We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel in Cartagena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ananda Hotel Boutique

Save Saved
You added Ananda Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ananda Hotel Boutique
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Calle del Cuartel #36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels in Cartagena
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful boutique hotel in Cartagena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a wonderful boutique hotel in a great location in Cartagena. Our room was huge, beautifully decorated and very comfortable (especially the beds, which are perfect). The bathroom is great, with some lovely toiletries and a great shower. The hotel has a wonderful rooftop pool and terrace - the perfect place to be at the end of a long day's sightseeing. You'll also get impeccable service at Ananda - all the staff were so welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately we were only able to spend one night there, really wish we could have stayed for longer! I really want to go back to Cartagena and would definitely stay at Ananda again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi,

Altough you only spent one night with us. It seems you spent a quality time here. We wish you could spend more nights but on behalf of Ananda Hotel Boutique staff we would like you to be here soon and enjoy the hotel.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    27
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
90
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
évora
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved it . Decoration, location and food were outstanding. I went back in time enjoying the pleasure of today's comfort . I felt fully identified with the ambience, the sounds , the smells and the colours. In such a back stage street you could never imagine you would spend the night in the most charming and exquisite place. The only drawback is that maintenance needs a little improvement.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our decoration and our ambience here. We will try to make your stay even better in your next visit.

Looking forward to have you here soon.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bicester
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a lovely, quiet hotel ideally placed for exploring Cartagena. It is beautifully designed and decorated with lovely courtyards, a small swimming pool and a large roof terrace with plunge pool/jacuzzi where you can relax after a hot day in Cartagena.

The rooms are well equipped and the beds very comfortable.

Concierge was extremely helpful; only problem is that not many of the other staff speak English but a good phrase book and sign language work wonders!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor (2nd for Americans) overlooking the pool and that was great. I would prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello

Thank yo ufor your review. and also we are glad you enjoyed our roof top, It is one of our main places to be at the hotel.

We will improve in our service regarding the language. We appologize for any inconvenience.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We traveled to Colombia to visit a friend in Bogota and we were told we had to go to Cartagena. We had a hard time finding a hotel last minute that was our style and we are soooo happy that we stayed here. From the second we arrived we felt relaxed and totally on vacation. We loved the pool on the first floor until we realized there was a roof top one as well...awesome!!! The food is delicious there too. We can around 10 and couldnt get the included breakfast but for a good deal we were able to get friench toast and steak&eggs, both yummy! And juice at every meal...so good.
The rooms are great but the shower was the best part. It had an earthy feel but still so clean. The rooms all look out onto a courtyard and since we had our son with us we were still able to leave him in the room sleeping while we had dinner. There is not much natural lighting in the rooms though.
And the location is perfect. Close to the city wall for great views and we could walk everywhere wwe needed to.
What a great place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Bethjag.

Receiving comments like yours make of our job a real privilege. Thank you a lot for sharing your experience with us in those wonderful words.
We’ll be looking forward to have you home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.
Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I was in Cartagena on Business from 14-17 Feb 2013. This was my first visit to the city, my local office made the reservation.

Fantastic Boutique hotel. Literally a 'Hole in the Wall'. The layout, style and ambiance were fantastic.

Literally hidden behind a massive, solid and ornate door amid the hustle and bustle of the old city. Within a few minutes you can be at anyone of a choice if great restaurants.

I had a Mezzanine suite, this was fantastic. High ceilings, dark wood, amid the sound if horse carts on the narrow streets outside.

Only complaint was that hot air from aircon units seemed to be getting into the upstairs bathroom. Easily fixed and I have no doubt they will attend to this.

Staff and service were first class.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Terry

We’d like to thank you a lot for your words. Comments like yours certainly incentivize us to keep trying our best every day. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account to fix any detail that needs to be adjusted.
We hope to have you Home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.
Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Ananda in mid-November and we both had a wonderful, relaxing time. The room was spacious and comfortable but in my opinion, the food and service were the best parts of our stay. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant most days and the food was delicious whilst the service was attentive and personable. Between us, we had very limited Spanish and all the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Emily.

We deeply appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account to fix any detail that needs to be adjusted in order to continue in our constant seeking for excellence.
We hope you give us the opportunity of staying with us in a next occasion, so that we can do our best to provide you with the best service and make of your stay a wonderful experience.

Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A Beautiful hotel with very hotel attentive staff. Wonderful spacious rooms. Gorgeous rooftop pool. Loved our stay here. Only issue was slow service in restaurant at breakfast. Would definitely stay here again!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi,

We thank you for your review. We are really glad you had a great time at Ananda Hotel Boutique and also you enjoyed the rooftop pool. About the service in restaurant we are making changes as we renew all the staff, so we are trying to keep the service level at the highest we can be.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ananda Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle del Cuartel #36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananda Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANANDA, un espacio que transmite el espiritu del lujo y el confort en perfecta armonia, el lugar ideal para alcanzar ese estado maximo de la felicidad. Le invitamos a vivir esa maravillosa experiencia en su proximo viaje, cuando piense en un hotel de lujo, en una luna de miel de ensueno, en un destino con encanto, cuando organice un evento especial o un viaje de empresa exclusivo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ananda Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananda Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;