We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest - Beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Allure Bonbon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Allure Bonbon to your Saves list
Allure Bonbon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Arsenal 10-32 | Getsemani, Cartagena 20232, Colombia (Formerly Arsenal Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$151 (USD)
Ranked #61 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Pereira, Colombia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dishonest - Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My problem isn't with the rooms, the facilities, the noise outside, or the construction in front of the hotel - I'm writing the review from the room, it's very comfortable and we like it. My problem is that the hotel did not honor the reservation I had made on booking.com over a month earlier. We arrived this afternoon at 1pm and was shown to the room, but it wasn't the 34 sq meter deluxe double room with a separate living room that I had booked. It was a standard room. We returned to the front desk and showed the confirmation and the discounted price of COP$214,400. They called the manager who said they can't give us the room for that price because it's too low for a deluxe room. We returned an hour later to speak to a different staff member. We showed him the same confirmation email and I even brought up the booking.com page for the hotel's rates for tonight on my phone, confirming the COP$214,400 for a deluxe double. He quickly told us the rates are a mistake and the hotel doesn't control the rates on booking.com - a complete lie because it's clearly written in the booking.com terms and conditions that the hotels control all information and rates. He said he would call the manager again to get back to us about the room. We've returned from our day out and dinner and it's now nearly 11pm and have not heard one word from the manager or anyone on staff. I travel to Cartagena often and this is the first and last time I will use this hotel. Absolutely disgusted.

Room Tip: Confirm the rates before you arrive. Don't let them cheat you out of the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not come here until construction is done on street. Have to walk 250 yards in sand and mud to get to and from hotel

Very messy. Tracked sand and mud into hotel. Only one entrance. TV did not work in one room so had to move to another room. TV did not work there. No rooms looking out side the hotel. Rooms very dark

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We stayed here as alternative to many of the higher-priced hotels. But don't get me wrong, we still paid good money for this hotel.

First of all, the road this hotel is on is under construction. We had to carry all our bags from the next street over and search for the entrance- which isn't immediately obvious. This hotel is on the second floor of a building and you must buzz to get in. The street looks like a natural disaster just occurred as it is littered with garbage from the many nightclubs on this road. It's isolated and disgusting, and makes for an uneasy walk at night.

Room was nicely decorated with comfortable fixtures. We had a first level room with windows facing into the hotel.

Staff at the hotel were hit and miss. We had some that were very pleasant and helpful. One staff member printed us a pixelated map of the area on the back of a scrap piece of paper. We couldn't even use it! He just shrugged when we told him!

Our room was extremely warm and we had 2 sleepless nights due to the air conditioner not working properly. After the first night we were told someone came from another hotel to fix it, but we noticed no difference. On the second night, it was so warm we had the unit on full blast to the point where we didn't hear the cleaning lady come in- while I was changing! I shouted and she told me that I scared her. Helpful staff the following day fixed the unit for us.

If you have allergies or can't handle strong perfumes don't stay at this hotel. The lobby and room scents are very strong.

All in all the hotel isn't the best, just ok. Rooms are clean. Breakfast os decent. I definitely recommend not staying here until the road construction is complete to avoid walking through what looks like Armageddon every day. Pay the extra and stay at Chocolat down the road or stay somewhere closer to the walled city.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allure H, Director Comercial at Allure Bonbon, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
¡THANK YOU!

Allure Bon Bon Hotel, by Karisma thank you for being part of our family

Dear guest

On behalf of all of our staff and management at Allure Bon Bon Hotel, we thank you for choosing us as your place to stay in the city. We are honored to have been able to host you as a guest at our hotel in Cartagena.

We just sent tis little note to apologize for any inconvenience during your stay, It is a district work and the most important thing for us is the satisfaction of our customers. Your comments are very important to us because it gives us the opportunity to improve our service every day and will make you feel happy in our hotel in a nearfuture.

Please be sure to stay connected with us on Facebook and we are infinitely grateful with you to share your experience at our website on trip advisor, we value the reviews left by our customers.

We look forward to hosting you to make your stay the best experience in town.

My best regards,

Karina Olano
Director of Marketing and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The hotel itself is great for the price. It is within walking distance of the Old City and in the cool neighborhood of Getsemani, a few blocks away from the hostels and a police station. The staff is polite and everyone put in effort to be helpful. Our room was tiny, and wifi in it was spotty at best. That wasn't the biggest problem. As i sit and write this review at 1:30am in the morning, the club below us is in full swing, blasting seismic waves of rhythm. We had specifically requested a room away from the clubs and I do believe the hotel staff did their best to accommodate us. It is not their fault the club is where it is. I think vacationers should be given a fair warning of what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allure H, Director Comercial at Allure Bonbon, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
¡THANK YOU!

