We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice" but could do much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Lola

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Lola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Lola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro Calle del Guerrero No. 29-108, Cartagena 094, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CO$323,516 (COP)
Ranked #34 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Nice" but could do much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

1. No internet available in all areas
2. The worst coffee ever in Colombia
3. The room is quite uncomfortable... The shower on one side, the sink on another, the wc room without A/C
4. No privacy... We could perfectly watch other's guests shower room from ours
5. Nevertheless, service is awesome, thanks to Amauri and Orlando and Rafael at the front desk, Jaffet serving breakfast! Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    59
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
128
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. I literally looked at over 20 hotels in Cartagena before deciding on Casa Lola. It is located outside the walled city but it is super close and easy wak and in the end we were actually happy we were in Gestemani as it forced us to explore more of the city and there are heaps of cheap eats and bars close by.

The hotel is very lovely and our room was clean and well styled. We were really keen to have a pool in our hotel as the humidity is extremely high and it's nice to be able to just chill out. The roof top pools are small but honestly they were perfect and have a great view.

The breakfast inuded is lovely - fruit to start and then eggs how you prefer on toast.

For the price I would highly recommend this. I really wanted to stay in the old town at the Softel originally however I checked this out when we arrived and whilst a nice pool it just doesn't feel as authentic as the boutique hotels and Casa Lola really made us feel part of the culture.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel blow my mind away. My partner and I wanted to experience the old town and Casa Lola was the best option we could find. this gorgeous boutique hotel offers excellent service (Claudia and all the hotel staff are extremely helpful). The food in the mornings is excellent and do not miss a sunset in the rooftop pool with a delicious coctail (Pina coladas are great). Rooms are very clean and stylish. the location of the hotel is not right in the middle of the old city however, it is littlerally borderline between getsemani and the clock tower, so is just a short walk to the best restaurants and bars, plus Cafe havana is literally down the road. Love this hotel, cant wait to be back :) Thanks Casa Lola

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Great peaceful place to stay. Close to everything within walking distance. The customer service is wonderful and you'll always feel at home. Wifi does not work well in the rooms, but in the patio it works perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pretty interior design but with zero thought to safety. Beware this hotel is a real death trap, it's a matter of time before a guest is seriously injured or dies.

In the main staircase of the building there is no hand rail despite it being quite high. There is a shard glass balustrade with big sections missing on the other side.

In our room we had a 3m high platform over a stone floor with second bed. Totally inadequate wooden decorative handrails. No hand rails at all on the stairs up to this platform. The Staircase itself was very poorly constructed and was wobbly.

Highly slippery polished floor finish next to the swimming pool, caused our daughter a nasty fall.

Loud music from the street. Wifi didn't work. Two hour power cut. Shower was cold. Breakfast was poor. Coffee undrinkable.

Finally the quoted price of 280,000 was jacked up to over 400,00. Got hit by 90 000, extra charge for our six year old daughter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a nice well-designed boutique hotel. The public spaces -- especially the garden where you have breakfast -- are lovely. However, the rooms are more stylish than they are functional. For example, the bathrooms are small and open to the room so there's little privacy. Overall I enjoyed the hotel, but I wish it had been located inside the old city walls.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We found this property searching boutique hotels and for a change, it was true to it's word...
Amazing staff that really pulled out all the stops to make our stay perfect.
Breakfast was large and really good.
Easy access to the walled part of the city.
Fun fun fun and the perfect little secret for Cartagena...

Room Tip: All the rooms are well designed and face the interior courtyard. There are rooms that are larger on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Lola

Address: Centro Calle del Guerrero No. 29-108, Cartagena 094, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Lola 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Lola Luxury Collection combines eclectic boutique decoration with high quality services and affordable prices together at the historical city in Cartagena. 10 rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, security box, bathroom, international calls, room service, breakfast included, pools, chill out zone, solarium, cocktails, laundry service, massages and other. You can enjoy the best mojitos available in the city, share with friends at the chill out zone with ambiance music or take a sun tan at the privacy of your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa Lola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Lola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.