We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Horrible food and drinks” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Del Mar Cartagena

Cafe Del Mar Cartagena
Baluarte de Santo Domingo, Cartagena 00000, Colombia
+57 5 6646515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 376 Restaurants in Cartagena
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tenemos una privilegiada ubicacion que nos regala una espectacular vista sobre al Mar Caribe, donde los imponentes ocasos tienen un encanto que iluminan nuestro espiritu. Abrimos todos los 365 dias del ano de 5:00p.m. - 3:00 a.m.Exquisitos Platillos y Cocktails, atardeceres y noches de luna llena en ambiente lounge y musica chill out. Somos en esencia, un espacio internacional, historico y cultural, la manera ideal de pasar momentos inolvidables.
Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Location, Horrible food and drinks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The view is incredible, how do you put a restaurant on a national monument. It's a shame they can't serve good food or drinks, it would be a place you would want to return to. The ceviche was old and I probably couldn't eat more than the spoonfull they served for $20. The margarita's didn't taste anything close to a margarita and the salad ... terrible, small portion for big bucks, I would never give this place another try. There are plenty of other great places to watch the sunset without gagging on the food or the prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    496
    226
    92
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogotá
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Awful cocktails, mediocre food, I love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have been to Cartagena a few times and never missed a single sunset at Café del Mar. it never gets old. In fact it is probably my favourite bar ever. It's a ritual for me, at about 4pm I start thinking about getting my seat for 6pm.

Perched atop the old wall, it has gaudy turquoise waitresses, a breeze and chill out music at just the right volume. Plus that incredible sunset.

The cocktails here are rubbish, but I drink them because they are better value than the beers. Steer clear of the bloody mary, that is probably the easiest to make a hash of. Stick to staples like mojitos that are harder to make badly.

Bring your camera!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great Al Fresco Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Huge bar, with great views of Cartagena. Good place for a night cap after dinner. Mojitos are very popular in this city. Rum is the drink that goes better with with wonderful city. Rum Zacapa is the best, but if you want to try a local one, order Ron Viejo de Caldas.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This says Cartagena. Great views and people watching especially in the evening. One caveat like most things in El Centro it can get pricey. Wonderful ambiance and ocean breezes. Not to be missed even if its just for one cocktail.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pre wedding cocktail reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a pre wedding cocktail reception at Cafe del Mar. The bar was incredibly helpful in helping us select menu and drinks and working on the overall setup of the event. We were in a separate section of the bar with two to three staff to serve our guests (approx 50 or so). Location is gorgeous, one of the best places to watch the sunset, and service was great. Highly recommend for group events. Have also been there on my own, great place to grab a cocktail and watch the sunset with friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Del Mar Cartagena also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Cafe Del Mar Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Del Mar Cartagena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.