We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tcherassi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tcherassi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tcherassi Hotel
Calle del Sargento Mayor N 6-21, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Tcherassi is a beautiful boutique hotel.

The rooms are spacious and designed with couples in mind. The bath products provided in the room were very nice. I especially loved the conditioner. A large closet and storage area were very useful during our stay. The staff would set our tv to ambiance music which added to the romance.

The hotel is well located in the centro area of Cartagena, near many boutiques and restaurants.

The rooftop pool was a nice place to relax. There were never many people and the staff was very helpful.

The breakfasts, which were included, were very good. We ate lunch there most days and supper one evening. Everything was delicious!

I definitely recommend this hotel. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Radzimir room and thought it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia G, General Manager at Tcherassi Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mr Gabor,

We are very pleased to read about your great experience in our hotel. it's very important for us to offer the best stay ever to our guests and know that we are doing well it's so motivating.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Best Regards,


Lia Osorio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent five nights in the Gazar suite at the Hotel Tcherassi and loved it. Extremely spacious, great air conditioning (a must), private terrace and pool. The staff could not have been more accommodating and gracious. We had both lunch and dinner at Vera (besides daily breakfast) and the quality was excellent. The only issue we had was one that could not really be controlled by the hotel-- the sound at night from the South American version of tree frogs. It could be loud enough to wake you up. With that being said, we would stay there again. It really is beautiful, as is Cartagena and its people.

Room Tip: We understand Ziberline the next best room in the hotel and is a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night. We stayed at the Ziberline suite, which is the second best room in the hotel following the Gazar suite, which is the one with the private pool.
The room, Ziberline, was amazing. The only thing I would change is to give a little more privacy to the toilet, even though the glass is not completely transparent, it is in my opinion not private enough.
Besides from that the room has 2 air conditioners that I would say are 18,000 BTU each, (maybe even 24,000 BTU) which is great because of the room height and of course because of the extreme heat in Cartagena.
The bathtub was also a great touch to have inside the room.
The pool in the third floor of the hotel was great. Of course it was small since this is a 7 room hotel, and even though it is on the highest floor of the hotel service there was prompt. There is another pool in the first floor, with pool rules and everything, but I was told that it is mostly decorative.
The restaurant Vera was good.
The only other detail I would point out was that the bottled water that was given to us in the room had expired on aug 4 2012, once we informed they brought new ones, free of charge.
They were also very helpful helping us find a place to park our car close to the hotel.
We were not able to try the spa, so no review on that front.
I also found very interesting the fact that they have air conditioners in OPEN AREAS. At first I thought it was a waste of money but they actually make a great difference. You are never going to feel cold, but they help mitigate the hellish Cartagena weather

Room Tip: Ziberline suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is beautiful!! It's a restored Colonial house with rustic original antique walls that give it a magical feel. Staff os sooo friendly and they will go out pf their way to please you in every way they can. Room was spacious, sheets are really soft, down pillows, great ammenities and soap smells amazing!!



Make sure to make a reservation at VERA their restaurant, as it is always packed. Turns out it's an upscale Italian created and owned by a chef who worked several years with Mario Batali. Tried to talk with him but he lives abbroad. Instead came the chef/manager of the restaurant named Andres, such a nice guy!! I'm a foodie so my wife and I just let him choose our dinner. OMG!!! This guy knows what he's doing, everything was beautiful, raviolis stuffed with amatriciana sauce, had a great octopus and a suckling pig with roasted fennel!! He came out later and we invited him to a glass pf wine. We then found out he lived in spain for several years training in several 1-3 michelin star restaurants including the Mugaritz. He's been in charge of the kitchen for 2 years now.
We decided to try other restaurants in Cartagena and although they were good, none were at tcherassi's level. Last two nights just decided to try other dishes at Vera and absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I planned my wedding at Tcherassi, I had not been there but via the pictures it looked wuite lovely. When you have a wedding at this hotel they requiere you tot ake the whoel hotel - aka the 7 rooms, which makes sense because if not other guests would not be able to sleep.
However, when we checked in everything was a mess, they where totally disorganized. I even lost a small bag, they did no t know where they had put it... and it was lost.
The day of my wedding, 2 days after there one a MILLION problems, for having taken a whole hotel you would expect top notch service, it was top notch disaster. The hotel rooms where a huge dissapointment, not at all practical, the room I was in if the staff decided to open the door and where in the shower, they could see you naked or going to the bathroom as the whole room bathroom was open to the door of the bedroom. My in laws room had littlestones on the wall as a decoration which kept on falling of, they could hit you in the ead while you where sleeping. My mother in law got here new ipad broken on the screen. When informing the hotel staff they said we know we have problems with that room.
Then came the big problem, they have huge steep stairs which the wax right before an event, I rememeber looking at them terrified. Then the moment we where going to the wedding, my grandmother who has being lead down the stairs slipped and cut her head. The hotel staff panicked, they started taking out waters (which we where charged 100 bottles of PANNA water which we did not ask and where brought to us because the hotel staff say our hysteria). My grandmother kept on bleeding and bleeding. They asked for an ambulance which arrived 20 minutes later and took her to a hospital. We later food out that there where 3 hospitals near by and they took her to the cheapest hospital ehich had been closed down because of bactteria problems. The hospital was dirty and old. and they did not treat her as deserved. My father went to the hospital and once he came back he was presented with A CHECK!!!!!!!!! Have a little bit of decency. 5 star hotel???? I dont thinkso.
Given out troubles they granted my mother a couple of extra days no charge at the hotel, into the rrom with falling stones... which also hit her head as she slept.
The manager of the hotel was always in a bad mood and did not help us at all. BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL. If you want a nicce experience in Cartagena go to the Cartagena of Indias Hotel. There they treat you right, thats where I stayed the follong week because I could not stand the tcherassi hotel and they way they treat there clients.

