We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and perfect for the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia to your Saves list
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro Calle Primera de Badillo No 35-74 | Centro amurallado, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location and perfect for the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

By far the best hotel we stayed in during our trip. There was plenty of hot water and the room was super clean. The tv and cable worked perfectly and the bed was comfortable. I'm saying all of these things because we did not have the same experience with other hotels in the same price range during our 10 day trip to Colombia. The décor and greenery in the hotel is very beautiful and having a room with the large balcony overlooking the street was a major plus! There is a sun deck on the 5th floor which was nice since it does get hot in Cartagena during the day. By far this is one of the best locations because it is centrally located between all of the plazas in Cartagena. Definitely would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor with a balcony. Only the third floor has the large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    72
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
70
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is very well located in the old town but being in the old town also brings its disadvantages. Rooms are small and dark (some have no windows), and street noise seemed to be a problem for some, though this didn't bother us. The late check-in (after 3pm) is an advantage at the other end of the holiday when you don't need to check out til 1pm. We weren't entirely unhappy with our room but some aspects were unsatisfactory, namely the safe which didn't work, the TV remote which only worked if you sat immediately in front of it because the batteries were flat and the shower which did not run hot water. There was insufficient bedding (and very flat pillows) so we got quite cold a night too. The staff were polite but not all that friendly by the high standards in Colombia. I think they were a little overwhelmed by the demands of a large number of unhappy guests. There is a small swimming pool (more of a plunge pool actually) but it is in reception and somehow you feel just a tad conspicuous using it as people line up to check in or out! The breakfasts are served on a roof terrace which is quite nice and has fairly good views of the old town but the food itself is woeful - possibly one of the worst I have encountered for many years. No toast, very little hot food and items not replenished as they run out. Such a pity as this should not be tricky to get right. Again, the staff here are polite but just not very warm or friendly. Lastly, a common bugbear for me - almost no literature in the room on the local area meaning you have to rely on the Internet, but this cannot and should to be a replacement for brochures, leaflets and the like on things to do and see and maybe even some recommendations. I would have scored this hotel 2/5 but for the superb location.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the main road if overnight noise disturbs your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia is very close to Clock Tower Square where you'll begin to find many restaurants, bars, and historical sites. A few doors away from the hotel is a small grocery store. The hotel itself is old but has modern conveniences. Rooms are small and many face into a courtyard. Rooms have air-conditioning and flat screen TVs. The bathrooms are also small and have only showers, no bath tubs. There is free WIFI and there's a computer available on the first floor if you don't bring your own laptop. A small, tiny, swimming pool is located on the first floor, the center of the courtyard. Breakfast is served on the roof top. Outdoor dining which is great when it's not windy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Terrible value for money. Very small rooms (anyone who is overweight would not be able to move in the bathroom). Strange musty smell in the room. Beds so basic they must have been purchased from an army camp - a wooden board would have been more comfortable. Very old threadbare towels. So-so service from the front desk staff, one of whom was surprised when I asked her to call us a taxi (saying we could just nip outside and get one.....hello?). The room we were in had air conditioning over the bed and a fan that didn't work. Helpful. We were told the room was a 'mini suite' and that it was so costly because we had a balcony - the only part of that description that is true is the 'mini' part!! The 'balcony' was little more than a very small extension of the window (about 8cm) and there was nothing about the room that would warrant it being called a 'suite'. Beware: this hotel is *very very* overpriced. Don't be fooled by the mid-range price tag - it's a 2 star hotel at best. The addition of the swimming pool is a very poor marketing trick: it's filthy and you wouldn't want to swim in it.

Room Tip: Don't choose to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location within the el centro area of Cartagena. We never felt like we were far away from anything and was a truly fantastic place to be based during our 6 night stay in Cartagena. There is a great terrace up on the roof for sunbathing and a another outdoor terrace for breakfast. Both are also great for views over the city and having a beer after a day out in the sun. Rooms are basic but fine as we didnt really spend much time in the rooms. However, we felt that the rooms were a little on the noisy side as we could hear people in other rooms and out in the hallway. I think it really depends on where your room is located as we personally could not hear other people in their rooms but could hear breakfast being made, which was upstairs from our room, this meant we were being woken up at around 6.30am every morning. My sister and her boyfriend could hear the people in the room next to them and also said that their bed was very uncomfortable. The staff were ok...I did think more could be done to provide guests with information on what to do, etc.

Overall, even though there are a few negatives to write of, i would recommend staying in this hotel mainly for the location. The hotel could certainly do with a few small improvements which would greatly benefit the hotel and upgrade to a four star, in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia was a very charming hotel with an excellent location and the staff were very friendly. The room was basic, but nice and the bathroom seemed to be recently upgraded. The bed was very firm, but still comfortable and the free breakfast, free internet, and direct TV were nice added bonuses. While the room was clean, the walls were very thin and I felt as if I was sharing my room with the couple in the room next to me. Also, the lighting in the room was poor and I felt like I was in a cave. While these things did detract from the room, overall, I had a very nice stay and with the location and breakfast included, you really can't beat the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Worcs
Top Contributor
502 reviews 502 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is well located and once our room issue was resolved we had a pleasant enough stay. We booked a twin room and were given a room with a double bed and a child's single bed - the single was narrow and so short the only way to sleep would have been in the foetal position. We explained we required two standard twin beds and the receptionist tried to convince us that this was a twin! We refused to accept this and eventually - after trying to make out the hotel was full (it was not even one quarter occupied as we discovered later) the receptionist relented and allocated a proper twin room. We failed to comprehend why this was not offered immediately given we had categorically booked a twin.

We had one water outage during the stay and our safe did not work - which was not ideal. Initially there was no hot water but then we discovered that it could be adjusted underneath the sink - would have been helpful to have been told this on checking in. There is a tiny swimming pool - more like a paddling pool - in reception but during our three day stay we did not see anyone use it. On request we were given beach towels for our day trip out to the Rosario Islands.

Breakfast is rather sparse and taken on the fifth floor with good views over the old city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia

Address: Centro Calle Primera de Badillo No 35-74 | Centro amurallado, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia is a kind Boutique Hotel Bed & Breakfast and our rates include Buffet Service (7:00 to 10:30 a.m.) and hotel insurance.Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia Our hotel is an old restored colonial House of five floors situated in the heart of the beautiful old city of Cartagena de India.With its favorable location just steps from all sites of historic interest, tourist and business heart of the city, Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia is proposed as the best choice for your stay in Cartagena. Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia offers to its costumers services and comforts to make agreeable its stays in Cartagena like panoramic Solarium overlooking to the old city, where you can take the sun in the day or having fun in nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.