We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far from the city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kohsamui Hotel de Mar

Best prices from these 6 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kohsamui Hotel de Mar to your Saves list
Kohsamui Hotel de Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tranv 2 No 3-51 | Manzanillo del Mar, Cartagena 00000, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Cartagena
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Too far from the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is a good place if you want to avoid all Cartagena tourists, but it will get very expensive if you plan to go to the city. One-way cab ride to the city is 30,000/40,000 COP and takes about 20 minutes. There are no food options around the hotel, so you will most likely go to the city every day. Other than that, the hotel is very quiet, owners are very friendly and the area looks safe. On the other hand, for the price ($100+ per room), the rooms are quite small for the price (especially suites), breakfast is very basic and showers do not have hot water. For the same price, you can get amazing AirBnB apartments directly in Cartagena.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    24
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
62
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Me and my friend spend a week in this superb boutique hotel, we felt at home the moment we arrived..Lovely service , great food and good value too particularly for a touristy place.
Located in a small friendly village where the natives live, close to the airport and the city.
All rooms share a beautiful terrace overlooking the Caribbean sea... Fantastic... can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I visited the hotel with my husband after a year of hard work and it was the best for us,,,,,,its like when you are in paradise,,,you relax and enjoy the beach,,great food,,,excellent attention,,is a place where you can go with your family, couple or with friends,,,,for sure I will stay in this hotel again,,,beleive me, It was the best !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Kohsamui is a great and quiet place away from the busy city life of Cartagena.
It's simple and complete, perfect for reading, relaxing, taking long walks on the beach, or sunbathing without hassles.

The ownner is a very helpful and kind person who does not go out of her way to personally assist with anything you need. In our case, the taxi they ordered did not show up in time, and without hessitation drove us to the airport so we would make out flight. The other employees, and especially the guy, were very helpful as well. Since there are only 4 rooms, it feels like being at a B&B.

The food tasted very good, however the menu was a bit limited - only seafood - and honsetly a bit pricey considering the location and what you get. The rooms are big enough, and the ones on the outside are recommended because they have more windows and thus more light.
Internet can be a bit flakey at times, and the signal is not that strong overall. We were very happy staying here for the 2 nights to wind down.

Room Tip: The ones on the outside are recommended because they have more windows and thus more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good hotel, nice suites, we loved the great service of some of the staff members. Manzanillo has its charming sides, although the hotel is located so close to the town that it caused us inconveniences by night. Suites are spacious, clean, well decorated, comfortable. We had a nice time outside Cartagena, but we both agreed on the fact that the price/quality wasn't fair at all. More services or more complete services must be offered.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lovelylittle boutique hotel on the beach about 20 minutes outside of Cartagena. Probably not a place for the average beach snob as the beach is pretty narrow (non existent when the tide is up) and there's quite an undertow but if you want to hang out and do pretty much nothing for a few days, it's a great spot. Staff are fantastic (I needed a cash machine and Marfe offered to drive me 10 mins up the road AND took me for a manicure while she was at it) and the food is great too. There is literally nothing in town so bring your own entertainment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

For what I was expecting and for the idea of our trip, 5 full days in Cartagena City would have been to much for us. We could have peacefull days at the beach and when we wanted, we headed to the city. The beach where the Hotel is located, is not crystal blue, but its clean and has a perfect water temperature. The village around the Hotel is very nice and is worth a walk for those who may want to see a real and interesting part of Colombia.
The food and drinks in the Hotel are not cheap at all, as what we have seen, almost the same prices as very good restaurants in the City, but it is as good as them.
There is a peacefulll deck perfect for chilling out and the rooms are perfect for what they are meant to. Maria Fernanda and her team are very helpfull, specially the guy who work there and is always using a bag. One detail : the shower has no hot water but it´s definetely not a problem, much on the contrary,you wont even miss it. Its a very good choice, you wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kohsamui Hotel de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohsamui Hotel de Mar

Address: Tranv 2 No 3-51 | Manzanillo del Mar, Cartagena 00000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohsamui Hotel de Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located north east of Cartagena de Indias, is just twelve minutes from airport and twenty minutes fron historical center.We have four beautiful rooms breadfast include.We are happy to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Kohsamui Hotel de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohsamui Hotel de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.