We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Even better service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Di Silvio Trattoria

Di Silvio Trattoria
Getsemani, Calle de la Sierpe N0 9A-08 | Bocagrande, Carrera 4 5-188, Cartagena, Colombia
+57 5 6602205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 404 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The best of Italian pizza and pasta in the heart of Getsemani, Cartagena de Indias. Open tuesday to sunday from 18:30 to 23:30. If monday is a Holiday it remains open and we close the next day.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food! Even better service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We loved this restaurant! The waiter as well as the co-owner were just soooooo nice! They made the experience just 10 times better! The restaurant was packed so we had to wait about 15 minutes for a table. One of the owners went out of her way to get us folding chairs so that we can sit while we waited. She just seemed genuinely concerned for us the whole time. The waiter was efficient and helpful. We ordered a caprese salad and a pizza. Both plates were delicious. And we had wine for only $7K pesos each glass which is about $4US dollars. You just can't beat good food, good ambience, good service and good prices! :) I would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    126
    26
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Sit back and enjoy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Agree with fellow reviewers below, lovely place, great value, fab setting in the heart of action. Our waiter forgot that we ordered a lasagna which was very lucky as the pizza was filling enough for two :) The only minus- our starter of 'marinated mushrooms' seemed to be a pizza topping cooked mushrooms served with lemon juice, which felt a bit cheeky for the price. Pizza much better than at the Cafe de la Trinidad opposite. Overall, looks like the management is looking after the place well and going in the right direction.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I went there a few weeks ago, and the food is really amazing and it is not expensive at all and the staff was really attentive, the fact that it is located in one of the most traditional neighborhoods of Cartagena (Getsemani) only makes it really special to visit, because you feel like you are immerse in the culture having the opportunity to share with locals. It is an excellent option to go either with family, friends or your couple, you wont regret it.

I have a romantic date with my boyfriend, and the environment is juts perfect.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicius pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Delicius pizza & natural juices. The prices are very good. The food took a little time but the place was full.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercejamelia, Owner at Di Silvio Trattoria, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Erik, thanks for your nice comment. We are trying to improve our response time when the restaurant is full by making big changes in our kitchen infrastructure and funtionality. Hope to finish in a month. In the meanwhile we ask for a little patience to our costumers. So we appreciate the understandig you showed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family dining 'al fresco'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited with three friends and we managed to secure a table outside (on the pavement would you believe).This added an amazing dimension to the experience. Not only was the food superb, but you could experience Getsemani in all its Bohemian splendour as you ate.

We started with an "Antipasto misto" shared out amongst the four of us - mouthwateringly good. The "Funghi Marinati" and the "Calamari" were really excellent all delivered to the table hot and ready to be devoured.

Main courses: my friends had pizzas which were every bit as good as those in the south of Italy. I had the "Scallopini al Vino" which turned out to be strips of fillet steak cooked to perfection and served with a mushroom and wine sauce on the side. I must say that the mushroom sauce was to die for, fantastic flavour with just enough Marsala added to enhance the flavour of the cream and mushrooms without overpowering it.

We had a couple of bottles of "Vino Pascua" - reccomended by my local friends - which complimented the food perfectly.

Given that the total all in cost was only COP 235,000 (or around £90 sterling) it was excellent value for money. You just couldn't eat for £22.50 a head in the UK and hope to get anything even close.

Yes you can sit 'inside' but on 'local' advice we chose a table on the pavement outside. Not only is is much cooler, but you get to see all of Getsemani's nightlife as it passes by. This is a "must visit" restuarant for any visitor to Cartagena.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercejamelia, Owner at Di Silvio Trattoria, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We feel so happy to know you had such a good time in our place. Thanks for you comment and hope to see you soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Silvio Trattoria also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Di Silvio Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Di Silvio Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.