We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tcherassi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tcherassi Hotel to your Saves list
Tcherassi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Sargento Mayor N 6-21 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A lovely boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel is the heart of the old city is lovely, and has been redone by the designer Silvia Tcherassi. There are a few rooms, which are costly, but they are done with an intermingling of upscale modern, with remnants of the old walls still intact. The rooms are open with the bathroom, shower, and bath all within the bedroom and divided by glass separations. Nicely done. The restaurant in the hotel is avant garde Italian, and is very good. The hotel is not inexpensive with rooms being more than $700 per night

Room Tip: Ziberline is an excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    16
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
49
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Pros:
- One of Cartagena's most exclusive hotel with only 7 bedrooms.
- Nice architecture. Located in an old (more than 250 years) colonial mansion.
- Great location in the walled city. This is the place to be.
- Nice service.
- Well kept grounds.
- Free Wi-fi that works.
- A la carte breakfast doesn't have many options but that's ok.
- Nice and big room.
- Great quality towels and linens.

Cons:
- The bed wasn't so comfortable (low sleep quality).
- Shower could be better. It os hard to adjust it hot/cold. Bad water pressure and hot water could be really hot.
- Our room (Musseline) had a skylight window that wouldn't let us wake up late. The light get in early morning!
- They forgot to put more soap two days.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My daughter and I loved this hotel! The service was impeccable and with a smile! Please don't miss this relaxing yet very elegant hotel and tasty restaurant! An absolute must in Cartagena! The design and style of the property is inviting and interesting. Tcherassinhas a very classy style!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Boutique Hotel inside a Colonial house. Want to expend few days with your loved one?...... this is one of the places to be. Exellent decoration, the service is great an it`s restaurant (VERA) simply superb. Inside the "walls of the city" you will feel secure, and with plenty to walk and visit among restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and diferent from each other, but if you really want something really different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I don't like multitudes and were very fortunate to stay at the Tcherassi Hotel last October 2013. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has easy/walkable access to bars, restaurants and Cartagena historic buildings and amenities. The old renovated mansion has a lot of charm and character. Perfect for a romantic trip! Only 2 of the 7 rooms were occupied, so we enjoyed the rooftop pool all for ourselves. While in the pool, the service was great and we always had fresh water and towel service. Breakfast was included as part of our deal, and it was amazing! Great and lots of options from fresh fruit to Colombian typical breakfast food. Highly recommend the "arepa 'e huevo"! We had free Wi-fi signal inside our room, and big comfortable beds. Wish they had better online deals! A couple of minuses: There were no wash cloths in the bathroom and the towels were clean, but look a little old. Also, the sky line in the bathroom had some mold, I believe normal in the humidity of Cartagena.

Room Tip: Organdie room recommended. Quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We checked into the Tcherassi at very short notice on 3rd January 2014 and stayed for 4 nights, having mistakenly previously booked a hotel outside the old City. The hotel is beautiful and is owned by a well-known local designer. The service is excellent, especially from Juan, who seemed to work all hours. The hotel wasn't busy, despite having initially told us they were full it turned out that only 2 of the 7 rooms were occupied - we must have looked a bit tired and bedraggled when we first walked in...
Organdie is a beautiful room, but there is a loud blower for the kitchen air-con which disturbed us a lot. We don't have air-con on at night, so it was probably worse for us than for people who do. We moved to Voilee and were much happier. However, the Tcherassi has a popular and up-market restaurant, which attracts a very glamorous crowd for lunch and dinner. That can be noisy up to 11.30pm. On Friday's there is a live band till 11pm, playing out in the open and being very loud while we were in Organdie. Take and use your ear-plugs. The rooms didn't seem very busy and our feeling was that the Tcherassi may need to decide whether it's a hotel, or a smart restaurant with rooms, in which case the £250 per night price should be reduced on grounds of noise from the restaurant. Of course if you're late night party animals, this won't matter at all. We were after R&R, so it did matter. There's a lovely rooftop deck with sun loungers and a small pool to cool down in. We loved it and had it to ourselves each morning and at sunset. Overall a really nice hotel, lovely rooms, very comfortable beds, great service, great pool deck, but not good for sleeping before 11.30pm.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the suite at the far end of the hotel from the entrance. That should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights after New Year. Originally we were booked into Casa Bustamente, but with the beds being too small and it being a longer walk into town then anticipated, we walked around the town seeing who had last-minute availability.

This hotel is uber-stylish. Other tourists gaze longingly and try to gain access through the gold, locked gates because it looks so funky. And one lunchtime, the lunch guests were so famous, there were paparazzi waiting opposite. It's that kind of place. The well-heeled come for lunch next to the waterfall and pool or for dinner under the pea-lights, listening to lounge music.

This of course poses a problem if you're trying to sleep. I had my ear-plugs but my poor husband was often kept awake by this - and by the pool generator and the kitchen extractor fans...! There are only 7 rooms, and only one (the double-story suite) is sound-proofed. We know, because we checked them all out.

Because here's the thing - despite being told they only had one room free (which sounded fair, given that this was at peak season, with the International Music Festival starting that night, and the Monday being a Bank Holiday in Colombia), what became clear was that we and another couple were the only other guests the entire time. And he was unwell, so we rarely saw him. So it was like my husband and I were staying in our very own, private, swanky, glittery, Euro-style villa. We saw no-one else either at breakfast (delicious fresh fruits, juices, fresh croissants and a stir-fry veggie dish) or around the wonderful roof-top pool.

Sure, this hotel does not feel 'Colombian', it feels very Rome/Milan/London. But we liked being able to soak up the colonial atmosphere of the (horrendously busy, slightly twee) old town (the cars, horse n' carts and kids riding bicycles the wrong way down streets becomes really annoying) and then return to the luxury of 'our' room, 'our' pool, 'our' staff. Mari, Sandra and John in particular went out of the way to look after us.

So, this hotel won't be for everyone, because it's so very un-Cartagena. But in the end, that worked well for us.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms, and only one (the double-story suite) is totally sound-proofed away from eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaTcherassi, Gerente at Tcherassi Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, your comments are very important for us. At The Tcherassi we pride ourselves on personal service and high levels of attention. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay for the most part and again apologize for the few hiccups.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tcherassi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tcherassi Hotel

Address: Calle del Sargento Mayor N 6-21 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tcherassi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an extensive two year restoration and renovation, a 250 year old colonial mansion comes to life in the heart of Cartagena's old city in fashion designer Silvia Tcherassi's first hotel. With seven unique rooms and suites, The Tcherassi Hotel + Spa reignites the magical setting of a bygone era while delivering all of the modern amenities and comforts discerning travelers have come to expect today. In addition to oversized, luxurious guest accommodations featuring high ceilings, rich wood floors, private balconies and large open bathrooms, the hotel boasts a full service spa, 40-seat chic Italian restaurant and lounge overlooking a vertical garden with over 3000 local plants, four pools and a roof deck with 360 degree views of both the historic city and the sea. The search for inspiration and relaxation is easily achieved as over 30 staff members cater to each guest's every whim. Although The Tcherassi Hotel + Spa is an oasis within itself, it is the perfect place from which to enjoy the vibrant colors and culture of Cartagena de Indias ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Tcherassi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tcherassi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.