We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome if you love cockroaches and dirty beds” 1 of 5 stars
Review of San Felipe Hotel Cartagena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Felipe Hotel Cartagena to your Saves list
San Felipe Hotel Cartagena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. del Centenario - Cra. 9 No. 31-72 1 Cartagena, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome if you love cockroaches and dirty beds”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have visited a lot of hotels but that one was the worst.

Room #1: The window was right beside 3 ACs so it was impossible to close an eye. It was loud and the whole room was smelling. The trash bin was still filled with waste from the pre-visitor. We have asked the staff to give us a new room, and that's where the real trouble started.

Room #2: COCKROACHES everywhere. I understand that this might happen sometimes so we have politely asked for another room.

Room #3: Hello, old friends: COCKROACHES again. Slowly we got really annoyed and already thought about leaving the hotel, but we have booked for 3 days so we didn't want to lose the money.

Room #4: You can guess it...cockroaches but also some nasty, dirty bedsheets.

At this time we had enough, checked out at around 11:30 pm and left for a more expensive but slightly better hotel (280.000 pesos + 20.000 pesos cab bill). This experience really ruined my stay at Cartagena (beautiful city) and we've decided to drive to Santa Marta the next morning.

Now we have to deal with despegar.com because they are denying us a refund of the two nights out of 3.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    33
    10
    11
See reviews for
13
33
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at San Felipe hotel for five nights, and will be retuning there when we come back from a short visit to Medellin. We were very impressed with the flexibility and helpful attitude from all staff members there. We switched rooms our first night because the room faced the street and was quite loud. The lady at the main desk had no problem switching us the moment I asked, and it made all the difference staying in an interior room ( of which there are many). We booked for two nights but stayed for five since we asked around the neighborhood, and found time and time again that the quality they offer at the price they give you is very hard to beat. The room was comfortable, came with wi-if that worked pretty well, TV, and air conditioning. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. The location is also very convenient, located just outside the historic center, and a short five minute walk from restaurants, hotels, and attractions. Everyone at the front desk was quite helpful, letting us keep a suitcase with them while we took a short trip, giving us directions to restaurants around town, and recommending places to eat at as well. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the interior of the building to avoid a lot of street noise (taxi stand is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The location of this hotel is incredible; just a 5 min walk from Torre del Reloj, the entrance to the old town of Cartagena. However, this is almost the only good thing about this property. Nice staff at the front desk, only if you speak spanish... no english. The hotel is really old and with almost no maintenance. The rooms have an adequate size, but are quite dirty, the beds are uncomfortable, the bathroom smelled really bad and was not clean. The AC was leaking and soked our clothes in the closet... but cooled nicely the room, something needed in the hot weather of Cartagena. The beds were really uncomfortable. The breakfast (included in the price) was really poor. NO hot water in the shower. For a bath after walking around the city, when you are quite sweaty, that is not a problem. But in the morning, just waking up, a hot bath is delightful... at least for me. The surroundings are horrible and I felt unsafe when waking back at night. The price of the room was really cheap. For back-pack students or people with a really low budget, the hotel might be a good option. But if you can spend a few extra bucks per night, you can find a better place inside the old city.

Room Tip: No good rooms. The hotel is in a corner and all rooms face to either of the streets, which make them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked this place because it was the last place we could find during such a busy period. Gosh, where do i start? Our bathroom door wouldn´t shut unless you slammed it super hard. The shower was essentially a hose coming out of the wall. They don´t give you a shower mat so the whole room gets wet and dirty after you use the shower once. There are no curtains so the room is the same brightness inside as it is outside. There is NOISE coming from everywhere!!! There is no peace all night/morning. They didn´t tell us about the pool that may or may not be there so we were BOILING the whole time and got NO SUNBATHING DONE (first world problems). Just don´t bother going here, seriously, it´s the pits

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Universal de Cartagena reports today that thiefs ransacked a room, Not safeguards, hotels must be responsible for guest's safety and belongings, it happened to us also also and we never got any compensation from hotel

Room Tip: Avoid this unsafe hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

It is a hotel, very old, construction work is going on in the hotel. No water at the shower. Old, dirty room. Terrible bed. Is near the old town but still terrible location. Lot of prostitutes and alcoholics around. We reserved the hotel via Agoda that charged us dobbelt the price. There are many nice, clean hostals and hotels in the area with lower price in the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FLorida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Good Value for the Money. It is just outside the historic district and a very short walk to the city center, the wall, and ocean. Centrally located. One can walk everywhere. Much less expensive than the hotels in the historic district and much nicer too. Glad I stayed there. The staff goes out of its way to help you. Be prepared to speak Spanish. Breakfast is included. There were no foreign tourists. Rooms are adequate and quiet. Something that's important to me. It's a safe place and I will stay there again if I return to Cartagena. Viva Cartagena!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Felipe Hotel Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Felipe Hotel Cartagena

Address: Av. del Centenario - Cra. 9 No. 31-72 1 Cartagena, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Felipe Hotel Cartagena 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your San Felipe Hotel Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Felipe Hotel Cartagena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.