We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Getsemani” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Villa Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Villa Colonial to your Saves list
Casa Villa Colonial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la Media Luna #10-89, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good option in Getsemani”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I would recommend this as an affordable alternative to overpriced options in the walled city.

I found this place in the lonely planet and was very happy with it. All the places in the old city (inside the wall) were in the $200/night range, but got only so-so reviews on trip advisor. This place is ~$100 per night, and just a few blocks away from the walled city. it's also right near the famous Cafe Havana, and it's still in the old part of the city, just not inside the wall.

I would consider this place a semi-budget option. The service was very nice. The rooms were simple but comfortable. The place was clean although far from spotless. They don't give you shampoo so make sure to bring your own. The A/C worked really well. There was no hot water which was kind of a bummer because it definitely cools down enough at night in Cartagena in November to want at least a warm shower. We had room 6, which was pretty quiet A lot of rooms look over the courtyard, and I would imagine would be a bit noisy when people come in and out, so it's worth verifying which room you are booking. That said, the place seemed very quiet - it's not a party hotel, so even when guests came in and out it seemed quiet. There is a kitchen which we didn't end up using, but it was nice to know we could have stored drinks in the fridge.

We reserved our room on Orbitz, but we discovered that the hotel rate was actually cheaper than the internet prices, so it's worth double checking before booking.

As a related note for Cartagena, be aware of what you are getting when you book the 42.000 COP trip to Santa Marta. It includes a long stop at the island with the aquarium, which is annoying, or else you have to pay another 20.000 COP to go snorkeling. Those tours are a bit of a racket, unfortunately.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
24
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel in Cartagena as typically, the reviews more or less stand up to be precise. However, there's always the exception right?

Now although I can't fault the staff, the service was great - the reason why I wasn't left satisfied was because the room had Mosquitos flying around and the bathroom was rather dingy, not to mention the fact that the shower didn't give out any warm water. However, I could potentially forgive the hotel for the reasons above if they just invested in mattresses that contoured around my body. These beds were amongst the worst I have ever encountered and the outcome was 2 nights off little sleep and plenty of aches and pain in the am. Ouch.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The day we arrives the hotel was sold out, moved to their sister hotel. Went back the next day and got a beautiful room. We looked at about 10 other hotel/hostel and this was by far the best even if it was more expensive. Hotel staff were lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The staff here don't speak any English, but my limited Spanish was plenty for communicating with them, getting answers to questions, recommendations, etc. They were all super helpful and friendly. I had a standard double room and it was just fine for me, traveling alone. Very basic, but everything I needed. There was a large window that opened onto a ledge, overseeing the patio below. The room had a ceiling fan and an air conditioning, which is really necessary in the heat and humidity of the city. And the location is great - there are other similar places that are closer, but only by a few steps. It was an easy five minute walk to the Old City.

The downside of Casa Villa Colonial is that there's no hot water (they say you don't need it in that climate, but I missed it). Also the bathroom has a window-less opening into the outdoor hallway, so it was always hot and humid in there, and there were always little bugs flying and crawling around. Not big gross bugs, just a couple tiny little ones that were more irritating than anything else. I kept the bathroom door closed at all times, to keep the bugs and heat out of the bedroom. This worked just fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We moved into the Casa Villa Colonial after a few nights at a 'good' Hostal just down the road: For a few dollars more, it has been like moving to a different planet: Quiet, spacious and beautifully presented rooms surround a peaceful gardened courtyard. The staff are simply terrific. The area is full of good restaurants and bars, and it's close to the old town. We loved it and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hostel comes highly recommended. The owners are so kind and we really enjoyed our stay. The beds are a bit hard but most hostel beds are I find. The rooms were clean and the courtyard inside was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had a very nice stay at Casa colonial. The rooms are big and clean. All have air con which is necessary.
The staff/owner are very friendly. Even though we checked out, if was possible to take a shower. I would definitely go there again.
Thanks for all! Saludos Desde alemania Ben

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Villa Colonial

Address: Calle de la Media Luna #10-89, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Villa Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Villa Colonial Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Villa Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.