We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located in walled city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Gloria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Gloria to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Gloria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Pedro Martir 10-11, Cartagena 400, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 127 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well located in walled city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The pluses: it is well-located in the walled city, and the little pool in the courtyard and rooftop jacuzzi are most welcome places to cool off after exploring the old town.

Minuses: Though we had a reservation and a confirmation that said we were confirmed and didn't need to contact the hotel to reconfirm, a couple of weeks later the Casa Gloria sent an email saying that if we didn't reconfirm within 72 hours they would cancel our reservation. Then, once our trip was underway, the manager sent an email saying that we needed to call in our credit card info to keep our reservation. I called the hotel from Bogota -- not such an easy task in another country -- two times before I was able to leave the number. I would have much preferred that they require payment upon booking rather than trouble us three times over this booking.

Our room was small but the air conditioner worked well. The mattress was covered first with a plastic sheet, then a cotton one, which made the bed very warm. Neither sheet stayed on the bed through the night, however, popping off at the corners and exposing the mattress.

The listing in Trip Advisor says, "A complimentary manager's reception is offered in the afternoon each day." This is nonexistent. We think what is meant is that the reception area is manned by someone, complimentarily.

The breakfast is also disappointing, consisting of an arepa, fake orange juice, coffee, fruit, and a slice of lunch meat or a fried egg.

All in all, this was the least nice of our three hotels in Colombia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    65
    18
    6
    10
See reviews for
39
135
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stumbled upon Hotel Casa Gloria in the Old City by luck, and I spent one week there during the Christmas season. I could not be more pleased with the Hotel and its staff. The place looks like a small tropical paradise with lush garden and pool welcoming us in the courtyard. The rooms and bathrooms are kept super clean and everything was in working order. The hotel felt very safe (the Old City is equally very safe). The staff was so nice and helpful with plenty of great recommendations. And everything within the Old City is no more than a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Gloria herself was always ready to assist guests and point us in the right direction for a memorable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jönköping, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Me and my wife and 2 teenagers stayed 3 nights. This is a nice and quiet hotel in cental old town. But there where a few things makes me lower my marks. The main issue was the breakfast, a few slices of fruit, an arepa and some cheap juice from the supermarket. And this in a city where it is hard to avoid fresh homemaid juices and loads of fresh fruit. Another minor flaw was that the ac in the kids room was just on or off without ability to set the desired temp.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Intimate boutique hotel, recently renovated with local flavor. It's in a perfect location, a little off from the overly-tourist part of town (but everything in Cartagena is walking distance). Great to have breakfast by the pool in the morning or a drink on the rooftop terrace in the evening. The rooms aren't overly elaborate but comfortable and well decorated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteria, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

very nice, clean, good service!!! I loved breakfast every morning, nice and helpful people at the hotel, couldn´t use the pool. Peaceful and quiet et night, I felt secure at the area. Beautiful decoration, awesome service. Bedrooms are small but comfortable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

First to say we don't have the chance to stay at the hotel. We made reservation on Internet and received a confirmation letter in the same morning we were going to stay. However when we arrived we are told the hotel was full. The responsible guy asked us move to another hotel(we had to pay taxi ourself). The guy said he will solve problem next day and promised he would show up in the morning. However until we left Cartagena this guy never showed up again. The hotel may be good but this situation is not acceptable. I have to give it a low rate to remind the owner and visitors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a year ago, we liked it so much that we suggested to our wedding guests to stay there. All love it! Very clean, nice decoration, great location inside the wall city, close to everything and awesome service. My guests felt like home with swimming pool, Jacuzzi on the terrace, lounge to hand out, breakfast every day, internet service.
Gloria and her team are always there to answer question and help you with all needs you might have while you are in Cartagena. Thanks Gloria!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean but keep on mind that they are very small for American Standarsd this is a colon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.5 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#20 of 127 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#35 of 127 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#8 of 127 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#37 of 127 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gloria

Address: San Pedro Martir 10-11, Cartagena 400, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 127 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gloria 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay inside the walled City in elegance and style. Relax in a family inviroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Gloria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.