We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delirio Hotel

Save Saved
You added Delirio Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delirio Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Calle de la Iglesia 35-27 | Centro Historico, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights last week. The rooms are good size. We even had a foldable bed for our son and there are ample room to move around. The staff were very nice and polite. The location cannot be beat, smack right in the middle of the historical center. Plaza Santo Domingo is right behind the hotel and the cathedral is 200 feet away. There are plenty of good restaurants and shops around the hotel. The only drawback is the lack of swimming pool as Cartagena can get unbearably hot from noon onwards. Overall, the price, location and room make this a great choice to stay in Cartagena.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Owner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to know that Delirio was a great choice for you and your family during your visit to Cartagena. As you saw, our Terrace is not large enough for a pool, but we do have a great Pulverizing Cube where you may refresh yourself while sunbathing. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Delirio Hotel so you can continue discovering our beautiful city!

All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    68
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
20
105
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice boutique hotel in the center of Cartagena. Staff very nice. Speak English and to their best to make you feel special and comfortable. Decor all white vey simple and clean.
Good breakfast with special attention.
Rooms are not to large but comfortable,
Location is great near good restaurants and by the time you are out the door you have this great feeling of being in the most wonderful Carribean city.
price/quality excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Partner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Merci beaucoup! We were delighted to know about your great experience in our beautiful Cartagena and at Delirio Hotel. We agree with you, our staff and the hotel location are two good assets of Delirio. We look forward to welcoming you again! A tres bientot!

All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Delirio is certainly well located within the old city and, I can't say enough about the staff there - especially Pablo at the front desk. He was happy get get us reservations in restaurants and called sister hotels when we wanted to use the pool (note: the Delirio does not have a pool - one of the major drawbacks). In the Cartagena heat, it's nice to have a pool at your hotel. The hotel is clean and modern but our bed was hard as a rock - like sleeping on a board. Breakfast was adequate and convenient. We had issues with the WiFi the last couple of days and we also didn't have hot water the last night/morning when we departed.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room - ask for one in the back away from the street. We enjoyed looking out of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Partne at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time on writing to us. We are happy to know that our staff helped you to have a good experience in Cartagena. Indeed our location is excelent as we are in the heart of the Old City, perfect to start all of your daily planning. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. We hope to see you soon again at Delirio Hotel!

All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We did not stay overnight in this hotel, however our interaction with the staff and owner has prompted us to write this review.

In Jan of 2012, we were on a cruise that had a day in port at Cartagena. While there, we wanted to use our wireless internet to send some emails. So, we decided to enter this hotel, which looked clean and modern, to see if they had a lounge or restaurant where we could buy some drinks or appetizers while using their wireless. Upon talking with the front desk person, I found out that the hotel did not have wireless in the common areas. Although I was not a paying guest, the front desk person was kind enough to phone some local restaurants to see if they had wireless.

In the meantime, while I was talking to the front desk man, my husband and friends were in the lobby and had encountered the owner of the hotel, Ms. Bartoskova. She was genuinely interested in us and offered everyone some (free) cold drinks while they waited for me.

After the front desk person was unable to secure us lunch reservations at either of the 2 restaurants that he knew to have wireless, Ms. Bartoskova offered her suggestion for lunch. While the restaurant did not have wireless, our meal was memorable.

I can only imagine that by the care she, and her staff, took with us, that guests of the hotel would be looked after in a similar fashion. If we were ever planning a return to Cartagena, we would definitely look at booking this hotel first.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Owner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Carolyn,

Thank you very much for your time on writing a review of Delirio Hotel! It was great to know that you remembered well, as I do...., the day you went to visit with your friends from the cruise ship. We have some good news: We have now good wi fi everywere in the hotel, rooms and public areas, even in the Terrace. We do hope to have the opportunity and the pleasure of welcoming you at Delirio in the near future. Cartagene deserves more that a cruise stop over! You are welcome!
All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova and the Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve in Cartagena (highly recommend) and were just relieved to find what we imagined were the last 2 hotel rooms in the city. We were prepared for anything and were so pleasantly surprised by this place.

