We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat and accomodating staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Lola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Lola to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Lola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro Calle del Guerrero No. 29-108, Cartagena 094, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
New York City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great retreat and accomodating staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Really unique interior, like an oasis on the back terrrace. Rooms are very comfortable and modern - wifi everywhere and awesome aircon which is crucial in Cartagena. About a 2 block walk to the more traditional old city center, along a well traveled street. The Getsemani district is not as touristy as the other half of the walled city, which has good and bad implications. Definitely recommend this place if you want to stay in Getsemani -

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    67
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
147
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Casa Lola hits right away - modern architecture within an old style villa, small pools along side the bedroom alley, filled with art. Super chic and fancy!
But the best of it is not just it great location, beautiful decor or vast and delicious breakfast - is the service! Amazing staff that wants you to feel welcomed, at home and supported in each and every experience in Cartagena. Definitely worth!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

There is much to love about this hotel: its secluded patio with lush vegetation, fountain and water channels (reminding me of the Alhambra in Spain), its unique design (by Spanish architect/owner), intriguing and almost eccentric decor (even including art from or inspired by Mao's China), its rooftop terrace offering a great view and a pool (albeit it's very shallow and small, and reached by 2 floors of narrow outdoor steps), its spacious rooms (at least ours, #9), its good breakfasts served in the patio, and its value for money (because of its location outside Centro). They even serve basic suppers, also in the patio, which is v. cozy/romantic at night.

In fairness, there are a few less-then-ideal features, starting with its location. To some, Getsemani is "trendy", "bohemian"; to others it is "still run-down, despite the beginning of renovations". The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk to the historic centre ("Centro") and is is a bit off-putting - my wife did not feel comfortable walking there after sun down (so we took a taxi - cheap and reliable in Cartagena luckily). Most rooms (including ours) face inwards, many onto the public walkways of the hotel, meaning that the sheers must always be drawn for privacy, and there is no outward facing window. (The few rooms facing the street may well be noisy from the traffic.) Also, on weekdays, there is often industrial noise (even at 7:30 breakfast) from a workshop behind the rear wall of the patio.

But on balance I still recommend this hotel, for the reasons mentioned at the outset.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Quality boutique hotel in the old town. Friendly and helpful staff. Architecturally very impressive. Definitely worth the extra for the master suite.

In Cartagena I would definitely stay in the Old Town.
Our trip to Bocagrande (part of Cartagena) where most of the chain hotels are, was unpleasant. Modern, characterless and non-stop pestering by hawkers.

Room Tip: The Master Suite is probably the best room I've ever stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We really enjoyed the hospitality here. The staff were very friendly and courteous. Raphael was very helpful (spoke french and english well) with all our travel and excursion needs and always offered good advice and the girls that cooked and served breakfast were super friendly with big smiles every morning.
The decor is unique and stylish. With interesting selection or art and sculpture. I shared a room with two friends (the room with the loft) and the room was always spotless and cool with the A/C. My only issue was the comfort of the small single beds in that room. they were a little too firm.

The hotel is located in Getsemani, which is more colourful (read transitional) then the old citi but there are so many great little restaurants and bars it is very convenient.

Room Tip: Our room with the loft was facing the street and was a little loud Saturday night because of a house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had such a wonderful experience here at Casa Lola. The staff is incredible and the rooftop pool is beautiful! Super close to the the walled city and I felt really safe there. My Husband got a stomach bug somewhere along the way on our travels and the staff was really concerned about him. They sent us tea and would ask all about his symptoms to see if there was anything they could do to help! We ended up getting a really late night flight back to bogota so we needed the room until 9pm instead of normal check out time and I asked if we could rent if for half a day. They said it wasn't a problem at all and gave me a 50% of the room rate of the internet special I had booked through kayak. Loved this place and I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

We just loved staying at casa Lola. The staff is helpfull, the styling of the entire place is wonderfully done and the rooms are magnificent. And..the price is very reasonable!

They serve a great (price included) breakfast as well. The rooftop pool is not big but very nice and private. Getsemani is a great neighborhood to stay: vibrant, colorful and filled with restaurants and bars.
The Spanish owner has also purchased the big property next door so next year Casa Lola will be twice as big with also an extra pool...

Go stay here , you'll love it!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Lola

Address: Centro Calle del Guerrero No. 29-108, Cartagena 094, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Lola 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Lola Luxury Collection combines eclectic boutique decoration with high quality services and affordable prices together at the historical city in Cartagena. 10 rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, security box, bathroom, international calls, room service, breakfast included, pools, chill out zone, solarium, cocktails, laundry service, massages and other. You can enjoy the best mojitos available in the city, share with friends at the chill out zone with ambiance music or take a sun tan at the privacy of your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Lola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Lola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.