We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large comfortable room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Casa Mara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Casa Mara to your Saves list
Hostal Casa Mara
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle del Espiritu Santo #29-139 | Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ramrod Key Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Large comfortable room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Hotel is in excellent location and is very secure. Included breakfast at Luna Nueva restaurant nearby was complete with choices. They also served lunch and dinner so that was a convenient choice. The room was large with tub,shower, TV, AC and fan and Internet was available. Service was excellent with coffee in the morning and friendly staff. The pool was excellent to cool off in.

Room Tip: Room in the back may be quieter but check the size. I had room 4 in the front that was large but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
29
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I was thrilled to see how lovely this hotel was when we first arrived. The small pool as the centrepiece surrounded by white arches and hanging plants looked so inviting. The room I had was basic but had air con and fan plus tv. The hotel is secure and quiet, with internet available and use of the fridge plus kitchen facilities. Diana is very welcoming and helpful giving me her hairdryer to use whenever I needed it. The hotel is close to everything and the best breakfast place, Cafe Luna Nueva, is just around the corner.
Would recommend to anyone wanting more than a youth hostel but needing to keep costs down.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Casa Mara is located in Getsemani, although an older barrio directly adjascent to the historic old city, it lies within the old city walls and has a rough rustic charm and is residential (especially the street Casa Mara is located on), which is refreshing, in contrast to the old city which is only inhabited by tourists, more expensive hotels and street peddlers. The area is relatively safe although exercise caution as always in Colombia. Casa Mara is a real "Casa" in hotel terms, not a backpacker hostel (no dormitory style rooms, although it looked like they can sleep up to 4 singles in one of the rooms), it offers free wifi, good air conditioning, ensuites in all rooms and access to a kitchen, a jacuzzi and not to forget the lovely pool as centerpiece. Casa Mara is a quiet sanctuary away from the hustle of Cartagena, Getsemani and Calle Media Luna (a busy thoroughfare) a hop and a skip around the corner which hosts several typical backpacker hostels which attract the usual backpackers as well as plenty of cafes and restaurants of various levels. We mostly ate at Cafe Luna Nueva around the corner which similar to Casa Mara offered excellent value albeit less quirky/trendy decore than some options attached to hostels but worthwhile for the backpacker wishing to escape the "backpacker bubble" and get a better value breakfast (we felt ripped off when we tried the other options) where locals will also be seen eating. Diana of Casa Mara was very hospitable, spoke English and arranged for food delivery and tours/transport for us upon request. Casa Mara also offered a laundry service and has a drinks fridge and shared computer at the main desk. We stayed in room 1, a spacious room directly adjacent to the pool yet private enough for a young couple. I could also recommend room 9 on the first level overlooking the pool (we didn't see inside so can't say more than this) which offered good privacy by all appearances. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This hostel was perfect for our stay in Cartagena, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, spacious and have air-con and there's a kitchen if you want to cook. The best thing about it is the lovely pool in the court-yard where you can cool off in the sweltering heat!It is not fancy but really good value for money, I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor has a jacuzzi outside and a seating area and its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed here with 2 friends of mine for 3 nights and it was perfect. It's nothing fancy but it's clean and everything we needed, and the service was amazing. It's also only a short walk to the old city and a quick cab ride to Hollywood Beach. Diana, who runs the place, was the sweetest woman-- answered all of our questions and really took care of us. I would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Cartagena!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed in the hostel casamara for 4+3 nights. I actually wanted to return there after my Taganga-trip as it was so nice.
It is located very close to el centro and all the services of Getsemani are right behind the corner. The Getsemani area might feel a bit shady in the beginning, but I never felt myself unsecure...even I did a lot of nightlife:)
The hostel itself is very secured with the nighttime guardian. The rooms were kept very clean and the swimming pool was very nice in the heat of July. I warmly recommend this hostel to everybody looking for a calm place to stay in the middle of Getsemani husstle.
After all these uplifting reviews you should remember it is a hostel, not hotel ;)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

This hostel is quite dated and the owner has in recent years, prices increased by 50% making it a bad choice. Near the hostel are much better options to find more reasonable prices. Besides the hospitality is also low in Casa Mara. What once must have been a fun hostel is an e expensive, not really friendly place and become dated.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Casa Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Mara

Address: Calle del Espiritu Santo #29-139 | Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Casa Mara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 10 rooms in this hotel have all the comforts to make you feel at home. Some of the features you'll enjoy are internet access , cable TV, shower. The hotel boasts Wi - Fi in public areas , laundry service / dry cleaning, room service. Guests seeking exercise or leisure will be pleased to find garden at the hotel. Well located , a dedicated staff and quality services make this hotel a favorite among viajeros.Los guests can enjoy peace and tranquility in the pool Casa Mara offers all its guests. Guests can also relax in the hot tub and admire the charm of this beautiful home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Casa Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Casamara Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Casa Mara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.