We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELUXE RESORT IN CARTAGENA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ananda Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ananda Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Ananda Hotel Boutique
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Calle del Cuartel #36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“DELUXE RESORT IN CARTAGENA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Well worth the value for the excellent service and the fabulous accommodations. Everybody is so friendly, from the receptionist to the maids and the bartenders, it was real nice to see smiles all day long. The hotel has a great deck on the roof top, we had a fantastic jacuzzi party. I had a room on the 3rd floor, which also has a small comfy deck. The wifi signal was pretty good throughout the hotel. Nice but very basic breakfast (could do better for the room rate). I had dinner in the hotel almost everyday of my stay and I can say the food is real good (try the steak and the ceviche). Overall, I highly recommend it. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cartagena.

Room Tip: The suites are superb, but any room in the 3rd floor will do perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi,

Our service is one of the main porpusses at the hotel; make the guests very happy and feel very confortable makes us happy all the time.

We are glad you liked our hotel and all the spaces he have there, specially the roof top where you can enjoyed your stay there.

We took your recomendation about the breakfast and we make sure we improve for you in future visits to Cartagena.

Hope to have you here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    40
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
122
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

one the the best hotels in cartagena. exceptionally clean, comfortable and relaxing. the service is outstanding. the staff are extremely attentive, and are there to help with any request. the inside of the hotel, is a quiet oasis. location is great and near all the best sights in cartagena.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your review. Ananda Hotel Boutique is commited to give the best service and make your stay, the most gratefull experience in your life.

He hope we can have you here again and enjoy our great service.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Pittaluga
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Positive: The Hotel is truly nicely decorated, it has a nice pool, and is quiet. It is clean and well maintained. It has free WIFI in the rooms and the signal is strong . It is very well located in the heart of the old town, within walking distance of the major points of interest.

The Negative: it seems that when the rooms were designed some functionalities have been left aside....

The sink is not in the bathroom but in the room itself which I found to be unpractical, the bathroom door is useless as it is designed like a shutter with open spaces between the wood parts... so that when one is sitting on the toilets the person in the room can enjoy all sounds and smells.... no privacy !

We ordered room service based on the dishes listed on the room service menu and asked for club sandwiches...we were told the sandwiches could not be made because they had no bread..... we then ordered Spaghetti bolognese....we were told that this was not available because there was no bolognese sauce in the kitchen ..... I finally had grilled chicken breast at the third attempt.... but..... when the waiter came to the room he brought only the starters and the room has no table .... so he put the soups on the bed .....then he came a second time to bring the main courses....then a third time for the desserts..... very uncomfortable to eat this way ....especially with no table....

The air conditioner is placed under the ceiling in a way which crosses the bed....so it blows cold air right into the faces of the persons in bed...... and it is loud.....what to do when it is excruciatingly hot .....we are in Colombia in August.....have the air on without being able to sleep and running the risk of having a sore throat in the morning from the cold air in the face...or sweat all night.....?

The fan hanging from the ceiling made the noise of a machine which needs to be oiled .....

The sheets and one pillow case had stains of an undetermined origin ....

Considering the price of the room.... these things should not happen....

I dont think I want to come again to this place .....

Room Tip: You can try the Sofitel Santa Clara
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Mr “Moncaoguy1”

We deeply sorry about the inconveniences and we really appreciate taking time in letting us know about your thoughts. We already took all your recommendations and we are making changes in order to correct all the issues and not to let this things happen again.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Pittaluga
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

A very comfortable and enchanting hotel. Staff very friendly and always willing to help. Stayed there on trip from GB with family and friends including a baby and we were made very welcome. The hotel is very conveniently located. It has modern facilities expected in a high end hotel whilst retaining the charm and character of its historic building.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Hi,

We are really glad you enjoyed our hotel and our staff was friendly with you and your family. We are also like you liked our hotel and facilities.

The hotel is well located so you can enjoy the hotel and Cartagena at the same time, so we reaally appreciated your review and we hope to have you here and your family and friends soon.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Sincerely
Online Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just let Ananda this week. I write this from a "posh" Miami hotel (to be reviewed later) and I miss Ananda!

The decor of the hotel is beautiful. Lots of wood (large wood doors, old wood ceiling beams) and what appear to be natural materials. Exposed bricks as well. The neutral tones contributed to a calm atmosphere. Our room had a brick archway in it that I adored. I just felt very peaceful there.

Rooms. We had a room on the first floor right near the pool. At first I was put off by not having any natural light but given the heat, I actually came to prefer this. My friend and I thoughts the beds were comfy yet firm. Lots of pillows. Loved the bathroom with the wood planks in the shower and very high ceilings. Water pressure was fine and the temp was good. Very large and comfy towels too! Better than what I have here in Miami.

Free wireless internet was a plus. A bit slow at times but I wasn't there to work.

The pool is small but we both enjoyed it. Feels very refreshing after walking around all day. I agree with another reader that someone isn't always at the bar but it's a small place so someone is never far away. The rooftop lounge area is great!

The employees here were very friendly and helpful with everything from restaurants reservations to tours to arranging breakfast for us on our last morning as we were running late for our cab. We did not eat dinner here but did have breakfast. Was standard (eggs, bread, fruit) and we both enjoyed it.

Location of the hotel was nice as well. Quiet street but in between Santo Domingo Plaza and San Diego Plaza.

Would both stay here again and recommend it to friends! Nicely done.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We appreciate you liked all our small details. It makes our hotel to be a place to relax and enjoy the beauty of our city.

Every single detail at our hotel is made in order to make your stay the best experience in your life. we try to amaze you every day.

Our staff is trained in order to help you at all times but at the same time give you the space that you need for your vacations.

Ananda Hotel Boutique will be happy to have you here again and your friends.

Thank you for choosing us.

sincerely,
Online Markerting Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel has a very pleasant interior, the rooms were great and the location perfect: close to the center but on a quiet street. The breakfast was ok, not very special, but the dinner menu looked great. We didn't get to try it though, because during the "Cumbre" of all political leaders of the Americas, no food was allowed to be delivered for a while and the kitchen was out of options. The Internet connection was quite good, the massages we got at the pool were ok and cheap. Sometimes the bar wasn't attended but it never took more the 5 min for someone to arrive. All in all a pricy but very nice option for Carragena!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for visiting us and for your review about our services, you opinion is very important for us because we can improve even better in order to give the best service in Cartagena.

At our hotel, we want our guests spend a quality time and find Ananda as the best option to stay in Cartagena. We are glad we accomplish your expectations

Sincerely
Online Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We loved the hotel, and couldn't fault it. Staff were so helpful in organising restaurant bookings for us, in finding us a driver for the day, and in recommending things to do. The room was spectacular, the pool glorious- I seemed to be its sole user- the breakfasts good and the lunches- we had lunch there a couple of times- really attractively done. I would go back any time.... what a great place to stay in a great town. We had a ball.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hi,

First of all thank you for your review, we really appreciate your words and we are really happy you spent a quality time at our hotel.

Personalized service is one of the most important things we need to do in order to have our guests happy in aour hotel and our city.

We hope to have you here any time and have a great time every time you come here.

Sincerely,
The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ananda Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle del Cuartel #36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananda Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANANDA, un espacio que transmite el espiritu del lujo y el confort en perfecta armonia, el lugar ideal para alcanzar ese estado maximo de la felicidad. Le invitamos a vivir esa maravillosa experiencia en su proximo viaje, cuando piense en un hotel de lujo, en una luna de miel de ensueno, en un destino con encanto, cuando organice un evento especial o un viaje de empresa exclusivo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Ananda Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananda Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.