a great exception. Small, not pretentious and great food.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    89
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We ordered peruvian ceviche, tiraditos de pescado with yellow aji, arroz caldoso and some other rice, everythign was amazing, they really know how to do it. Service is great, portions are good... I would say this is a must in Cartagena.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The best Prawns I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I ordered a caipirinha that was very good if not a little too sweet, as are most things in this world.
The ceviche was excellent. And THEN there were the prawns on a pumpkin mash of sorts.
It was one of the best dishes I've ever had, anywhere. What a nice surprise in a city that didn't prove to be very impressive on it's culinary front.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Horrible main courses -- stick with their ceviche”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

After reading about it in Food & Wine, and great reviews on Trip Advisor, we were very disappointed with La Perla. Although the meal started out fine, with a very good Peruvian style ceviche and nice bottle of rose wine with a hint of bubbly, the main courses were bad. We ordered two different fishes -- a sea bass and a tuna, which were both not fresh and lacking in flavor. The tuna was accompanied by some pesto rice that also lacked flavor. If you do decide go to La Perla, stick to the ceviche and avoid the fish main courses like the plague.

The decor seemed like some amateur with a low budget was trying to create a trendy space. We sat in uncomfortable plastic chairs -- not of the fashionable Kartell variety, but more of the backyard or patio type that you don't care if it gets ruined by the weather. To keep our wine chilled, the waitress placed it in a plastic bucket -- the kind you would use when mopping a floor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Try the shrimp ravioli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

So I don't become repetitive I'll say that everything was good in here, service, drinks, location, decoration. The sea food ravioli was delicious, I wanted to lick the sauce out of the plate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perla also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.