We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of theatre set design not a hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Lola

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Lola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Lola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro Calle del Guerrero No. 29-108, Cartagena 094, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Cartagena
Zurich
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A piece of theatre set design not a hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pretty interior design but with zero thought to safety. Beware this hotel is a real death trap, it's a matter of time before a guest is seriously injured or dies.

In the main staircase of the building there is no hand rail despite it being quite high. There is a shard glass balustrade with big sections missing on the other side.

In our room we had a 3m high platform over a stone floor with second bed. Totally inadequate wooden decorative handrails. No hand rails at all on the stairs up to this platform. The Staircase itself was very poorly constructed and was wobbly.

Highly slippery polished floor finish next to the swimming pool, caused our daughter a nasty fall.

Loud music from the street. Wifi didn't work. Two hour power cut. Shower was cold. Breakfast was poor. Coffee undrinkable.

Finally the quoted price of 280,000 was jacked up to over 400,00. Got hit by 90 000, extra charge for our six year old daughter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    63
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
19
141
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a nice well-designed boutique hotel. The public spaces -- especially the garden where you have breakfast -- are lovely. However, the rooms are more stylish than they are functional. For example, the bathrooms are small and open to the room so there's little privacy. Overall I enjoyed the hotel, but I wish it had been located inside the old city walls.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We found this property searching boutique hotels and for a change, it was true to it's word...
Amazing staff that really pulled out all the stops to make our stay perfect.
Breakfast was large and really good.
Easy access to the walled part of the city.
Fun fun fun and the perfect little secret for Cartagena...

Room Tip: All the rooms are well designed and face the interior courtyard. There are rooms that are larger on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well situated on a quiet street a short walk from the Centro Historico although some of the surrounding area is a little down at heel. If i visited again i would book a hotel inside the walled old city itself rather than Getsemani.

The public areas are well decorated and stylish and I loved the courtyard with its tented seating areas and beautiful water features. The rooftop pool was also very nice.

First stay here was for one night in a standard room that was fine. However on returning after a short trip to Santa Marta the superior room I'd booked for three nights was poor. There was no hot water, the shower leaked water into the bedroom and I was woken at 7am every morning by the loud noise of a dozen or so air conditioning units on the roof above my room. I accept this is a small boutique hotel but I expected a better room for the $160 a night I paid.

To finish on a positive note, the breakfasts were tasty and the staff always very friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

For a full experience, this is the place. Fancy but not upscale. Clean, great service, best location, good price and a wonderful rooftop pool (soon to be another as they are adding on to the rooftop patio). I cant say enough about this place. The photos dont do it justice. If you asked me to give a bad note, the only one I could give would be the lack of hot water in the shower, but that would be it. That in itself wasnt bad enough for us to even complain. Who knows, it may have been just our room and no one elses. We loved the fact that there are very few rooms. We also liked stepping out into the street and being around the locals. After hearing all the skeptisism about safety, we are happy to report we there was not one time we didnt feel safe moving around the city. I will try to write more later as my battery is very low.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at Casa Lola for four nights and was very impressed with the staff, the hotel and the location. I would highly recommend it.

Pros:
Amazing staff- Maria and Rafael at the front desk were helpful, pleasant. Luce the housekeeper was very thorough in her cleaning and happy to grab extra towels etc.
Terrific breakfast- fresh fruit, plus either eggs, pancakes, cereal, yogurt or toast and juice/coffee/tea/chocolate.
Central location- Very easy to walk to Old Town, Bocagrande, Manga or other areas.
Beautiful design- loved the rooftop pool, and the lush garden inside the hotel.

Cons:
Beds- this is the only reason I would not give Casa Lola 5 stars. The beds were very firm / hard.

If you are expecting the experience (anonymity, Heavenly Beds, identical rooms, individually packaged soap) that large American chain hotels like the Hilton provide, this might not be for you. If you want to stay someplace a little different, with an eye towards design, where you'll get to know the staff, and feel at home, Casa Lola is a terrific choice.

Room Tip: As previous travelers have noted- the rooms differ greatly. I loved room 6, Jerez, which is two floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and ended up staying 1 extra night in our return from tayrona park because we liked it so much. This a very good value for money for a small boutique hotel. We loved the mixture of rustic and eclectic pieces of furniture and detail. The service we received was very good, we had a few trips and transportation organised through reception. The only thing that we would say negative about it would be the Internet connection isn't the best. We couldn't get it in our room and had to go to the communal areas to get connection but this did not spoil out stay. We would highly recommend this hotel if you appreciate architecture and interior detail.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Lola

Address: Centro Calle del Guerrero No. 29-108, Cartagena 094, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Lola 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Lola Luxury Collection combines eclectic boutique decoration with high quality services and affordable prices together at the historical city in Cartagena. 10 rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, security box, bathroom, international calls, room service, breakfast included, pools, chill out zone, solarium, cocktails, laundry service, massages and other. You can enjoy the best mojitos available in the city, share with friends at the chill out zone with ambiance music or take a sun tan at the privacy of your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Casa Lola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Lola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.