Room Tip: None, while the room is more expense the worse it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmyhome, Manager at Tcherassi Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Although we respect the right and duty of our guests to post reviews freely, we find this review to be completely false. Again, we sincerely apologize that your grandmother slipped and fell while on property, however there was no water or wax on the stairs nor any wrong doing by the hotel. After the incident, our staff took immediate action, escorted your family to the Bocagrande Hospital (one of the only good hospitals in Cartagena that takes emergencies - certainly not a B-level hospital) and our General Manager stayed with her throughout the night despite the wedding still taking place at the hotel. The GM even picked her up personally from the hospital when she was discharged and brought her back to stay at the hotel free of charge. Our insurance company has covered all of the hospital costs and there were no charges associated with your grandmother's stay or recovery. We feel that your account as written below is completely inaccurate and false. Everything leading up to the incident went smoothly and you and your family appeared happy with the hotel and service. We do not have any issues with “falling stones.” There are rooms with original stone walls which are completely secure and safe. If we ever had any such problem we would fix it immediately and never put any guest in a hazardous situation. If for some reason you were charged for any items relating to your stay, please advise the hotel so we can correct the charges as the charges should have been taken care of. Once again, we are sorry for the unfortunate incident but believe your claims in this review to not be accurate and feel you may be attempting to take advantage of an accident for further gain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here on the days leading up to our Wedding. Because of the occasion, we decided to splurge on their best suite, GAZAR, which was really beautiful BUT also really disappointing….

Good things first! The hotel is just beautiful. Modern, elegant, stylish, and very chic. As soon as you walk in its obvious that you have arrived at the house of a designer. Then there is the service. Smiles everywhere, nothing was ever too much to ask. And finally the restaurant, with a great atmosphere and really delicious food!!

So why our disappointment??? When you check in to a 5 star property, a high level of attention to detail is expected. You expect this especially when you check in to a 5 star property's top suite. Unfortunately, we started noticing issues the night we arrived, our blinds wouldn't close - which meant everyone at the restaurant had full visual access to everything in our room. We notified the front desk. Apparently they were already aware of the issue but hadn't been able to fix it. Then there were more issues, such as the paper holder falling off the wall every time someone used the washroom, broken pool lights, the sound system overheating and turning off every 15 minutes, loud in-room fans, a few dirty and evidently worn out in room amenities , and numerous problems with the wi-fi.

Most of these things have already been mentioned in at least one other review here, which means the hotel knows of them but has decided to ignore them. For a "luxury hotel" and at the price paid, this is simply unacceptable.

The GAZAR suite comes with three floors and a private pool. The room, at a first glance, is breathtaking. However, the issues listed above quickly began to take away from its charm. In addition, its third floor seems kind of useless (very small space with nothing inside). There's also no nice view of the city from the room (or from anywhere in the hotel). Finally, at the price paid, the breakfast offered should have been better.

No special attention was given to me on the day of my Wedding. Now this of course wasn't required by the hotel. However, touches like this are what differentiate a luxury property from others.

Overall, I would say the Tcherassi hotel has a great potential of becoming a 5 star rated property in tripadvisor. However, true luxury comes from attention to detail, and this currently is missing from too many aspects of this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but the Gazar suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmyhome, Manager at Tcherassi Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are glad you found the hotel to be beautiful and chic as Silvia Tcherassi intended but of course disappointed to hear of some of the negatives. Please know our team looks after maintenance issues on a regular basis. In some cases, things take time to get fixed or for parts to arrive to Colombia. With the case of the blinds, they were indeed not functioning properly before your arrival and the replacement was on order but had not arrived in time for your stay. They have since been replaced. At breakfast Chef Castano and Chef Hoyos work diligently to offer a full variety of menu items, both hot and cold. If you have any suggestions for additional items, please do feel free to share those with us so we can send them over to the kitchen. With regard to the views from the rooms, the charm of the hotel is that it is a converted 250 year-old colonial mansion in the heart of the old city. The two-story vertical garden provides a soothing interior view and from the rooftop pool you can indeed see out above the old city and off to the sea in the distance. Personal service and attention to detail are two major things we pride ourselves on at the Tcherassi and are sorry you did not receive the true Tcherassi experience. We hope to welcome you back for you anniversary and show you why Tcherassi is indeed so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

this is a very, very good value for someone accustomed to high end hotels but wants to pay attention to price. there are not insignificant taxes & governmental fees that pushed the price up. also as we found throughout the country a tip shared by all the staff was included in the itemized bill. they were worth the tip. were i to return to cartegena i would definitely stay there again. there was a booking screw up (not their fault) that they fixed as soon as we pointed it out. staff extremely nice & helpful. extremely ! beautiful rooms well laid out. great bathrooms. great restaurant. the common areas are beautiful as well. noise (music) was playing early in the evening but wasnt disruptive & never kept us up. we aren't exactly up late types either. bed extremely comfortable. great maid service. good location. felt safe. no negatives noted. would most highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tcherassi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tcherassi Hotel

Address: Calle del Sargento Mayor N 6-21, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tcherassi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tcherassi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.