We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lee to your Saves list
Hotel Lee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Larga N 8B-148 Centro, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 126 Hotels in Cartagena
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Lee while attending Nueva Lengua language school in Cartagena. It was perfect for what we wanted (comfortable, clean lodging for a month) and stayed within our budget. Luis, the manager, and the rest of the staff were extremely attentive and personable. The hotel was located 5minutes from our school and close too many of the popular bars and clubs ( within walking distance). Beds were comfortable and there was a separate room with a kitchen, table and sleeper sofa. Bathroom was small. Decent breakfast included and delivered to our room; however, coffee was not good. Small pool on roof which was nice during hot summer days.
Overall, it was perfect for what we needed and wanted. I would definitely recommend it to those looking for a comfortable, affordable and clean stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
21
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel Lee is located close to the harbor in Cartagena.
It takes 15 min from the airport to the hotel, it costs around 9500 Colombian pesos (6 USD) to get there.
PLUS:
Nice clean rooms. Ok beds, Tv, safety box, little balcony, AC, bathroom
Breakfast ok for the price you pay, (fruit, eggs, coffee, juice, bread)
Little Nice pool up on the roof, nice terrace with a very nice view to the sea
Nice location close to the harbor and downtown, you can take a walk there.
Close to some restaurants
Reception 24 hrs
MINUS:
Wifi works so close to the reception as possible
-No restaurant at the hotel
- Cold water, but you can take a shower anyway
- avoid rooms close to the street since its a lot of noice from the street
- No service mind at all. The staff was no too very helpful with the booking of the tours, they promised to help us with some reservations but they never did that. We were forced to rush and fix the tours by ourselves! The breakfast was supposed to be served at 6:30 am according to the reception, the woman working at the breakfast didn't want to serve us since it was 25th of December and they do start later(?). She and the receptionist had a discussion about that.

In few words, you get what you pay, no mor not less.

Room Tip: Don't stay at a room close to the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel Lee is nicely situated in the old part of Cartagena. During our stay we had a room for four persons. The room was divided in two floors. The room was nice, clean, and had good aircondition. They said there was warm water but i didn't get it to work. But in the warm climate of Cartagena it wasn't anything I considered important.

WiFi didn't work in room. Only at some places in the hotel. For example close to the reception.

The breakfast was very simple. Coffee, juice, fruit, and egg. If you want a proper breakfast i recommend you to eat somewhere else.

There also seem to be a lack of communication within the hotel. At the reception they said the breakfast starts a 6.30. But the woman at the breakfast didn't want to serve any breakfast before 7.00 a.m.

One receptionist told us that we could book tours in the reception. When we had decided day and everything there was a another receptionist. She told us that the only way to do it was to go to another place by foot 20 minutes from the hotel. A bit dissapointing.

But if it wasn't for these incidents I think it would have been a pleasant stay considering it was a cheap option, nicely situated.

Avoid rooms close to the street. It was a bit noisy with traffic, and a nightclub nearby. Enjoy the nice pool area and view at the roof of the hotel!

Room Tip: If possible choose a room on a high floor away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Affordable hotel not too far from the city walls. The immediate neighborhood has some great hip bars, better than anything inside the walls. There's a good restaurant a few doors down (la casa de socorro) and a delicious empanada vendor at the church around the corner. Hotel rooms were spare, but clean. Decent breakfasts on the roof with nice views.

Downsides: mosquitos in the main courtyard and loud music from the nightclub next door late into the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the left hand side (facing the hotel) away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I booked this last minute, was concerned due to reports it was noisy & delay getting back to me re reservation, but it was perfect. In Getsemani, it was literally 2 blocks from my Spanish school and 5 min to Old City. Food in Getsemani is like $5 for lunch and 20 for nice dinner compared to 10 and 50 in the Old City. You should be prepared to walk alot, its a very pleasant city to wander and see much more than taxis, which are cheap at 5 or 6000 pesos ($3-4) if you want. This hotel was perfect for my boyfriend and I because we got a huge room with kitchen area large enough to use as dance floor to practice as we are salsa dancers. Had separate AC controls for bedroom and living room, important as we needed max AC for dancing but not sleeping. Mr Babilla club is adjacent, but we adked for room on other side and heard nothing. It had no natural light as window opened to covered atrium, but that was not a problem except 1 nite when power went out to the whole block && woke up coz so hot& wouldve liked fresh air. Big frig, wouldve liked more towels, facecloths (will never understand why they dont seem to use them outside N.America), but this place was a bargain at$108 night for 2 including breakfast, served to order on the incredible deck. Pool lovely if small & view from roof amazing. Nice staff. Would also have liked to pay on credit card but machine broken. Also, the places to dance salsa (Cafe Havana, Donde Fidel, & Quiebra Canto) & other good dance places (Tasca Maria for merengue & bachata by request, Hotel MediaLuna for reggaeton, Macondo for free performances & 2 for 1 drinks) are nearly all inGetsemani. I felt completely safe all the time. There are a few prostitutes next to Quiebra Canto on Calle Media Luna, but we walked on Calle Larga (next over) and was totally fine. We had booked another place back in Centro to be in the Old City (see my review of Casa Gloria) but came back to Hotel Lee for the space and quiet. Almost dont want to let this secret out! Only thing we missed was we were so happy at Lee that we didnt go to Bocagrande til our last nite (poured rain) and found a lovely beach promenade where I would also like to stay for the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Visited Cartagena in March 2012. Spent one night at Hotel Lee. We found it very affordable and clean. The staff spoke some English and treated us very well. Breakfast was included in the reasonable price. Location was great. Nice views from the roof top pool area. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Cartagena!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Hotel Lee, is situated in a lovely location, and the manager Luis & staff were excellent but for me the noise level from the surrounding clubs was intrusive and possible not a good selling point unless your holiday is about clubbing until 7am each morning as it would seem the best clubs are situated in a road immediately behind the hotel. Luckily I had ear plugs to dampen the noise, which allowed me to get some sleep. The breakfast billed as American isn't it's basically eggs scrambled or fried with toast and an under generous portion of jam!! pineapple juice tea or coffee. Breakfast is either in your room or on the roof terrace area, which has limited seating to shield you from the sun, which can be fierce from early on!! The hotel has one bed apartments and one bed standard rooms, and the difference in price is marginal, which is slightly confusing as you would expect to pay at least 50% more. There was no key for the safe deposit box although the hotel was securely manned at all times and we were advised that the keys had been misplaced and they were awaiting replacements, which didn't happen in the 10 nights we stayed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room or one bed apartment situated towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#38 of 126 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
#87 of 126 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Alejandria
Hotel Casa Alejandria
#63 of 126 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#27 of 126 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centro Hotel
Centro Hotel
#81 of 126 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat
Allure Chocolat
#10 of 126 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lee

Address: Calle Larga N 8B-148 Centro, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 126 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lee 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Building Reads is placed in the downtown, to a step of the Center of Conventions of Cartagena of The Indies, with an excellent sight to the Bay of Cartagena. From his(her,your) arrival you will remain captivated by his(her,your) impressive colonial architecture and his(her,your) delicate details. Recently remodelled and reset. Conditioned to offer to him(her) an excellent atmosphere of exclusivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.