Allure Bon Bon Hotel, by Karisma thank you for being part of our family

Dear guest

On behalf of all of our staff and management at Allure Bon Bon Hotel, we thank you for choosing us as your place to stay in the city. We are honored to have been able to host you as a guest at our hotel in Cartagena.

We appreciate your comments because it is a great opportunity for us to improve our service and provide you a better experience during your next stay.

Please be sure to stay connected with us on Facebook and we are infinitely grateful with you to share your experience at our website on trip advisor, we value the reviews left by our customers.

We look forward to hosting you to make your stay the best experience in town.

My best regards,

Karina Olano
Director of Marketing and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The main interest to be in this hotel is the proximity to the Convention center. Otherwise, I would recommend other locations. Nonetheless, the hotel is Ok, very friendly staff, quiet rooms, and is not far from downtown historic Cartagena.
There is not spa at the hotel, neither restaurant. The breakfast - served by the hotel staff - is ok, but with limited choices. Some of the rooms do not have any views to the outside the hotel building, being inner to the building; this is not nice.

Room Tip: Check the type of room and look for exterior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allure H, Director Comercial at Allure Bonbon, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
¡THANK YOU!

Allure Bon Bon Hotel, by Karisma thank you for being part of our family

Dear guest,

On behalf of all of our staff and management at Allure Bon Bon Hotel, we thank you for choosing us as your place to stay in the city. We are honored to have been able to host you as a guest at our hotel in Cartagena.

Please be sure to stay connected with us on Facebook and we are infinitely grateful with you to share your experience at our website on trip advisor, we value the reviews left by our customers.

We look forward to hosting you to make your stay the best experience in town.

My best regards,

Karina Olano
Director of Marketing and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I was there for 4 nights attending a friends wedding in Cartagena!!!! The hotel is awesome! the staff amazing! Mariano was super kind and always willing to help you! The hotel is always smelling like vanilla or chocolat (love it). The pool at allure chocolat was nice also! definitely we will back to this charming hotel!!! highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allure H, Director Comercial at Allure Bonbon, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
¡THANK YOU!

Allure Bon Bon Hotel, by Karisma thank you for being part of our family

Dear Mr. Felipe,

On behalf of all of our staff and management at Allure Bon Bon Hotel, we thank you for choosing us as your place to stay in the city. We are honored to have been able to host you as a guest at our hotel in Cartagena.

Please be sure to stay connected with us on Facebook and we are infinitely grateful with you to share your experience at our website on trip advisor, we value the reviews left by our customers.

We look forward to hosting you to make your stay the best experience in town.

My best regards,

Karina Olano
Director of Marketing and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was only one night here and the rest of my stay in Allure Chocolat.
This luxury small hotel becoming my favorite, Mariano was very charming and polite, the room was very clean, very good amenities, nice breakfast and alway smelling like chocolat, definitely we will back.
I love the bathrobes we had....

Room Tip: We had 401 very big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Bonbon, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
¡THANK YOU!

Allure Bon Bon Hotel, by Karisma thank you for being part of our family

Dear Mr. Jorge,

On behalf of all of our staff and management at Allure Bon Bon Hotel, we thank you for choosing us as your place to stay in the city. We are honored to have been able to host you as a guest at our hotel in Cartagena.

We´re glad to see these comments and know that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay at allure Bon Bon Hotel.

Please be sure to stay connected with us on Facebook and we are infinitely grateful with you to share your experience at our website on trip advisor, we value the reviews left by our customers.

We look forward to hosting you to make your stay the best experience in town.

My best regards,

Karina Olano
Director of Marketing and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allure Bonbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allure Bonbon

Address: Calle del Arsenal 10-32 | Getsemani, Cartagena 20232, Colombia (Formerly Arsenal Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allure Bonbon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is designed for the contemporary adults, who travels constantly for business or simply search the enchantment and magic that Cartagena de Indias can offer. It is located in the Zona Rosa sector of the city and only a few steps of the Convention Center, in the Getsemani district, near recognized discotheques and the old city, ideal site to initiate a walk thru the splendorous and fascinating sites of Cartagena. Its exclusive soundproof system allows our guests to enjoy the serenity and comfort of an exclusive and private atmosphere. Come and experience all the magic that Cartagena de Indias offers sleeping in Arsenal Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Allure Bonbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allure Bonbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.