We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de las Damas no. 3- 134, Cartagena 0000, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 113 hotels in Cartagena
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“A dream.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Casa Claver exceeded our expectations. Our apartment was beautiful, with two bedrooms, three flat screen tv's, a balcony that wrapped around the entire kitchen and living room, and a dining area. It is a great place for a family or group of friends to vacation.The terrace on the top of the hotel was something straight out of a movie. Truly better than the beach! The staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious and you could not as for a better location. I don't know why you would stay anywhere else. I wanted to stay forever!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    16
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
48
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A stunning hotel in a stunning city - words cannot do justice to how fantastic Casa Claver Loft is!

We had room 101, which had 2 separate double bedrooms and 2 separate bathrooms, and were blown away by it. Each room had a giant plasma screen tv as an added bonus, but the combination of natural stone, exposed brick, wooden slats and high ceilings created one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had! It wasn't so much a hotel room as a large 2 bedroom apartment oozing cool understated luxury, and the added bonus was our own private breakfast area beside the ground floor pool, which nobody else ever ventured into. As nice as this was, the roof terrace with pool and gardens sitting above this most beautiful city, besides the domed San Pedro Claver Monastery, with views over town and to the port, was like a mini garden of Eden - absolutely breathtaking! The only shame was that the roof terrace pool was out of commission until the day we were checking out, but we still managed to make use of it.

Breakfasts, both Colombian and American, were served at the time of our choosing, and were delicious.

The staff (notably Ivan) were very helpful with arranging restaurant bookings and taking care of follow up confirmations even after we checked out.

We only had 2 nights at Casa Claver before moving on to the Sofitel Santa Clara, and wished we had been able to stay longer - it was very difficult to drag ourselves away from it! I would be willing to cross oceans again just to stay here another time.

Room Tip: I would happily stay in Room 101 again - if I could, I would take it with me everywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great hotel. Nothing but good things to say about this hotel. Great location in the old city. Helpful staff. Gorgeous spacious rooms. Delicious breakfast. Could not have been better. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We picked Cartagena to celebrate my wife birthday and asked a friend who lives in Cartagena to look for a nice boutique hotel. Casa Claver was perfect. They gave us an upgrade for a loft and was like been home, you do not even feel been in a hotel, privacy, nice design, good breakfast excellent pool , nice view over the old town,etc.. downtown location , close to everything. My wife was very happy. NIce hotel for couples.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went to Cartagena on our honeymoon after hearing how beautiful and magical the city was from friends. After a lot of research, I booked Casa Claver as it received great reviews and seemed to be a much better deal than some of the other hotels in its class. We stayed in Room 303, which is a loft/apartment style hotel room, which was an upgraded provided by the hotel. The room came with an ensuite bedroom, a living room, a kitchen, and a separate bathroom in the hallway. While we appreciated the upgrade, upon entering the room, we were immediately hit by the fetid smell of decaying water - similar to the smell of a sewer. We noted this to the manager and asked for a different room (any room, smaller would have been fine), but were told that they were fully booked. So we ended up spending our honeymoon in a room where the sewer smell never really went away. We finally figured out that the smell came from the air conditioners - if we turned them off, the smell reduced significantly, but the room became unbearably hot and humid.
So we tried to sleep with the windows open, but this allowed in mosquitos and flies, as well as the smell of cigarette smoke.

Upon arrival, we found the fridge stocked with water and juices, and a little basket in the kitchen filled with gum, peanuts and chocolate. There was no sign or notice that there was a charge for any of these items, so we assumed that they were a gift of the hotel. However, when we checked out, we learned that this was what constituted their "mini-bar" and were charged double the price for bottles of water and drinks. If we had known that there was a charge, we never would have consumed the items. We noted to the receptionist as we checked out that they should make it more clear to customers that the snacks and drinks are their "mini-bar."

Our hairdryer was also broken during our stay, and our bedding always felt a bit damp.

While the hotel itself is nice enough, the sewer smell in our room really ruined the stay for us.

The PROS: amazing location right next to San Pedro Claver, very convenient. We loved the bar on top of the walls in front of the Charleston Hotel (I think it was called La Tasca del Baluarte or something like that), and a horse carriage ride is definitely recommended. Also enjoyed the SO/Spa at the Sofitel Santa Clara, and meals at El Santisimo and La Vitrola.

Room Tip: Avoid room 303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you are lucky enough to get the room (I think it was rm 400) off the rooftop pool and garden, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. My husband and I had breakfast (tipico or americana) everyday sitting in the garden. Even though the rooftop was opened to all guests, no one ever came up. So it was like our own private pool and huge garden/deck. The first night we arrived---coming from winter in Maryland---we took a dip in the pool in the evening. We listened to the sounds of a nearby concert while drinking wine and enjoying the warm evening breezes. So don't be turned off by the one flight walk up to the only room (on the smallish side) on the top floor. The ambiance of the outdoor space and the beautiful overall architecture makes up for any minor, minor short comings. The staff, especially Camila, were all terrific and very tolerant of our almost non-existent Spanish. Thanks to a friendly Canadian guest who recommended some great restaurants, we had a wonderful time in Cartagena! We've been home less than a week and I already recommended this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had the pleasure of an 11 night stay at this hotel property recently. We were extremely pleased with literally every aspect of the hotel and our suite.....location, very friendly and helpful staff, immaculately clean, well-appointed furnishings, very comfortable bed, relaxing rooftop deck/pool. As if this wasn't enough to be pleased with, breakfast to order was delivered each morning !!...we have travelled extensively throughout the world, and this hotel was absolutely delightful...we don't hesitate to highly recommend

Room Tip: Suite 201 was very spacious with a separate private eating area .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle de las Damas no. 3- 134, Cartagena 0000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 113 hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.