We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Santa Ana

Save Saved
You added Casa Santa Ana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Santa Ana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   EL Carretero | Calle 29 No. 10B-34, Cartagena 05, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“I will come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My stay at Casa Santa Ana is really one to remember. I felt very comfortable already when they opened the door. What a nice Hotel and what a warm people. The check-in was perfect. The room was very comfortable and the design the proof of a good taste. I had a good night sleep, top bed. The breakfast in the morning was like I want to have it .... tasty and fresh. The service was even better than at The four Seasons, the one I visited before my trip to Cartagena, in France we say " CHAPEAU"! No doubts I will recommend Casa Santa Ana by everybody. I'm not use to write a review but this time .... Thanks .....

Room Tip: All the rooms will make you feel home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
44
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were a bit dubious about staying in Getsemani, as our original hotel in the San Diego area had double booked us, and we had to move to the Santa Ana. However, the location was great, near the lively Park de Santisima Trinidad. The staff were all extremely pleasant.

We were collected from the airport by an efficient driver. However, we later learned from our friends who had arrived a couple of hours earlier that he had no idea how to get to Santa Ana. But many of the hotels seem to be unmarked from the road. A tax dodge maybe? And the roads are numbered on some maps, and have names on others. All a tad confusing.

We had a huge 42" plasma TV in the room, and although we got ESPN and FoxSoccer, the reception was not HD - typical of many S. American broadcasts.

Wifi was free and good. Apart from the Sunday, when it went to a crawl. When I asked about it, the manager apologised and said it would be fixed on Monday - which it was.

The AC was more than adequate, plus there is a fan in the room. There is a fridge, but no coffee maker. Which is why we travel with an immersion heater.

In the bathroom, the hot water was a little temperamental. It could take a while to warm up, and then it could go cool during the shower, before coming back to hot. Nothing I couldn't get used to.

The price of hotels in the old town are all pretty pricey. You can get a better deal in one of the tower hotels in Bocagrande, but if you are looking for a quaint stay amongst other non-touristy tourists, Casa Santa Ana is pretty good.

Room Tip: There is one room on the ground floor, the other 4 require walking up a flight of stairs. None of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for part of our honeymoon. I echo the sentiments of past reviews. Very cozy hotel with a very attentive staff; great breakfast! We had the place to ourselves during our 3 night stay.

We actually had an unfortunate situation that the hotel dealt with with grace. Due to a missed connection flight in Bogota, we arrive one day late at the hotel. Before I arrived, the hotel staff had already called the website we booked through (venere.com) and had our first night waived. I was fully prepared to have to pay for the first night, but thanks to the thoughtful staff I didn't have to!!! Great experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Hotel during the Carnival of Cartagena. We found the location of the hotel excellent. In the old town but in the part which has remained relatively untouched by tourists, we could meddle with the locals and feel the real Cartagena (well, rather the old town which is a world of its own, as the outside districts are very poor and can be dangerous for foreigners). Rooms were a tiny small we found but very clean and functional, decorated in a rather modern style (white leather etc.). It was noisy but eh, this was Carnival so no worries. However, we felt the rooms could be a bit noisy overall. Breakfast was good but quantities not huge. A bit pricy - perhaps justified by the upper floor swimming pool? - we enjoyed our stay there. Service was a bit absent - we saw the owner only once in 3 days but friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great little house with only 5 rooms and fabulous staff that will make you feel like a queen. The best bed I ever slept on in Colombia. Breakfast yummy and the internet worked well. The house is located in Gestsamani which is not the best area of the city but a quick 15 minutes walk to Old Town. I was sad when it was time to check out. I felt like I was leaving family! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Casa Santa Ana for three days this November in the week leading up to Cartagena's biggest party (the national beauty pageant). That said we were the only guests in the 5 room hotel. We were welcomed warmly and put into a very pretty room with air conditioning (thank goodness). Other guests arrived the next day but the attention of the ladies who run the hotel did not wane.

Pluses:
1. Breakfast was delicious with a different fresh fruit juice each day. You could be served anytime from 730-11 which I think is fantastic particularly for those who might be out late enjoying Cartagena's night life. Just be forewarned if you want the typical breakfast you need to order a day in advance as they make breakfasts on the spot per request and may either need more time for prep or to buy the ingredients.
2. Hotel itself was very pretty, surprisingly peaceful for the most part given its location near Plaza de la Trinidad (with the exception of young kids pounding on the doors at night), had spa services though can't recommend as they seemed overpriced and we did not use, and a small rooftop pool with a lovely view of the castillo - perfect for cooling off after a long day in the heat.
3. Room was comfortable, towels were fluffy and they offered L'Occitane products

Minuses:
1. Location. This can be seen as a plus or minus depending on your view of being in Getsemani, This is not (yet) the touristy area and can seem sketchy to those unaccustomed to the Carribean culture. On the other hand, those who want a taste of the real Cartagena, you will be in the heart of it. The hotel is also about an 8 to 10-minute walk to the start of the old city. Not bad unless the humidity is high (which it was most times) and you end up arriving at your destination covered in sweat.
2. Inconsistent Service. Of the three nights, we were there, we received turn-down service oncedespite the fact we left the hotel at almost the same time every night. Minor detail but should be noted.
3. Other issues. The shower head in our room was broken and temporarily being held together with tape. It worked but not really a sign of a nice boutique hotel that costs over $200 a night. The bathroom door was also a bit of problem (opening and closing). And to get into the hotel you had to ring the bell and it could take some time for them to answer. Not dealbreakers but again worth noting.

Overall, however, this was a beautiful hotel with very attentive service and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at the Casa Santa Ana for a fall weekend and had the nicest time. The house is absolutely beautiful--nicely decorated, modern amenities, L'Occitane bathroom products--and the incredibly warm and welcoming staff made the entire experience so enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious with a lot of choices and incredible, fresh juices every morning. Casa Santa Ana is located in a mostly locals-only neighborhood of Getsemani, about an 8-minute walk from the walled city. The colors, people, music and life surrounding the Plaza de La Trinidad (at the end of the street) made the area feel so vibrant and fun. Cafe Havana is a great spot with amazing live music 2 blocks away. In spite of the heat and energy right outside the house, my room was quiet, air-conditioned and peaceful. Casa Santa Ana is a total treat.

Room Tip: I specified a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Ana

Address: EL Carretero | Calle 29 No. 10B-34, Cartagena 05, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#13 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Santa Ana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Santa Ana is a tipical seventeenth century colonial house, located in the heart of getsemani, a central neighborhood of Cartagena de indias, every detail was restored preserving its original architecture, contrasting whit a contemporany decor convined whit handcrafted itemsand antiques. its a caribbean atmosphere where personal attention and confort will make you feel al home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Casa Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santa Ana Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Santa Ana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.