We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fare price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Pietro Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Pietro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Pietro Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 3a. No.4 - 101, Cartagena 4401, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
moscow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fare price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

nice small hotel located in Bocagrande, 5 min from beach (walking) and 5 min from the old city center by taxi (3$). the advantage is hot water which is not at all an essential option in catragena hotels. hotel is old, but rooms are rather spacious, helpful staff, very good breakfast. small jacuzzi and hammoks on the rooftop. the only dislikes were the window facing literally another wall of the building and wifi in the room was poor. although, wifi was fast in all public areas. to summarize, i´d come back, the hotel has more "+" than "-" and it was very fare deal.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    75
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
73
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Excellent hotel, cozy and with friendly staff. Rooftop jacuzzi and relaxing area. Clean and very wel maintained. Look forward to return there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This hotel (San Pietro Hotel) is the same as Hotel Da Pietro on the Trip Advisor reviews, so read both reviews together to get the complete reviews of this hotel. As with the vast majority of the folks in Cartagena, the people at the hotel were very nice and helpful. I enjoyed the boutique feeling of the hotel, the top floor patio and first floor veranda were really stellar, as was the library area. I was bitten by no-see-ums, but it wasn't to the level of what we have here in Fort Lauderdale, Fl. I found the standard room to be a bit claustrophobic and musty but then we upgraded to a superior room and it was much better -- really made all of the difference. The tv was old (one reviewer said he had a plasma tv -- we most definitely did not). The air conditioner was great (and drowned out the tv). I don't know how come everyone else had hot water, but I rarely had hot water (my Husband said he had hot water every time but one). We both had the same experience with the water pressure -- non-existent when using hot water. I found the beds to be really comfortable. Even though the streets are quite nosiy, the rooms were always so quiet -- that was GREAT! The place was sparking clean -- seriously spotless. The included breakfasts were delicious and the hotel restaurant is also very good. I don't know how well you'd get along without speaking any Spanish. I don't speak Spanish all that well, but I found all that I knew incredibly useful. I doubt we would have been able to do as much or have had as enjoyable a time -- certainly not in Bocagrande -- without being able to communicate in Spanish. I recommend the hotel, if you want a basic, friendly quaint hotel and don't need three or four star amenities.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010 via mobile

A little pricey but worth it. Clean rooms, hot water, great food in the restaurant down stairs, and the staff was awesome!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My stay at Hotel San Pietro was all good. The staff here was very helpful and friendly. The room was totally clean with no problems. The bathroom was clean as a whistle and the a/c worked very well in the room. I received a lemonade upon checking in, thats a nice touch, I was thirsty. Wi-Fi is also available, but you have to pay and they have their own computers-so I just used them. Laundry can also be taken care of but I didn't check the prices and was surprised at checkout with the price, but thats my bad. They have a couple jacuzzis on the roof but I didn't use them as it was quite hot out during my stay. The breakfast buffet was a good way to start the morning, it was included with my room price so I had to make sure and take advantage of this- it runs from 7am-10am. The area is close to the beach so you can walk no problem, plenty of restaurants, and shops as well. They have an Italian Restaurant connected to the hotel, I never tried it, but people were usually eating there. The area is also pretty nice, you do not have to worry about a shady element here. A cab ride to the Old City is around 4-6,000 peso range, depending on the time of day. This is definitely an affordable yet quality place to stay in Cartagena.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We just returned from Cartagena and were very pleased with our stay at San Pietro. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was healthy and very filling. We met the owner who was also very friendly. It's about 5 minutes from the old walled city and you can either take a bus for 1,300 or taxi for 5,000 pesos. There are plenty of places to eat, shop and banks with ATMs within walking distance. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room was quiet and kept very, very clean throughout our 7 nights stay. Nice plasma tv if you're looking for some down time in your room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Just gorgeous. Simply fantastic.
In spite of being in the caribe for this our last trip and another years, it feels great to discover a new gem.
Everything is personalised: service, rooms, decoration, incredible pasta and other marvellous dishes.
Beside is is in the historical place, the main one of Cartagena de Indias and really close to the major beaches.
Hope in a future would be able to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Pietro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pietro Hotel

Address: Carrera 3a. No.4 - 101, Cartagena 4401, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pietro Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Pietro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Pietro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.