We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay - beware of some shortfalls” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de las Damas no. 3- 134, Cartagena 0000, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay - beware of some shortfalls”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went to Cartagena on our honeymoon after hearing how beautiful and magical the city was from friends. After a lot of research, I booked Casa Claver as it received great reviews and seemed to be a much better deal than some of the other hotels in its class. We stayed in Room 303, which is a loft/apartment style hotel room, which was an upgraded provided by the hotel. The room came with an ensuite bedroom, a living room, a kitchen, and a separate bathroom in the hallway. While we appreciated the upgrade, upon entering the room, we were immediately hit by the fetid smell of decaying water - similar to the smell of a sewer. We noted this to the manager and asked for a different room (any room, smaller would have been fine), but were told that they were fully booked. So we ended up spending our honeymoon in a room where the sewer smell never really went away. We finally figured out that the smell came from the air conditioners - if we turned them off, the smell reduced significantly, but the room became unbearably hot and humid.
So we tried to sleep with the windows open, but this allowed in mosquitos and flies, as well as the smell of cigarette smoke.

Upon arrival, we found the fridge stocked with water and juices, and a little basket in the kitchen filled with gum, peanuts and chocolate. There was no sign or notice that there was a charge for any of these items, so we assumed that they were a gift of the hotel. However, when we checked out, we learned that this was what constituted their "mini-bar" and were charged double the price for bottles of water and drinks. If we had known that there was a charge, we never would have consumed the items. We noted to the receptionist as we checked out that they should make it more clear to customers that the snacks and drinks are their "mini-bar."

Our hairdryer was also broken during our stay, and our bedding always felt a bit damp.

While the hotel itself is nice enough, the sewer smell in our room really ruined the stay for us.

The PROS: amazing location right next to San Pedro Claver, very convenient. We loved the bar on top of the walls in front of the Charleston Hotel (I think it was called La Tasca del Baluarte or something like that), and a horse carriage ride is definitely recommended. Also enjoyed the SO/Spa at the Sofitel Santa Clara, and meals at El Santisimo and La Vitrola.

Room Tip: Avoid room 303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    17
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
56
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you are lucky enough to get the room (I think it was rm 400) off the rooftop pool and garden, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. My husband and I had breakfast (tipico or americana) everyday sitting in the garden. Even though the rooftop was opened to all guests, no one ever came up. So it was like our own private pool and huge garden/deck. The first night we arrived---coming from winter in Maryland---we took a dip in the pool in the evening. We listened to the sounds of a nearby concert while drinking wine and enjoying the warm evening breezes. So don't be turned off by the one flight walk up to the only room (on the smallish side) on the top floor. The ambiance of the outdoor space and the beautiful overall architecture makes up for any minor, minor short comings. The staff, especially Camila, were all terrific and very tolerant of our almost non-existent Spanish. Thanks to a friendly Canadian guest who recommended some great restaurants, we had a wonderful time in Cartagena! We've been home less than a week and I already recommended this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had the pleasure of an 11 night stay at this hotel property recently. We were extremely pleased with literally every aspect of the hotel and our suite.....location, very friendly and helpful staff, immaculately clean, well-appointed furnishings, very comfortable bed, relaxing rooftop deck/pool. As if this wasn't enough to be pleased with, breakfast to order was delivered each morning !!...we have travelled extensively throughout the world, and this hotel was absolutely delightful...we don't hesitate to highly recommend

Room Tip: Suite 201 was very spacious with a separate private eating area .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here in room 401 the night before our departure from Colombia. Although it's one of the smaller rooms, we found it spacious, with a large comfortable bed. The shower in the bathroom was excellent. The room has a private balcony overlooking the hotel courtyard, and is just below the rooftop terrace and swimming pool.

We found the hotel staff friendly, helpful and courteous, and particularly enjoyed having our breakfast brought to the room in the morning.

The hotel is located in the main tourist area of Cartagena, close to museums, the marina and great many restaurants and bars. Overall it was a pleaure to stay here, and a shame we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have just stayed this weekend at the Casa Claver Brilliant location on a quite side street situated in the wall city. Great room with all the extra you could expect from agorgeous apartment with a balcony view. The rooms are super clean and the staff were very attentive. Breakfast delivered to your room at the time you wish it delivered.Thank you martha for making my stay really exceptional. Defintely coming back to Casa Claver on my next visit to cartegna.

Room Tip: Room on 3rd floof facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

This was my third time in beautiful Cartagena. This hotel would never disappoint but the various websites give the impression that it consists soley of lux apartments. So we were quite disappointed to be apointed a small room with no furniture. Not even a wardrobe! It is a great place and if the roof top pool is something you are going to use a lot, fantastic. However, the building itself has a rather industrial, dark feel, bereft of character features. For this reason I would rate Casa Lola above it. Despite not being a huge building it feels quite impersonal and I think that other hotels such as Casa Lola and Casa Hortensia offer something a little more personal in a more sympathetic restoration of a colonial building. In short, fantastic pool, great location, but I'd opt for another option if it's a room as opposed to apartment.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have stayed here twice. Both times were amazing. The rooms are super clean,well appointed and the staff is very attentive. It's perfectly situated inside the walled city. Camila will be more then helpful as well as the rest of the staff. Breakfast is delivered to your room at the time you wish it delivered. A very nice spread with more then you can consume. I wish I didn't post this because I would like to keep it all to myself. Swimming pool on the roof with a nice steam room and amazing views.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle de las Damas no. 3- 134, Cartagena 0000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.