We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Quero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Quero to your Saves list
Casa Quero
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Quero No. 9-53 | centro hitorico, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 113 Cartagena B&B and Inns
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Your home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel really reflected the spirit of the original home. The furnishings were so tasteful & the ambience was so Cartagena. The courtyard as well as the entire hotel had lush gardens & beautiful flowers. And we had so much fun with their resident toucan.
I cannot say enough about the staff. They were attentive without being intrusive. They went the extra mile for whatever we requested (tours, taxis, service, changing $). I felt like I was staying at a family member's home where they spoiled me with all the niceties I could want.
The rooftop pool was such a nice getaway after a day of touring & the view was fantastic.

Room Tip: there was no fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    9
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I just stayed 4 nights at Casa Quero and I can't say enough nice things about it! We were a group of 9 girls so we booked 3 triple rooms. They moved twin beds into each room, much nicer than rollaway beds. The hotel is gorgeous, old Spanish colonial style and they had the cutest baby toucan! The rooftop pool was so relaxing, and the service for everything in the hotel was impeccable! We had multiple reservation changes and the hotel reservations staff was so accommodating -Yacquelin and Luisa were amazing! The location is a little removed from the hustle and bustle, but that was nice since we got to walk and enjoy all the little streets. I wholly recommend this hotel, it was perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for Balcones or San Felipe rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway Twp, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful Bed and Breakfast is in a great location. To say it is lovely and clean is an understatement. But it is the staff here that makes Casa Quero so exceptional. They were so extraordinarily helpful. They went absolutely above and beyond for us when we encountered a few travelling issues. This is a beautiful gem of a hotel, and should not be missed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed five nights at Casa Quero in March, in the Junior Balcony Suite.

Arrival: We arrived mid-afternoon on a Saturday, choosing to have the hotel car and driver come and collect us at the airport. After a 10-minute drive, we were in the heart of the old city at the steps to Casa Quero. Upon entering, we were given a delicious and refreshing fruit juice while we were checked in. The lobby is beautiful: it's outdoor/indoor with a nice area where breakfast is served, along with several couches and a fun little toucan.

Room: Our room was very spacious, with an extremely large semi-outdoor shower. The bed linens and all fixtures were top-notch, including a very strong air conditioner. There are about six rooms in the hotel, but it's very quiet; and there was only one other couple there during our stay, so it felt very intimate.

Pool: The roof of Casa Quero is one of the best parts of the hotel: it's equipped with a wonderful pool, several chaises and a couch. It's the perfect place to spend an afternoon after sight-seeing or to have a cocktail at dusk. We spent time here every day.

Service: I would rate the service at Casa Quero as some of the best I've ever encountered at any hotel anywhere in the world. Everyone from the check-in person to the chefs were extremely courteous and helpful. We had lunch and dinner made for us in the hotel -- made to order, whatever we wanted; in fact, we requested something based on Juliette's suggestion and she went to the market to purchase the ingredients. The staff are not at all intrusive, yet are still at your disposal. If you speak Spanish, it's probably helpful. They helped us book our trip to Islas Rosario and gave frequent advice.

Other: The hotel has bicycles which we used a couple times and were greatly appreciated. The location is right in the heart of the old city and convenient to all the restaurants and areas of interest. Daily breakfast is perfect: fruit, eggs made to order and a fresh juices. All the food features delicious Colombian specialties.

Conclusion: I would HIGHLY recommend staying here, and will definitely stay here again when I go back to Cartagena. The room rate might seem a bit high, but it is well worth it. Casa Quero is a fantastic retreat, made for a great vacation and was a wonderfully memorable overall experience.

Room Tip: Balcony Junior Suite was perfect for us as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

probably would be 41/2 stars if i could have done that ...the rooms are spacious and lovely.. so well appointed.. the beauty of this place is the staff who works here.. i was working on a speech and luisa at the front desk helped me translate it into spanish.. she obviously likes what she does and she is happy to help.. the breakfast was simple and delicious.. the rest of the staff was polite, helpful with a great attitude... and it is right in the old part of the city.. our only complaint was that there was only a shower and no bathtub to wash the heat of the day off... but they were happy to upgrade our room and we are completely satisfied here

Room Tip: the grand suite is so much better than the junior suite and worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Casa Quero is a lovely B&B-style hotel in an excellent location in Cartagena's old city. The service was tremendous, and no request is too small or great. Luisa was happy to arrange a walking tour of the city with an English-speaking guide (among other activities), Angela was always ready with ice water and cold towels when we came back from walking around the hot city streets, and Juliet cooked some of the best meals we ate in the city.

We would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone visiting Cartagena, though there are a couple caveats to keep in mind:

--There are a few English speakers on staff, but knowing some Spanish would be helpful.
--The hotel has a number of stairs, and no elevator, so unfortunately it's not for anyone with mobility issues.
--The bikes aren't in great shape, which tends to be par for the course when it comes to free bikes for use at a hotel.
--We had some issues with internet in the room, but they really tried to help us (and of course, hopefully you're not in Cartagena to spend all your time online!).

All that said, this was really a five-star experience. Definitely the best small hotel at which we've ever stayed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Casa Quero for five nights in March. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by the extremely friendly Luisa, who provided us with a warm hello, fresh juice and innumerable suggestions for our time ahead in Cartagena. Throughout our stay, Luisa and Yaquelin and the rest of the wonderful staff made us feel at home, cooking us delicious breakfasts, helping with reservations, and making sure we saw the best of the city

We stayed in Junior Suite Balcones, which was very spacious and had great light. The small balconies opened onto an interior courtyard, and the room was very quiet. The bathroom in particular was spectacular, with an enormous and sky-lit shower.

Casa Quero's pool and hammocks were great for relaxing, and we frequently had the space to ourselves.

Overall, we had a fantastic experience at the hotel. With its central location in Cartagena's charming old city, it provided easy access to all that we wanted to see and served as a wonderful place to return to each afternoon and evening. We highly recommend the hotel and would happily return again.

Con gusto,
Emmy & Michael

Room Tip: Junior Suite Balcones was spacious, full of light and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Quero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Quero

Address: Calle Quero No. 9-53 | centro hitorico, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Quero 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century Colonial manor house, Casa Quero was part of the legendary Count Quero estate. When converted into an exclusive and intimate boutique hotel, none of the historical values of this Colonial jewel were lost. Located inside the historic walled city of Cartagena (declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site), this elegantly restored property offers seven charming and intimate bedrooms on four levels, each spacious and distinct in décor. Well-lit rooms are traditional in style with modern amenities and delightful views of the city from the charming flowered balconies. Enjoy a swim in the rooftop pool with its breathtaking panoramic views of the Hill of la Popa and the dome of San Pedro. Take a bike ride through the historic city and return to a relaxing spa treatment. Lastly, take part in the unique cooking classes where guests, alongside award-winning chefs, can create amazing seafood dishes and capture the essence of Caribbean cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Quero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Quero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.