We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kohsamui Hotel de Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kohsamui Hotel de Mar to your Saves list
Kohsamui Hotel de Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tranv 2 No 3-51 | Manzanillo del Mar, Cartagena 00000, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lovelylittle boutique hotel on the beach about 20 minutes outside of Cartagena. Probably not a place for the average beach snob as the beach is pretty narrow (non existent when the tide is up) and there's quite an undertow but if you want to hang out and do pretty much nothing for a few days, it's a great spot. Staff are fantastic (I needed a cash machine and Marfe offered to drive me 10 mins up the road AND took me for a manicure while she was at it) and the food is great too. There is literally nothing in town so bring your own entertainment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    26
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
65
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

For what I was expecting and for the idea of our trip, 5 full days in Cartagena City would have been to much for us. We could have peacefull days at the beach and when we wanted, we headed to the city. The beach where the Hotel is located, is not crystal blue, but its clean and has a perfect water temperature. The village around the Hotel is very nice and is worth a walk for those who may want to see a real and interesting part of Colombia.
The food and drinks in the Hotel are not cheap at all, as what we have seen, almost the same prices as very good restaurants in the City, but it is as good as them.
There is a peacefulll deck perfect for chilling out and the rooms are perfect for what they are meant to. Maria Fernanda and her team are very helpfull, specially the guy who work there and is always using a bag. One detail : the shower has no hot water but it´s definetely not a problem, much on the contrary,you wont even miss it. Its a very good choice, you wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at Kohsamui after 4 days in the Old City. Maria and her staff went above and beyond to make sure we had all we needed the moment we needed it. You get much more than you pay for in the way of service and accommodation. The rooms are simple, but chic and well equipped. The food is delicious as well. Local specialties with the freshest ingredients are prepared at your request. Do keep in mind that by virtue of "by request" it takes awhile to be served, so do not wait until you are starving to make your order.
The next time we find ourselves in Cartegena, we will be sure to pay Maria a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Kohsamui very much! What a perfect change from the everyday large hotel. Kohsamui is hidden away on the beach in Manzanillo. From the moment we arrived Maria and the rest staff were absolutely incredible. Everyone was so sweet & helpful. The food and drinks were delicious and made fresh to order. The rooms were adorable! We stayed in a standard one night and in a suite the second night.
We really enjoyed the hammocks on the second floor. We spent time there just listening to the waves crash.
On our last day we got massages on the third floor of the hotel overlooking the beach.
If you're looking for a relaxing vacation away from the noise and traffic, I highly recommend Kohsamui! It was refreshing to stay somewhere quaint and out of the ordinary. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I want to thank Mrs Maria and her team for the great relaxing days at Kohsamui. It was after our long trip in Bolivia and Colombia the best choice to stay there for 5 days to relax. We looked for a silent place and we found it at Kohsamui. We had the beach and the water in front of us. The perfect environment let us to calm down, even if the beach was a bit dirty and the water is not like playa blanca, was it the perfect stay for us. We are really recommend Kohsamui for people who are looking for relaxing, romantic and chilling days.

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind super. Die Suiten haben einen Fernseher, sind größer und haben dadurch eine größere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I will probably end up reiterating much of what has already been written about this INCREDIBLE place, but nonetheless, Kohsamui Hotel del Mar deserves every bit of praise. This place is an absolute sanctuary, tucked away in a quiet seaside village about 20 minutes outside Cartagena. There is literally nothing to do in the town. You will fill your days swimming in the warm ocean, enjoying the stretch of beach that you will have almost exclusively to yourself, reading books, napping and drinking cold beer in the hammocks, and eating the most delicious food. MaFe and her wonderful staff make you feel like you are staying in a 5 star hotel - going out of their way to make sure you have everything you need to be happy (and in our case it was keeping us stocked with awesome coffee, cold beer and fresh seafood). They even let us borrow speakers for our iPod when they noticed my husband and I were listening separately to our iPods with headphones.

The food was the best we had in Colombia, and as many other reviewers said, we found ourselves eagerly anticipating each and every meal. Osirus is an incredible cook and will cater to whatever you want. But do yourself a favor and enjoy as much of the fresh seafood as possible while here (the ceviche was especially delicious). Do not even bother attempting to eat elsewhere in this small village (not that there are many options), instead savor every last meal you can at Kohsamui because this food is pretty special.

The 4 rooms here are beautifully decorated. You feel like you are staying in this incredible beachside treehouse (which is pretty much what it is). The beds are comfortable, the room spacious, and the bathroom more than sufficient. No, there is no "hot" water but the water is far from cold. I love a good hot shower as much as the next person but with the heat and humidity the water temperature is actually quite refreshing. There are no TVs in the room and trust me, it is for the best. It would be a shame to waste one second watching TV when you have such beautiful surroundings to enjoy.

Our 3 days at Kohsamui were the epitome of relaxation and exactly what we needed after the busy portions of our trip in Bogota and Cartagena. We could have easily stayed for a week, a month, or forever. Our time at Kohsamui will go down as some of our favorite holiday memories of all time. Trust the reviews - you will be so, so happy you came here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights and loved it! Ate breakfast lunch and dinner there, sometimes in our room, on our balcony, on the main floor or on the beach! The food was delicious and made to order-a HUGE deal since I am a vegetarian. The staff was so accommodating-always ready with a cold beer! I wold definitely recommend the place and would stay there again, no question. No hot water but that's the deal pretty much everywhere. There was also no TV in our room, which was a bummer only because the Olympics were on...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kohsamui Hotel de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohsamui Hotel de Mar

Address: Tranv 2 No 3-51 | Manzanillo del Mar, Cartagena 00000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohsamui Hotel de Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located north east of Cartagena de Indias, is just twelve minutes from airport and twenty minutes fron historical center.We have four beautiful rooms breadfast include.We are happy to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kohsamui Hotel de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohsamui Hotel de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.