We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget option - suits couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Colonial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Colonial to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Colonial
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Getsemani, Calle de las Maravillas no 30 - 60, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 127 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent budget option - suits couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and thought it was a great place to stay, we paid approx US$50 per night for a double with bathroom. It is definitely a budget hotel but it's great value and a really nice place to stay. The room was big and clean with a fan and AC plus we got one of the rooms with a balcony facing the street so it was nice to get natural light (it looked like some of the rooms had no windows). We didn't run into lots of other guests so it's probably not suited to people looking to meet other travellers.

There is a kitchen which is new and pretty well stocked with utensils. It was also kept clean and was next to a nice courtyard which was a really pleasant place to eat.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. The front door is locked at all times which is also reassuring. Not sure why it's in the B&B section of trip advisor because they don't serve breakfast but they do give you coffee which always helps!

While its not in the old town it really close and you can walk there quickly. Its around a heap of other hostels/hotels so there are lots of travellers and travel agencies around. We really liked getsemani - it is a bit grubby and rough around the edges but it has lots of charm
and there is always something going on. The local square is great place to sit and people watch in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    62
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
63
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at this "hotel" for 3 nights on arrival into Colombia and Cartagena.
First off, its a little difficult to find but once you are there you can easily walk to the town without problems. Other reviews are right that this isnt the nicest street or part of town but i didnt feel unsafe (though always walked with my boyfriend) It would have been nicer to be more central though.

The Room
The rooms are are based around a central courtyard. The window faces into the courtyyard and is a hole in the wall with bars and shutters. It is ok to leave open while you are in however not advisable to leave open while you are out as it provides relatively easy access to the room.
The room was booked was a deluxe double. What we got was a small room with a double and single bed - between them they took up the entire room and there was barely room to move around them. We also booked a room with aircon - which was there but didnt work. We did have a fan however i felt rather nervous with it on as it was hanging out from the ceiling. In the end thoug, we had to have it on all the time as the room became so hot and airless that it was stiffling. The sheets were thin and old and although they may be washed they were not clean looking.
The bathroom was tiny and dirty. The toiler rool dispenser is what you would get in public toilets. The bins were never emptied the 3 days we were there and the rooms werent cleaned either.

The staff overall were really lovely and were very helpful even with my broken spanish. They also were great letting us in (the doors are locked and guarded at night) in the early hours.

By the end of 3 days i couldnt wait to leave there and get to the 4* hotel we were moving to. Although this place is very cheap there is reason for that! I did not enjoy my stay and i unfortunately would not recommend unless you are on a very very tight budget.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

After weeks of slumming it in Colombian backpacker dorms and putting up with all the gap year flash-packer nonsense, this place was a welcome relief. It's quite a comfortable hotel, with a decent balcony and useable kitchen. The rooms are not overly expensive (I negotiated 40,000 pesos for a single), they include a private bathroom, cable TV and wifi. Some rooms are fans, some are AC. Overall I found it to be a good place to relax and I met some interesting and slightly more mature travelers here too. Only downside is that at the time of writing they are carrying out lots of renovations which are noisy (in the day) and also causing intermittent issues with power etc!

Room Tip: The top floor single next to the balcony is in a perfect location if you intend on going back and fo...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

After pre booking a room I arrived here in the late evening to only find out that there was no more room available! I was taken to another hostel a few blocks away where I got offered a rather non-descript room without any windows at all and a low ceiling! While I actually booked the more luxurious room. After obviously not accepting this they offered me a discount of literally...2 USD on a 70 USD booking! Utter nonsense of course!

If you as a hotelmanager make a mistake you shouldn't let the customer be the one who has to bear the problems resulting from the mistake! To sum things up: if you want bad service this is your place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I was so looking forward to staying at Villa Colonia after research on the web but my stay was disappointing to say the least. As another reviewer said there is some confusion of images etc between this hotel and its much more upmarket sister hotel on the main road. We didn't get the place we were expecting.
Our room was so small you could barely move and the bathroom run down and tiny. The shower was cold and not powerful at all. The main problem was that because the place is so hot and rooms so cramped the small ceiling fan does nothing except blow hot air around, so we found ourselves having to literally sit out on the street until late at night when the place cooled down enough to go inside.
The area its in is also a bit grotty and sketchy but the beautiful old town is only a 10 minute walk away.
The other plus point is that the staff are friendly and welcoming even if they can't speak a word of English.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intercourse, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

First the picture shown at the header in T/A is not this hotel. This hotel is situated in a small side street off Media Luna. No green grassy areas. Its located in Getsemani an older slightly more rundown version of old town. And only about a 10 walk from the historic Old Town. The area does have lots of hostels, backpackers and restaurants. At night it seems slightly shakey but I never really felt unsafe.
The hotel is a pretty good bargin for the price COP 47,00 for 2 in an A/C room. You get a computer downstairs in the lobby and/or a strong WiFi signal. There are also a few snacks and drinks available in the lobby. Expect only limited English to be spoken here although everyone is very friendly. And the e-mail communication was fast, friendly and in good English so making a reservation was easy with no deposit required.
The room was somewhat basic but did have a TV. Never turned it on so cant tell you much there. the room itself was clean with comfortable beds. Only had a top and bottom sheet but with the warm weather nothing additional was needed. It was only about 80-85 outside but the a/c did very little to cool the room off. The ceiling fan helped much more than the a/c. Can't imagine what it would be like in the summer. The bath room had only a cold water shower was slightly cramped with a pretty small area for the toilet, anyone on the large side would have found it a difficult fit.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and for the price would be back.

Room Tip: Had an interior room which although the a/c in our particular room was not very efficient, the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This hotel is a great place to stay while sight seeing the old city. The Getsemani area in general is a bit dodgy, but the hotel is only half a block from the main street which is reasonably safe and we never really felt unsafe walking around even at night. Martha and her staff are super nice and extremely helpful and the tinto's served for free in the morning delicious.

The rooms themselves are simple but clean and very secure. The place has an indoor courtyard and the rooms (at least the ones we've seen) only have windows facing the court yard. That makes them a bit dark but it also means there is no way anyone is getting in or out without the 24hr guard or the staff noticing. We called ours "the cave" and we LOVED it after a day of sight seeing in the scorching Cartagena sun :) The room we had was with air-conditioning and had cable tv. There is no hot water in the hotel though, but after a day in Cartagena, you start to love the cold water.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Colonial

Address: Getsemani, Calle de las Maravillas no 30 - 60, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.