After 2 weeks of travel in Colombia, we were inappropriately excited about the hot shower ( the drain was clogged, so it only lasted 5 minutes each day, but oh what a sweet five minutes). In case you are visiting Colombia for the first time (as we were), you are probably looking at getting a hot shower maybe 10% of the time. If you are in the hot water heater business, have we got an idea for you.

You really can't beat the location of this place, and it's very clean and the breakfast is good. What really makes it stand out though - the staff. They were so kind and attentive, and their pride in the place shows. A special thanks to the pregnant woman at check-in (I'm sorry I can't remember your name - buena suerte! - thanks for all the great tips!) and the man who stayed up late on New Year's Eve to greet us with a bottle of champagne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Owner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

It was great to hear from you, thank you so much for your time on writing your positive thoughts on Delirio Hotel! We agree completely with you, our staff is the best! It is our most dear asset. We will give your message to Alexa, who will be delivering her baby girl in two months, and to Jaime, our night keeper. Thank you for choosing our house to spend such a special date, New Year's Eve! We look forward to welcoming you again.
All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were slightly reticent about our visit to Cartagena, and how "easy" it would be. we also were concerned that we couldn't find a hotel others were chatting about. All of that was overcome by the great experience we had at the Delirio. It is a small hotel, 12 rooms i believe, and small rooms and small bathrooms, but it was spotless and very comfortable. and, after all, how much time do you spend in your room when in Cartagena!! We were greeted at the door by Ernesto, who became a fast friend. Alexa and Elana, our new friends at the front desk could not have been more helpful - they are knowledgeable about good food in this wonderful walled city, and sent us off to many great meals. And Johnny, the maitre de at breakfast in the courtyard was great. This is not the BIG Santa Clara nor Hotel Charleston, and certainly there are places with more amenities and larger rooms, but for a small and intimate setting, where the staff is attentive and friendly, and the facility is clean, you could not ask for more.

Room Tip: there are only 12 so ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Owner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your great lodging experience at Delirio Hotel. We are very proud of our staff and have shared your words with Alexa, Ernesto, Johnny and the other members. We are thrilled to know that you had a good time in our beautiful city and look forward to welcoming you again!
All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I work within the luxury hotel industry and when I travel for leisure the choice of the hotel it's important . Delirio Hotel was really the perfect choice : trendy and contemporary rooms, spacious rooms, confortable bed, great shower and amenities, and delicious breakfast with the best fruit juices I ever had in my life. The staff is extremely effective and nice with the guests and all the recommendations about restaurants , daily excursions to Islas del Rosario etc were just perfect.
In addition to that Delirio Hotel has the best location in the historical and most beautiful part of the city and it's completely safe . You can walk at anytime in the area even very late at night with no worries . I had also the opprtunity to meet the General Manager and I can tell you that she is really taking care that the stay of all the guests is perfect . So no hesitations if you like the best at a very reasonable price Delirio Hotel is the best choice in Cartagena de Indias !! I look forward to come back very soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Owner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. We are delighted to know that someone from the luxury hotel industry had such a positive experience staying at Delirio Hotel! We are very proud of our hotel team and its leader, Lisette Desmoineaux, our General Manager and we are happy to know that you got the best service from them. Please visit us again, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you one more time at Delirio Hotel!
All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delirio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delirio Hotel

Address: Calle de la Iglesia 35-27 | Centro Historico, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#11 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delirio Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delirio is brand new design boutique hotel located in the magic Historical Center of Cartagena. We offer 17 modern and high tech bedrooms in a restored ancient building, within walking distance to most of the historical sites, fine shopping and good restaurants. Our services include breakfast, room service, bilingual English and French Concierge, solarium, elevator, medical assistance, laundry, terrace bar, events and free Wi Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Delirio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delirio Hotel Cartagena
Delirio Boutique Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delirio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.